The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Healing

very deep bruising can take forever to come through.

A nurse’s observation when asked how long it would take a war wound to heal.

I kinda lost it, when I read that. From Louisa Young’s WWI love story, My Dear I Wanted to Tell You

***   ***   ***

This post brought to you by Linda Gill and her One-Liner Wednesday

Click for Goodreads content and source

Categories: Blog Blog Blog, Relationships

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

21 replies

  1. A lot of us are in a medical state of mind today…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh, the implications. Thanks for sharing that, Maggie.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We don’t like to think about the toll peace-keeping takes on our sons and daughters, wanting them to be perfectly fine no matter what from they embody when they return, but the ripples can go on forever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Joe – thank you so much for reading and for taking the time to comment.

      What you say is so very true.

      In spite of the fact that the story is written in Britain and France during WWI, my response wasn’t triggered (ban pun?) by injuries caused during military action, but rather the harm we do to one another with day-to-day insults, impatience, the outright “slings and arrows.”

      I suppose this is because I have been insulated from wars – by time, place, and circumstance. As a girl, I had no living relatives who were involved in a war; currently no friends, family, or neighbors are involved.

      Again, thank you for your reply. You made me think.

      Liked by 4 people

      • I suppose we accept the damage of wars because we expect it or are so insulated by it, but you are so right, the day to day stuff causes much deeper wounds that some [people can never overcome. I seek to listen to myself and stop the barrage before it gets that hurtful. Many times I fail, but I hope I am getting better about it.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Brilliant, poignant line.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love well-crafted prose. Those simple words convey a truth about so many areas of our lives and our experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Applies to so many things and so true. Great choice to share, Maggie.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Reminds me of the line Carly Simon sang–close the wound, hide the scar. So much bruising below the surface. The great frustration in life is how much we hide from each other and how difficult it is to get below the surface, where all the wounds are buried, beneath the hard shell.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

