The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Postcards – An Understatement

Postcard – A View of Cobalt

Postcard – Dear Aunt Catherine

Dear Aunt Catherine

We arrived safe and sound. Had a lovely trip. We weren’t a bit tired. Are stopping at Hotel Anselme about two miles from Anthony’s home. Canada is a lovely country, but it is rather cool.

Love,
Nellie

***   ***   ***

Today is the third (or is it fourth? I’ve lost count) day of crappy weather here in good old Cobalt. Rain, wind, and now SNOW! And it’s accumulating! Am I bitter? Little bit!

Categories: Weather Related

Tags: , , , ,

23 replies

  1. What fun, that old card- makes me wonder about Nellie and Anthony and what their story was, and if she saw Snow in May as well 😉 Crazy weather!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Exactly, Deb! There are so many questions from this one little greeting card – her penmanship is super: does that mean Nellie was upper class? Where is/was the Hotel Anselme? I was compelled to look up Aunt Catherine’s address – dang it all, but her section of Oak street hasn’t been documented by Google Maps street view!

      It has been crazy weather, and I’m ashamed to complain when I know just across the border into Quebec there are homes floating down the swollen rivers.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Love the old postcards. For those too young to remember, postcards were the 20th century equivalent of Twitter…

    Liked by 3 people

    • Right? I love ’em too.

      Cobalt was a frontier town and gained global attention because of the sliver boom – it’s my sense that there were an inordinate number of “tweets” from this latitude in the early 1900’s.

      An exhibit is opening later this year at the Cobalt museum, I understand, that is based on the collection of postcards from an early resident of Cobalt. I’m looking forward to seeing that.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Lovely old postcard – and in pretty good shape.

    For the uninitiated, the penmanship is an artifact called cursive writing. It is the same 26 letters as on your Twitter keyboard – they’re just fancier. We old people used to use such embellishments to make our correspondence look nice.

    Well…others may have used cursive to look nice – my handwriting looks like a chicken dipped his feet in ink and danced the Funky Chicken on a page of paper.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “But it is rather cool…” LOL charming euphemism!
    — That’s fun though 🙂
    You have my sympathies, as we have endured eight rather chilly, windy days of rain, which seemed un-May-like and also were a pain in the butt to drive in. Wishing you sunshine!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the look of cursive but, I have to admit, I print when I’m writing. I think cursive is rapidly becoming a lost art.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s interesting, Janis – my printing is more legible than my cursive, but for handwriting, I use cursive. I’m far more comfortable these days with a keyboard. A desktop keyboard, that is. I’m excruciatingly slow on a hand held device.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Good point in your comment to Almost Iowa … postcards were kind of like tweets in their day 😉

    Sadly there is no date or legible date stamp on this card. It would have been funny if it had been dated something like July. Ok – I admit that maybe you wouldn’t have seen the amusement in it 😉

    It is freaking cold outside, but at least unlike you, we haven’t seen any snow. Yes, I would be bitter.

    Like

  7. Snowed in Ottawa today, too, but at least it wasn’t rain! Everything’s overflowing, Even the ducks have taken to land.

    Love the tinting on the postcard and the pretty turquoise blue water. No year on the card? Any guesses?

    Like

    • Ugh. This spring is messed up. Bleah.

      Glad you like the card. Here’s what I know about the dates: the townsite was discovered in 1903. There was a major fire in 1909 and at that time, the town was quite built up. I’m going to make a cautious guess Nellie wrote this between 1905 to 1915.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I hope spring arrives in time to switch to summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a charming postcard, telling us so much! Just as well you don’t mind the cold, Maggie!

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

