The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World March 13, 2017

Time Marches On! Click for Source

 

Do you push the elevator button more than once? Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster?

I’ll press an elevator button more than once, sure, depending on the caffeine level, my mood, the phase of the moon. But that’s just my way of releasing excess energy.

However, I will play a little guessing game with myself if there is more than one elevator. I’ll stand in front of the door that I think will open first. If I’m right, then I get to make a wish.

I used to play the same kind of game with trains when I lived in London and walked downtown to my job at Bell Canada. The offices were in the same building as the train station. This was around the time when they were phasing out the use of cabooses. Cabeese? No, spellcheck likes the first option.

Anyway, if a train passed through on my way to work and there was a caboose at the end, that meant it would be a good luck day.

Do you plan out things usually or do you do them more spontaneous (for example if you are visiting a big city you don’t know?)

I’m a planner and a list maker. I find comfort in knowing that I’ve considered all the factors. I’m a big fan of due diligence and contingency planning.

There was a time that if I had to travel to a new destination, say for an appointment or interview, I’d reconnoiter a day or two in advance, to make sure I knew the route, and where to park. If I didn’t have the luxury of this advance “intel,” I wouldn’t be able to sleep the night before.

I like to quip that I am pathologically prompt. If there is an appointment time involved, I’m particularly conscious of the clock, and I act as if my life depends on it. This, of course, is a point of conflict with the other member of our household who has a more casual approach to time management.

Say we are due somewhere for 10:00. It takes fifteen minutes to drive, plus I like to allow some time for unforeseen incidents. That means I want to leave home no later than 9:40.

At 9:10, I announce, “Time to get ready. The appointment is at ten.”

“OK.”

Ten minutes later: “Reiner, are you getting ready?”

“In a minute.”

Five minutes later, “Reiner?”

“OK! I’m getting ready.”

Then commences a series of trips from one end of the house to the other as he locates his clothing, brushes his teeth, notices that the dishes need washing, and oh, look! the cat food dish is empty. Then he needs to clean up the spill of cat food, but that’s OK, we still have time to spare.

In his mind, that is.

In mine, I see that we now have only the fifteen minutes allocated travel time. By the way, I am ready to go, dressed in my winter clothing and waiting on the landing.

“Want me to start the car?”

“No! I’ll be there in a minute! Be patient!”

I fume.

Back in the bedroom, he can’t find his belt, and he wonders if he should polish his boots, but wisely reconsiders. For the fifth or sixth time, he makes a trip to the bathroom and this time, upon inspection, notices that his shirt is dirty.

I’m overheating in my winter gear, plus I’m starting to bounce with exasperation. “I’ll be outside! You lock up!”

FINALLY, he exits the house, draws the door closed behind him, locks it, and makes his way toward the garage. He stops.

“WHAT?”

“I forgot the recycling,” he calls over his shoulder as he returns to the house.

We, of course, make it to our destination at 10:00 on the dot.

Describe yourself in at least four uplifting words.

Disregarding the proceeding evidence to the contrary: patient, wise, witty, playful.

If you had a choice, which would be your preference salt water beaches, fresh water lakes, ocean cruise, hot tub, ski resort or desert?

Dessert!

Oh, wait. One “s.”

I need to change my answer. Is it OK to change my answer?

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

We had a most enjoyable time at the annual Cobalt Golden Age Club fundraiser – a pancake brunch. Good food and fellowship.

This week coming up? I look forward to getting back on an even keel after the change to Daylight Saving Time. I do enjoy the extended light at the end of the day.

***   ***   ***

In response to Cee’s Share Your World

Categories: Blog Blog Blog, Husband

Tags:

51 replies

  1. Wait, You ENJOY Daylight Savings Time? Oh, sometimes it’s hard to bear the ugly truths of those we think we’re agreeable to… sigh

    That’s really funny about Reiner, but only because I don’t live with one like that. I am impatient about leaving, I definitely do all the waiting before we leave, but NOT to that extent. I know people like that, though. This must be quite a burden for their partners. I, for one, have been known to tell those people that events are scheduled earlier than they are.

    Have a great week! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL – yeah, well allow me to elaborate as regards DST. I do NOT like adjusting to the lost or additional hour every spring and fall. I wish we could just have plain old time and deal with light or dark, naturally. I consider the additional light in spring as a consolation prize.

      My next appointment will be 15 minutes earlier than usual. I must, again, thank you for this little life hack. Good grief, why didn’t I think of that?

      Liked by 1 person

      • You are not an only child who insists on getting her way? You did not study a lot of psychology? You don’t like to anger people? — All good reasons 😛

        And good, I’m relieved. I wish they’d leave the clock alone!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I follow a few bloggers who post for the Share Your World prompt. Most I skim, but yours are always worth the read and hilarious. Dessert? Why, of course – that’s what I’d pick too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My BFF Kimberly was once asked by an interviewer: “What’s your biggest shortcoming?”
    “I’m on a continuous collision course with time.”
    Guilty as charged but it’s been making me too anxious. I’m not “chill” about arriving late or trying to beat the clock with every green light or unfortunate behind a logging truck or, worse yet, snow plow that straddles two lanes.
    I’m usually on time but working toward five minutes early. Progress not perfection.
    and i concur with dessert. ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. No, don’t change your answer…dessert is a perfect choice !

    Liked by 1 person

  5. “Oh, wait. One “s.” I need to change my answer. Is it OK to change my answer?”

    bwahahahahaha!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, Maggie! I so laughed about you and Reiner getting ready to go out. What a hoot Cabeese. Heck, yeah. We’ll take it. Followed by dessert. Feel free to change up whatever you don’t like. You are so funny.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I laughed at your “pathologically prompt” story, because that’s exactly how it went in my house when husband was still alive. Made me crazy – er.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What does spellcheck know anyway?? Me, I like “cabeese.”

    Liked by 1 person

  9. OMG – your promptness story is me and the kids – to a ‘T’. I always tell everyone “If I show up somewhere less than 15 minutes before the time I’m supposed to be there…I’m LATE.”

    They’re out the door a half hour after they’re supposed to be there.

    And seconds on dessert, please. It’s got 2 s’s – so that’s perfectly reasonable, no?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’d take dessert on a salt water beach thank you very much…perhaps something light and refreshing like Key Lime pie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. That description is of me and the gardener! He always sees three more things to do before we can leave!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Great post! I enjoyed your punctuality story as my husband is just like that. I laughed at the dessert answer too. I must admit I also try to guess which lift will arrive first too. I enjoy participating in and reading these fun challenges!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love your description about being pathologically prompt. You could be describing our house, although it is me who strives, but never succeeds, to be on time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It takes all kinds, eh? Glad that you can relate.

      I googled the term “pathologically prompt” to see if there were any good images to illustrate my post. It was interesting to note that many who self-described as being clock-watchers were also in the military. I suppose that makes sense.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I got a big nod from my wife when I shared this with her. Told her that she wasn’t the only one that couldn’t leave the house until everything was taken care of. Her justification: If we’re killed before we get back, our home will smell like spoiled milk when the family comes to pick through our stuff. This feels an awful lot like the adage my Grandma used to share with me “never leave the house in dirty underpants. If you get into an accident, everybody will see your business”

    But I’m the crazy one…

    Like

  15. I’m pathologically prompt, too. And like you I’m married to a pokey little puppy of a husband who will not move quickly– even when aware of my time table. So annoying.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Thanks Maggie for sharing your tales this week. Love reading your post.

    Like

  17. I see we are cut from the same cloth with our list making and promptness. I also would always choose dessert above all 🙂

    Like

  18. I love this post, and I love that your go through that whole “leaving on time” thing and then tell us that you’re patient 🙂 I understand that, but it’s funny.

    Like

  19. I don’t take elevators up, only down. The up elevators are taking people up to the flying saucer. How do I know? People keep disappearing. When I go to find them, I am told that they are out to lunch. Unfortunately they are always out to lunch.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Love your sharing, Maggie! I was amused you mentioned patience as one of your qualities. Obviously you are learning from this marriage thing!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. My Rhubarb Patch – The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

