The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World – February 6 2017

Click on image for source.

Click on image for source.

Yay to Cee for overcoming technical challenges – I do look forward to this weekly Share Your World!

Regarding your fridge, is it organized or a mess inside?

When we bought our new place here in Cobalt, the former owner left us several pieces of furniture including the refrigerator. It’s just two or three years old, so that’s a bonus. What I need to get used to is the bending over part. In our previous home, we had a full-length fridge – no freezer. Most of the items that we used on a daily basis were kept at eye-level.

As far as food storage up here, there is no system.  We don’t have a shelf dedicated to condiments and another to beverages, for instance. Except for the vegetable crispers, food might end up on any old shelf, depending on how much real estate it requires.

Of course, over time some items take up squatters’ rights – the cheese box, for instance – a plastic shoe box that is perfect for holding the big bars of cheese. It’s on the left-hand side, second shelf above the carrots and onions.

No rhyme nor reason means the fridge door is often held ajar while we search for the jam for example, and it also means squats or deep knee bends to get a better view of the interior. If I just reach in blindly, I won’t see the plate of leftover pasta on top of the cheese box and – BOOM – it ends up on the floor. ‘sketti side down, of course.

Do you prefer your food separated or mixed together?

I don’t give the plating of my food too much consideration, actually. I eat a bite of this, a bite of that, and so on, until I’m full.  I usually manage to save a fork-full of the favourite part of the meal for the last – say, if it’s a salad, then I’ll put aside a crouton for the last crunchy mouthful. Or if we’re having nachos, the chip with the most cheese gets the honours.

Do you prefer reading coffee table books (picture), biographies, fiction, non-fiction, educational?

Canadian fiction by female authors was my “go-to” for reading. Ever since I completed the Mining Technician Program, though, my right brain has been in hibernation. Now I’m finding that fiction isn’t easily accessible to me. Maybe I need to broaden the filter.

I’d be glad to hear your recommendations!

Close your eyes. Listen to your body. What part of your body is seeking attention? What is it telling you?

Knees: What? Again with retrieving the cat toy from under the stove? I just helped you clean up that pasta mess, and now this?

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I’m grateful for the synchronicity that led to the publishing of a news item about allergens in cosmetics on the VERY day that I wondered if I wasn’t reacting to something in the new shampoo. This week, I look forward to bringing that chapter to a close!

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

13 replies

  1. that comic just cracks me up….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The comic made me laugh. I liked it. Thanks so much for sharing this week. I hear you with the knees.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like how you’re allowing the items inside your refrigerator to roam free. We do the same thing, makes life much more exciting than knowing where everything is when you open the door. The comic is perfect for this post.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My organizational skills would cry out to get a handle on your fridge 😉 I’ll see your knees and raise you my left knee specifically. A 90 degree bend is still allowed but anything more than that and I am in jabbing pain. Just another joint succumbing to arthritis…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your fridge sounds like mine … right down to the plastic box full of cheeses on the second shelf on the left side. Go figure. Maybe we’ve instinctively plugged into the natural order (or lack thereof) of the Universe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

