The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

The Changing Seasons: February 2017

A foggy frog pond - for Joanne

A foggy scene – for Joanne – taken this morning. It’s been warmer lately.

Only a few seasonal changes to report from Cobalt. (Or should I say Coleman Township? More on that in a moment.) The snowbanks are somewhat higher, and I’ve noticed the sun sets in a different location. Now that there’s more snow, and more importantly, now that I’ve recovered from the flu, I’ve been able to get out and about and explore some new winter hikes around the area.

Technically speaking, that “area” is Coleman Township and it completely envelops the Town of Cobalt. Most of the silver mines brought into production from 1904 to the mid-1980’s are in Coleman. I pay property taxes to the Township.

But when I describe where I live, I say “Cobalt” as that is the more familiar location. Well, familiar to those who know Northern Ontario, or mines and minerals. Many of my friends thought I meant Cobourg when I told them where I was moving.

It doesn’t really matter.

Except, yes it does, to some.

OK, now that I’ve addressed that little technicality, allow me to share with you the photos of both the town and the township for the month of February!

 

Changing Seasons is a monthly blog challenge hosted by Cardinal Guzman. Your contribution might be a single photo or a gallery, a recipe, artwork, whatever the month means to you.

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , , , ,

37 replies

  1. Such lovely photos Maggie. I spent 2 solo hours last week in the woods with my camera. It was like a little piece of heaven!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely…..but soon it will be the mud season. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That last shot is amazing !! Thanks for the snow pics…I remember snow. None to speak of this year, we had one storm…4 inches total, melted in 2 days. I think I actually miss it a bit. I am a fan of all 4 seasons.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Van, I’m glad you think so! Seriously, some evenings I am just like a kid running from window to window, oohing and ahhhing and then it occurs to me to grab the camera and then put on my shoes (or not) and run outside and pray that the light hasn’t faded… and most times, the resulting image simply cannot capture the emotional impact. But I do it, anyway. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. That sunset shot is gorgeous! I especially love how you captured the reflection of the sky’s color in the snow below.

    Glad you’re recovered from your bout of flu, and can wander about with your camera again!!!

    Like

  5. I couldn’t help shivering as I looked at your snow pictures… so beautiful, but oh my gosh, how is it possible to bundle up enough to go out? (I admit that my Southern Californian skin is a bit thin.) Your sunset picture is spectacular! I love how the bare trees are silhouetted against the sky.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚

      I suppose I’m used to it – the bundling up part, that is. Plus, I have outerwear that’s rated for minus 40, so I truly don’t notice the cold.

      That doesn’t mean, however, that I’m outdoors every day. Far from it, actually. If the sun is shining and the wind isn’t too stiff, I’ll venture out. Because, even though I’m “used to it” doesn’t mean I particularly enjoy the bundling up part. Firstly, it takes forever! [spoken with an adolescent whine] but mostly because I’m carrying at least ten pounds extra weight around. I’m exhausted at the end of a hike!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. That sunset is amazing Maggie!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lovely. I especially love the first and last photos. I bet you planned it that way, hm? Gorgeous snows! All glisteny and stuff!

    Today I learned y’all call cattails bullrushes πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. These are lovely photos, especially that sunset. We’ve only had a little bit of snow this year, enough to get some photos, but only if you get them right away. Thanks for sharing yours.

    Like

  9. Your photos and explanation of where you actually live are perfect. This has been the warmest, worst February I can remember. It’s all wrong. I want some snowy days, muted colors, quiet vistas, so YES I’m jealous of you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ah, thanks Ally.

      Has it not been an upside-down season? I got a call from my friend in southern Ontario yesterday – she has spring birds in her yard! A friend of hers has reported seeing bats. At least 6 weeks early. I feel guilty and helpless for the poor things.

      Like

  10. such beautiful scenes- I can’t believe how stunning that sunset is!!

    Like

  11. You not only take terrific pictures, I love the captions!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Cobalt is a really pretty little town. I had no idea. I was impressed with your 2nd photo with the close-up of the bullrushes. You managed to capture that sparkly granular snow – my favourite!! Great photos, Maggie!

    Like

  13. Now this is what a snowy landscape should look like. Deep and crisp and WHITE! Lovely photos Maggie and I especially love the second one of the bullrushes. And that sunset is divine. Your sky painter is very talented πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Beautiful winter photos Mrs. Wilson. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. The Changing Seasons: February 2017 | Cardinal Guzman

Your thoughts?

