The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

A Mystery

click for source

Vera and Phillip in each other’s clutches. Click for source

Back in middle school, I was cast in the stage adaptation of Agatha Christie’s mystery “And Then There Were None.” *

I cannot recall what role I landed – I’d like to say it was the part of the beautiful and demure Vera Claythorne, whose vulnerability masks a more sinister intent.

But that is most likely me recasting myself in the more glamourous of three female roles. I really cannot remember.

As a matter of fact, I don’t remember the production ever making it to opening night. I suppose talent and resources (or the lack thereof) forced the director to make a judgement call. This was one show that did not go on.

But that’s not the pressing question for me, as I write this. Today, I want to know whatever happened to Lance Slumski?

Lance was also a member of the cast. The reason I think I was Vera is because I recall playing opposite Lance as Phillip Lombard: dashing world traveler whose past is about to catch up with him. Vera and Phillip shared several scenes, and their characters developed a bond, if not actual trust. Well, hardly trust. Vera shoots Phillip. But that’s not the point.

The point is, our onstage intimacy morphed into an off-stage crush.

Obviously, I don’t remember much about the play. (Good grief, until I started researching the plot and characters for this post, I had forgotten who dunnit!) But I do remember Lance.

We were thirteen or fourteen years old. Both rather homely in our adolescence. He was overweight with a swarthy (not in a good way), pock-marked complexion. He teased me halfheartedly, probably not knowing if or how to take it any further. I certainly didn’t have a clue. I’d block most of his advances and then immediately regret it.

For some reason, this next scene remains indelibly etched in my memory:

After school rehearsal. Lance and I are off-stage, on the gymnasium floor, waiting for our cue. I am sitting up front, but he is in the dark recesses of the room. It’s just about time to go onstage.

Where’s Lance?

I walk to the far corner of the gym, and find him napping on a floor mat. I feel several emotions all in a rush. I am perturbed, charmed, repelled. The intimacy of this moment is too much for my comfort.

“Lance! Wake up!” I hiss.

He comes too, shakes off the sleep, and we proceed with the rehearsal.

We do not, however, proceed with the flirtation.

For me, that real-life scene took me to a place that didn’t square with the play-acting of young adolescent romance. It was too real and I felt squeamish.

As I say, the show didn’t go on. Neither did the romance. But it was an unforgettable moment, one that intrigues me, still. A mystery, you might say.

***   ***   ***

Inspired by the Daily Prompt “Ten” – as in *Ten Little Indians – the alternate title of the Agatha Christie Novel And Then There Were None

Categories: Daily Post, Relationships

Tags: , , ,

15 replies

  1. Oh, what a fascinating look at adolescence, Maggie! I really enjoyed reading about you and Lance. A mystery, I would say.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s sad when special moments aren’t for ordinary reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s the thing, Dan – I was baffled then, and I remain baffled today about feeling “icky” when I came across Lance’s sleeping form. I mean, it hardly merits the pixels in this post! But when WP prompted “Ten” it’s the first thing that popped into my head.

      [shrug]

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I guess it wasn’t meant to be…the play, or the romance.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lance is probably napping somewhere, dreaming of his leading lady Maggie.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, it’s hard to come back after being repelled! Discerning character in adolescence, yeah? Interesting tale.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Health News Special Report – 10 Easy Ways to Fall Asleep (The Nudge Wink Report) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Your thoughts?

