The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Are You Going to Scarborough Fair?

… parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme…*

***   ***   ***

*You know, of course, why the second stanza is “parsley, sage, rosemary, and thyme” don’t you?

No?

Well, it’s because “celeriac, sage, rosemary, and thyme” doesn’t scan. Not in the least.

Besides, what IS celeriac and furthermore, who in the world would confuse celeriac with parsley?

…um. That would be me.

… upon closer inspection, celeriac babies masquerading as parsley. I really must get my eyeglasses checked.

Brought to you by near-sighted green thumbs and Linda G Hill and One Liner Wednesday

 

Categories: Gardening

Tags: ,

33 replies

  1. Cute, Maggie. By the way, I’ve heard of celeriac but never tasted it. Can you give me a clue?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never (knowingly) eaten celeriac… and have only recently (knowingly) eaten shallots. If celeriac tastes like celery it’s probably off my menu as I ate so much celery as a kid that I don’t want to ever taste it again. 🙂 Other than that, it’s good to know why it’s not in the song. Celeriac, I mean.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Val! There are a couple of folks in our family who steer clear of celery, too.

      I have been gardening for decades and have never encountered this veggie in a garden center – until this spring. Canadian Tire is just an ordinary big box outlet, not a specialty garden center. It must be a regional delicacy here in Northern Ontario.

      Thanks for stopping by to comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Artistic license on the part of Simon and G, I guess. You post reminds me of what had to be a running frustration for my grandmother. She’d be cooking and she’d ask me to run to her garden and get some parsley. Inevitably, I would return with carrot tops. I hope the crop turns out well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have weeds growing that look just like that…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You make an interesting point – I can’t say I’ve ever seen celery or celeriac in any garden centre either. You will have to write about your experience growing celeriac. I’m wondering if you’ll be fighting a major battle with slugs and snails to save your crop.

    I’ve used celeriac and quite frankly, I’ve never noticed enough of a difference between it and celery to not simply use celery.

    Liked by 2 people

    • A Google search reveals a multitude of recipes – Jamie Oliver rhapsodizes about the stuff. I will definitely report back on the pests and harvest results. It may be that celeriac is a hardier northern option to celery since it’s the root and not the stems that is used? Obviously, more to learn here!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. That was cute and gave me a smile this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I remember seeing celeriac come up as an acceptable potato substitute for keto stuff. I haven’t had the pleasure of trying it (or even finding it in the stores) yet. So when you harvest, try using it in that way, unless you’ve ulterior motives already 😀

    Not that I’m anxious to try the root – I’m perfectly happy with the substitutes I have…cauliflower, rutabaga & kohlrabi.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. But then “celery, sage, rosemary, and thyme” has such a nice ring.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. These things happen.
    Last week Moo brought me what she thought was parsley, but it was cilantro. Can you imagine a roast cooked with rosemary, basil, and cilantro? No, thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve never heard of celeriac either! Maybe they should have used that in the song…

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Celeriac sounds like a polite way to talk about sickly celery to me. Wonder if it’ll grow like parsley wide and all over the place OR if it’ll grow like celery straight up and down? Well, if it ends up tasting awful I suppose it doesn’t matter how it grows, now does it?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. hehehe I love your wit. And your green thumb

    Liked by 1 person

  13. That was adorable and gave me a grin at the beginning of today…

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Share Your World – July 3, 2017 – The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

