The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World – February 20, 2017

Wow, the weeks are going by so quickly, it seems! Time for another Share Your World!

When you cut something with scissors, do you move your jaw (as if you were about to chew)?

Don’t think so. And this week, I’m not running to the mirror to check.

Do you chew your pens and pencils?

I used to, along with my fingernails and cuticles and hair. Finally stopped all of the above, oh, maybe twenty-five years ago. Though, during times of stress, you might see my cuticles looking a little war-torn.

Are you a collector of anything?  If so what?

Oh, well, if you haven’t already heard, I collect mineral specimens.

Up until I met my geologist mineral-collecting hubby, though, I was pretty snooty about collecting stuff. I couldn’t fathom the desire to amass a bunch of “things” that required shelf space, and more importantly, that required dusting. Nor could I justify the expense of a collection.

So, how do I reconcile those concerns these days? As regards the cost, we trade or sell our excess to finance the hobby. Very little is on display since most of the specimens are kept in small inch-and-a-quarter acrylic boxes in cabinets – which HE dusts.

What size is your bed?

Queen. With the move, we downsized from a two-twins-together-king and I don’t miss that gully that ran down the middle.

At all.

But I do miss the extra real estate since our two cats join us at night – one who sleeps betwixt us, and the other who sleeps at my feet.

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week, more specifically, this past weekend, we’ve had some fabulous, unseasonably warm weather and loads of sunshine. I’m grateful for the chance to get out and walk along some new trails.

This week, I look forward to resisting the urge to feel jealous about the fact that folks back in Southern Ontario are riding their bikes, taking in a round of golf, and otherwise enjoying spectacular and unheard of spring-time weather for mid – FEBRUARY!?

By way of sour grapes, I will remind myself that gardens and yards look terrible in the early spring, all muddy and ragged and brown. It’s folly to even consider tidying up, or raking, or otherwise tending to a yard, which does not look nearly as nice as our snow-covered expanses under piercing blue skies.

Whaddya think? Do you buy it?

Found a rock pile at the Lawson Mine!

Found a rock pile at the Lawson Mine!

***   ***   ***

Inspired by Cee’s Share Your World 

 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

23 replies

  1. I don’t think that I do any of the things in this weeks challenge. I did collect Santa’s at one time, but those are long gone, and I suppose I will nibble the occasional finger nail when I’m too lazy to go grab a clipper or file.
    BTW Maggie, I think the snow is far superior to an untidy, muddy not-quite-full on spring garden 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, right! I buy that like I buy that I’m going to win the lottery (for which I do not buy tickets).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have a pair of boots like yours! And if it makes you feel any better, Ottawa has LOTS of snow although some of it melted with high temps this past weekend. No matter, there’s oodles remaining. Country snow looks so much prettier than city snow which gets gritty and brown and ugly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey, cool! I got mine at Marks, for an insane bargain price – their rated for minus 40 C! So far, I haven’t had to test the temperature claim!

      I agree, I do not miss the crummy scuzzy snowbanks from a larger town. The white stays white up here, and I don’t mind looking upon it, at all, really.

      Though, in April, I might be singing a different tune.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Charming.

    I find it interesting how many report their pets sleep with them every night. I knew these people were out there, but so many of them? I hadn’t guessed. Our dog needs half a bed and so she sleeps with me after The Mister leaves in the morning, and sometimes the other half of Sassy’s bed at bedtime, but overnight, she prefers the loveseat. I don’t know where the cats sleep, except the kitten one. He sleeps with us. He is like my first girl kitty, we kick him off as we please and he comes back up and settles in elsewhere. The others come and go, a lounge here or a cuddle there, They always come with the dog in the morning, but they don’t stay all night.

    We met our new neighbors yesterday. They were out tidying their yard. They seemed like lovely people, but I did laugh inside about their yard work. I mean really, it’s nice, it’s super sunny and warm, but it’s still winter. Winter isn’t done. It’s only February. Snow will come again, and on our tulips. It WILL be muddy and soggy and gross come spring and not a bit of what they did yesterday will matter.

    I’m the same about space and dusting, all books aside. I don’t do tchotchkes. It’s useful or I can’t have it. I admire pretty things, but I don’t need to own them.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I don’t think I move my mouth when I use scissors….but then again I don’t use them much at all so maybe I just don’t know. When I was a kid I used to chew my #2 pencils. Now that I think about it I can still taste them. I collect way too much stuff, but not on purpose. Just because it’s hard for me to throw stuff away. We sleep in a king size, with that gully. But I love it. I don’t hear him come to bed anymore, and I get to move my head to the level heads of beds should be. It’s still not big enough when the dog joins us though.

    I too am grateful for the warmer weather, though I worry what it is doing to my trees and gardens up north as I wallow in the heat down here in Alabama. Which I am also grateful for.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now that you mention it, I can taste the pencils, too!

      I too worry about the chance for early blossoms and then the hard frosts that kill the buds and the insects that have been led astray. Or frost heave that uproots perennials and shrubs. Global warming, anyone?

      Like

  6. Hi Maggie, I would love to see your mineral collection. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I don’t chew while scissoring. I don’t chew on my pens and pencils. I do chew on plenty of food, so don’t worry about those muscles atrophying. As for collections… I’m trying to unload as many of those as I can. We have lots of them, like the good midwesterners that we are. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Theo has very poor sleep etiquette. As a result, he is banished to the basement at night and we all sleep much better because of it 🙂

    What passes for spring in Northern Ontario isn’t pretty … but we all know there is still a lot of winter yet to come. I say we should all enjoy this brief respite while we can 🙂

    Like

    • I wish we had started to keep the cats separated at night way back when – I really haven’t had a full night’s sleep in… forever. And that’s not hyperbole.

      Dang, I was hoping a Northern spring would be pretty, not gritty.

      Yesterday and today in the weather news? Freezing rain. My favourite. That’s not hyperbole, either. That’s sarcasm. 😉

      Like

  9. As a young lad (Ed: so what’s an old lad?) I used to collect birds’ wings and feet! Yes, cycling home from school I would pocket any roadkill, take it home, off with the wings and feet, and into little plastic bags. I perfectly understand if you want to unfollow me know Maggie.

    Like

Your thoughts?

