The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Road Trip to V-Town

Google Maps Mt Cheminis

We played tourist yesterday and drove to visit Mount Cheminis, or Mont Chaudron. It is a landscape formation of geological interest, and it sits at the Ontario/Quebec border, just east of Virginiatown. Reiner used to work at the Kerr Addison Mine in “V-town” 30-some years ago. Even though the monadnock or inselberg  dominates the landscape to the east as you leave town, Reiner was unfamiliar with the sight. Or site. So, it pleased me that I, the geology newbie, could be the one with the fascinating details for a change!

Of course, before we reached the mountain, we made a few detours on the way. No rockhound worth their salt will pass by a new roadcut without stopping to check for mineralization!

New road under construction – according to our guide, it will bypass the town. Apparently, underground mine workings near the existing highway are threatening to collapse.

Reiner got out to inspect the newly exposed rock for signs of goodies – this is gold mining territory, after all. I followed along with the camera, thinking of you guys and how I’d caption my shots.

Just as we were preparing to leave the site, an ATV drove up. We bade the driver good morning.

“Are you a geologist? You look like a geologist.” Reiner for scale against calcite filling fractures in rock.

Do you want to see some gold?” he asked.

We followed him up to the far end of the work site. He stopped and said, “The operators found VG here the other day. Used to be a gold mine just over the top of that outcrop.”

“V” in this case stands for “visible.” VG is a VBD, in gold mining terms. (Look at me, all trendy and slinging the lingo like I know what I’m doing.) I found VP, or VFG. VP = visible pyrite. Bonus points if you can figure out VFG.

Onward to Mont Chaudron. Unfortunately, we were unable to take the road into the site proper. Only those with ATV’s can make the trek until the washout is repaired. Instead, we took the closest road parallel to the mountain, and I posed for the obligatory “Maggie for Scale” Shot. I cringe every time Reiner asks me to stand in for scale. First of all, I’m in my grubby rockhound clothing. Second of all, and more importantly, I prefer nature images that are free of human content. But in this case, I agreed that a “for scale” was probably a good idea.

Finished with our geology lesson for the day, off we drove, taking the long route home through Quebec. On the way, we stopped for lunch at a roadside rest area. I dread using these facilities in Ontario. I am happy to report that the stop in Quebec was two-thumbs up and a I enjoyed a VGP!

Categories: Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , , ,

38 replies

  1. Oh geez, hoping someone else would have commented and guessed first on the acronyms.
    I’m gonna go with VFG= visible fools gold??? What is VBD–visible ? deposit… Okay, you’ve found my weakness, I love acronyms! I used to drive my coworkers crazy in the dental office writing chart notes with tons of acronyms that seemed incredibly obvious to me. They never understood me 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The ‘little guy’ is adorable. Hey, Reiner–let’s use him for scale!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well that’s nice! I’ve never seen gold in the wild, Maggie 😛
    What’s VFG? I’d say fool’s gold, but then you found the pyrite and now my brain is stuck.
    I had the pleasure of driving through southern Indiana yesterday, so I saw quite a bit of exposed rock, mostly limestone ‘course, and several signs about blasting zones.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for taking us along Maggie. I’m guessing it wasn’t gold or you guys might still be there. I like the little critter. Beautiful photos. Looks like you had a very nice day. We have s Mt Monadnock in New Hampshire.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for joining me.

      After we left, Reiner turned to me and said that he didn’t see any sign of gold – that what the operators reported was probably just fools good. Otherwise, you are absolutely right – I wouldn’t be writing about it and we’d be back there today!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m not a rock hound but I love the idea of checking for mineralization. I think of my husband’s brain, for instance. Your humour shines like gold in this post, Maggie!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. My grandfather was a prospector who came to Cobalt about 1915, even in the late 50s he wanted to stop at every rock cut along the highway. VFG was an easy one for me but I was sure that VBD stood for Visible Bear Dung something we watched for when picking blueberries…..

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love your furry little friend……

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great fun looking at the photos, it was like being there with you. I wish I knew more about rocks.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Did the guy who asked if you wanted to see some gold wear a trench coat and a trilby and talk out of the side of his mouth? “Psst…wanna see some gold…?”

    VFG is what you shout when you find gold. “Woot! I found Visible F*%@ing Gold!”

    Yeah, sorry, but my mind went straight there. 🙄

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Oh, how I love a good VSP ! (Visible Scale Photo)

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Loving all the “V” comments so I shall add VIP (Very Interesting Post)!!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I see that turnabout is, indeed, fair play. Reiner used you for a VSP (Visible Scale Photo) and then you turned around and used him for one…

    The couple that scales together stays together?

    And the little critter is obviously high up on the CSM (Cuteness Scale Meter)

    Liked by 1 person

  13. VCB. [Meaning: very cool beans, of course.]

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

