The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Changing Seasons – May 2017

What better way to make use of a rainy day than prepare the monthly contribution of Changing Seasons. Better than sitting and moping, right?

A short walk from home is the McKinnley Darragh Mine mill site. This is where it all began for the silver mining rush. In 1903, two railway workers, Mr. McKinley and Mr. Darragh trod through the woods looking for timber to use as railway ties. Instead, they found silver and staked their claim to this mine site.

The mill ruins remind me of old Aztec temples, not only in looks, but there is a spiritual quality here, too.

The two contemporary pictures are about two weeks apart. In the center shot, the birch and other hardwoods are just starting to set out leaves. There’s also someone in the frame! Our neighbour, Florence Dean is out for a walk too.

***   ***   ***

After the dang-blang snow in early May, we had some spectacular, bug-free weather and set out to take advantage. On this day, Reiner and I explored new territory at the Kanichee Mine, near Temagami. It is an old copper mine from 1910 that also produced nickel and small amounts of gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. As we drove in, we encountered a brushing operation and spoke with the works supervisor. He told us that mineral exploration work will start later this year. It looks like we timed this trip right. If we had waited for the fall, the site might have been off-limits. As we drove out, we encountered not one, but two young moose. That was very cool!

***   ***   ***

I snapped the next two images on my walk around Cobalt Lake – it is a popular trek for many of the locals – the circuit takes about an hour – stops for photo shoots not included. The bugs were bothersome, only near the water. Which is to say, for about 55 minutes.

Cobalt Lake looking south – the Cobalt Lake Mine site in the distance. The Right of Way Mine is behind me. You are paying attention, I hope. You never know. I might assign a pop quiz.

For Dan – working on the railroad. The Ontario Northland Railway, that is.

***   ***   ***

Finally, to close this month of May I present this gallery of random signs of spring.

***   ***   ***

Changing Seasons is a monthly photo feature hosted by Max at Cardinal Guzman.

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

32 replies

  1. My first thought on the moose picture was: I see an alligator head in the trees.

    I continue to absorb your area through your pictures, Maggie – you can almost feel the antiquity in your mine shots – especially when you’ve paired them as ‘before’ and ‘now.’

    Keep sharing your world – it’s a lovely little patch of Earth.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. It’s a little funny seeing “early” spring photos this close to June but these are beautiful, Maggie.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Your photos are lovely. You live in a pretty part of the world that manages to look rustic + inviting, even to me a suburbanite who considers city parks to be a walk in the wild.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. What a beautiful place to live… if there just wasn’t ever any snow 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 Ah, yes, the snow. I’m cautiously optimistic about my gardening plans for this weekend. Last frost date for our area is June 1. Then we have three and a half months to first frost. I’ll be out there, coaching the little seedling to grow, Grow, GROW!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful spring photos, Maggie! Your surroundings are quite lovely. I know how the snow changes things for you! Happy Spring! 🌺🌷🌸 Christine

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m with you on the bug front. If the “outside” weren’t so refreshing and surprising, it almost wouldn’t be worth it.
    But it is.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s totally worth it, Gabe.

      The plus side, now that I think of it, is that this spring it has been cool enough to warrant long sleeves and hats and sometimes even gloves. I can dress for the occasion and don’t need to slather on repellent.

      Like

  7. Great pictures. I would love to walk among those buildings.

    Like

  8. It’s a startling reminder of the contrast in the seasons from Southern to Northern Ontario – and I’m talking north of North Bay … not Barrie (like some Torontonians like to think!)
    The ruins also remind me of Aztec ruins which is a bit of a surprise to encounter in Cobalt 🙂
    Beautiful pics, Maggie … and a moose too!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m not in a hurry for summer, spring is my favorite season, and I got to see it in several states this year. Now here way “up north” it’s spring again. Will be summer when I get home on Sunday. And since this is possibly the only day without rain during my time up here I guess I should get out and see what I can see.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I love your pictures, especially of the moose… and the alligator! Too bad about the bugs. They love to bite me (probably because I’m so sweet 😇 ).

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Maggie, you only have “random” signs of spring at the end of May? I sure hope that doesn’t mean you can still get the “S” word in your part of Canada and that warmer and sunny weather is finding its way to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. The Changing Seasons: May 2017 | Cardinal Guzman
  2. Share Your World – June 12, 2017 – The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

