The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World – January 30, 2017

What is the most incredible natural venue that you’ve ever seen in person?

I’ve been moved to tears by British Columbia’s Mount Robson as viewed from the observation car of a transcontinental train. This was on a student exchange trip in 1973.

Similarly, on a trip to Arundel Castle in the late 1980’s, the view from the castle keep turned me into a blubbering idiot. I was mortified by my reaction, as were my friends and the other tourists who gave me wide berth. It was a castle, OK? There was an expanse of greenery, a tree festooned in pink blossoms, and the sunlit British countryside. You seen one, you seen them all, right?

Well, apparently not.

I spent an hour tonight locating the photos from those trips. Images of Mount Robson have faded, lo these 45 (!) years. Arundel did not survive the pitch and purge exercises that preceded our move north. Sorry folks. Nothing to see here.

How many siblings do you have? What’s your birth order?

BIG sister and her two baby brothers.

BIG sister and her two baby brothers.

I am the oldest of three children. Two brothers.

Unless you include the two half-sisters from Dad’s first marriage. Then…

OMG! That makes me the middle child!

Never mind!

For the purposes of this conversation, I am the BIG SISTER, capiche?

If you were a shoe, what kind would you be and why?

I certainly would NOT be one of those zero-balance jobs. We all know what happens when I wear those sorts of crazy shoes. Forget heels. Forget zero heels. Sensible shoes, for the win!

What is the strangest/weirdest thing you have ever eaten?

My dietary adventures fall in the same category as my footwear. Nothing too outrageous, certainly nothing reality-show worthy. I had Canada Goose, once. (Shh. It’s a secret.) I also tried ostrich – tastes like beef. (Betcha thought I was gonna say “chicken”, didn’tcha?)

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful that I have recovered from the cold/flu/nasty bug. I am grateful for the woodstove and beautiful sunsets. I’m grateful for the bounty that is our universe. I am grateful for this social media platform where I can share and bear witness.

For the week upcoming? I’d like to say that I look forward to the climactic episode wherein a certain ruler’s hubris and unfathomable irresponsibility bites him where it counts and he stumbles and falls and never regains his momentum. So help me God.

And I’m not even a little bit religious.

***   ***   ***

Inspired by Cee’s Photography Weekly Post

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

33 replies

  1. So help me God, too. Great answers, Maggie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I Googled both the mountain and the castle. VERY impressive indeed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good idea – I’ve added links today. Of course, the castle itself doesn’t precisely qualify as a “natural” venue, but the views it offered were amazing. AND! Did you know? The castle has been used as filming locations for Harry Potter, Dr. Who and several other films. Ah, thank you Google!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Amen, sista! Glad to hear you are back to health.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. haha! I loved every single answer!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great answers from the Big Sister in sensible shoes. Way to go, Maggie.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think I will adopt your thoughts about what you’re looking forward to.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Cute kids, and so glad you’re feeling better!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Personally I am looking forward to Groundhog Day. I think it should be a National Holiday, up there in the stars with Boxing Day and Talk Like a Pirate Day. We need a lot more days like these.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The Grand Canyon. There’s a reason it was named Grand.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What is the strangest/weirdest thing you have ever eaten?

    I could not let that pass without comment…. Last Friday, I had a meal of Haggis at the Bobby Burns Night at my son’s distillery. As long as you ignored what was in it, it was good… and yes, it was served in a sheep’s stomach.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I would definitely keep you safely tucked in as the older sister. 😀 Thanks for sharing this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Glad you didn’t say ostrich tastes like chicken because it certainly doesn’t 🙂 It’s eaten a lot here in South Africa – It’s lean and healthy and a good alternative to beef.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh, I have to say that I just enjoyed this one so much. Your personality really comes through in your writing and I was smiling at your reaction of the view from Arundel Castle. I had the same reaction when I stood at the top of the Cumberland Gap and looked out (you can see 5 states from this point). I’d never been so high while still having feet planted firmly on soil. I blubbered like a fool, much to Hubs amusement. Hehaha! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Share Your World May 29, 2017 – The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

