The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World – January 23, 2017

Do you prefer juice or fruit?

Fruit, I suppose, though this week I’m knocking back the OJ likes there’s no tomorrow. Speaking of tomorrow – two solid weeks of this dang blang cold. The bug jumped host, and now Reiner is sick.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

Gonna go with medium. Did I like growing up? Sure. Oh! Did I like the town? Sure. Though I didn’t really pay much attention when I was a kid. I left when I was 20, and have lived in eight different cities/towns since. Urban and rural, Southern Ontario and Northern. Now that I have had a taste of several municipalities, I have to say that all that matters is the personality of the community. You know what I mean?

If you were to paint a picture of your childhood, what colors would you use?

my childhood home as interpreted by my Aunt Betty

my childhood home as interpreted by my Aunt Betty

 

Gonna play fast and loose with the answer here and show you the colours my Aunt Betty used to paint her childhood home, which, as it happens, was my childhood home, too.

 

 

 

 

Ways to Relax List: Make a list of what relaxes you and helps you feel calm.

  1. Being out-of-doors, in nature
  2. Going for walks
  3. Taking long deep breaths

Optional Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? 

I’m grateful that I didn’t have to worry about getting to work, or running errands. I just hunkered down and rode out this cold.  In the coming week? Believe it or not, tomorrow will be the first day in two weeks that I will get out of doors. I plan to take a short walk, to be in nature, and I certainly plan on taking several long, deep breaths.

***   ***   ***

Inspired by Cee’s Photography

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

29 replies

  1. I like your ideas for relaxing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hope you get over your cold soon. They can be big pains in the you-know-what 😀

    Like

  3. Thanks, Cee! I do-know-what! 😉

    Like

  4. What a great home to grow up in. I bet that covered porch was a great place to play.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m with you with walking in nature for sure! Try warm milk with turmeric & cinnamon in it- helps the cold. Mine lingered 5 weeks! I hope yours is over sooner!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I hope your out-of-doors time is refreshing 🙂 We had some nice weather over the weekend, and I sure enjoyed it. Slept and drove with cracked windows, ahh!
    I love your childhood home. It looks so cute and cozy!
    I always drink a lot of orange juice in the winter. I’d like to say because it’s good for me, but I just crave it all winter.

    Like

  7. I can see you are struggling with retired life. Shame, Maggie. 😀 !!!

    Like

  8. Don’t forget to drink tea! (This will be the last mention of tea, I promise.)

    Like

  9. I had that same cold. Well, not the same one, but similar 🙂 Feel better (I finally am).

    Like

  10. Before you go back outside into the deep freeze, look at what the road crews are wearing and dress like that. (same colors too) 🙂

    Like

  11. Relaxing, for me, is either meditating in a green space, floating around downtown people-watching, or doing something creative.

    I’ve dozens of whirly bird captures (it’s a chainmaille fiddle toy), and lengths of chainmaille chain made in various fits of pique.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. That painting your Aunt Betty painted of her childhood home is delightful. I love it.
    Taking long deep breaths really do help one to relax. It is amazing how much that helps.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dozed and drove with broke windows, ahh!..I cherish your youth home. It looks so adorable and comfortable!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I like your thoughts for relaxing…Hope you get over your frosty soon…

    Like

Your thoughts?

