The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

A Trifle for One-Liner Wednesday

‘Nugatory’ is a word.

***   ***   ***

No, it’s not a phone typo.

It’s not even a MS Word typo, which I expected when I misspelled ‘negatory.’

Is it a useless word?

In a word, yes.

Or no, since it merits an entry in the Oxford Dictionary:

Origin
Early 17th century: from Latin nugatorius, from nugari ‘to trifle’, from nugae ‘jests’.

Nugatory: A cross between a trifle and a nougat? Click for Source

 

***   ***   ***

You can join in the fun over at Linda Hill’s One-Liner Wednesday

 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , , ,

32 replies

  1. Now, THAT looks like a flavor profile I could get behind! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ok, so now I’m hungry! For a nugatory!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well, golly. You learn something new every day. I’m saving that one because I don’t think it’s a nugatory word at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds like someplace naughty sweets go when they die…just naughty ones, mind you. The truly evil ones go to Swell.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m not sure I’d like that. I seem to focus pretty tight on chocolate without a lot of extras. But, great post. I mean it’s still about a candy thing 🙂

    Like

  6. Yes please. I’d like a thick slice of nugatory … which, by the way, spellcheck wanted to change to negatory. Sheesh – is spellcheck trying to send me a message about my food choices?

    Like

  7. I like your definition of nugatory. I didn’t know there was such a word.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. You just gave nugatory a value and created a paradox!

    Like

  9. Thus begins my quest for a nugatory. 🙂 Thanks for this, Maggie! 😀

    Like

  10. I feel a bit nugatorious in the morning . Never knew what it was called before .

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I don’t know but that dessert looks mighty enticing!

    Like

  12. Oh I do so love to learn delicious new words! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sounds like purgatory for dessert

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

