The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

There’s a Fungus Among Us II

A Facebook friend sent out the alert: puff balls spotted on the rail trail!

Last night, Reiner and I hiked the trail toward a likely spot. As luck would have it, when we were about a kilometer away, a fellow parked his bike, ambled into the woods, and just as we approached, he emerged carrying a sack of the giant mushrooms. Dang! So close!

Today we decided to check the woods behind our own house. Bonanza! Three of the delectable giant ‘shrooms now reside in our fridge. Well, two-and-a-half to be precise. The other half is being digested as I type.

I’ve been on a social media roll today. So, I’ll stop writing and show you the pictures. Enjoy!

Check out There’s a Fungus Among Us if you haven’t had your fill of things that grow on other dead or dying things.

 

 

 

Categories: In Other News

Tags: ,

60 replies

  1. Awesome! Best post I have ever read on fungus. 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t found one of those since I moved to Idaho. Ate a lot of them in Northern Nevada. We used to get the smooth ones and ones with a top like a craft loaf of bread.

    Like

  3. I have never heard of them or ever seen them. Amazing. The stir fry looks delicious …. until I read the caption on the one photo. Wire worms?!! What the hell?!!!

    Like

  4. Good find. God love ya, I wish I could see mushrooms as something other than the same thing that grew out of my bathtub’s corner wall.

    Like

  5. I hadn’t realized how ‘giant’ they were until I saw their….cup size. Wowza!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. You are a braver woman than I am. 🙂

    Like

  7. I am woefully lacking on mushroom knowledge, but I truly admire your ability not to kill yourself eating them. A few questions–the large mammary looking things in your hands…mushrooms??? I originally thought bread dough, but then realized it wouldn’t stand up like that. Amazing size. and I am also with joannesisco—-Wire Worms?????

    Like

    • Indeed. Mushrooms. Fortunately, hubby has a working, or should I say “eating” knowledge of edible wild plants and ‘shrooms. We found one as big as a basket ball one year. However, the larger they are, generally speaking, the older they are and therefore the wormier. If the interior has turned yellow, they are past prime.

      Like

  8. Seems to me there was an eighties band called There’s A Fungus Among Us. One of its hits was “‘shroom-a ‘shrooma-a ‘shroom-a”. Kind of a doo-wop ska thing.

    Like

  9. The term ‘puff ball’ must have more than one meaning. When I was a child, it referred to a hollow sort of fungus that, when stomped upon, would disperse a cloud of grey smoke. What violent little urchins we were, taking delight in the destruction of the things. But they didn’t look anything like what you are showing above. (Which looks delicious, by the way.)

    Like

  10. My gracious! I hope you didn’t digest any wire worms! I’ve never seen such huge mushrooms. The finished dish looked very delectable and possibly even delicious!

    Like

  11. I’ve never heard of puffball mushrooms so I googled. According to the Australian National Botanic Gardens website there are puffballs native to Australia but they’re only a few centimeters wide. They had a link to Giant Puffballs but they don’t seem to exist in Australia.
    It looks like mozzarella cheese.
    Wire worms??? Ewwwww.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. OMG…I don’t use those letters often. I’ve never seen any mushroom that large. Amazing. Love your photo.☺

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I don’t know about your region, Maggie, but it has been a wet year for us… and there are mushrooms coming out of our lawn everywhere. I get worried when Scooter rushes off to eat them before I get a good look. It is like they spring out of the ground at night.

    Like

    • I think you have it, exactly right. They do spring up overnight. I’ve noticed that the lawn in front of the new arena is dotted with large white mushrooms. I wonder if the contractors who installed the green used spent compost from the local mushroom farms. It’s very tempting to harvest these boulevard beauties. One lawn on our street grows portobello-looking ‘shrooms once a month or so. I resist the temptation, of course, but man, do my fingers itch to load up.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. I love mushrooms and love collecting them. I have a He** of a mushroom soup recipe..in case you will need to get more ideas what to do with them.

    Like

  15. Thanks for the trip down memory lane 🙂 We used to take our kids “magic mushroom hunting” in the fall every year. We called them “magic” as we would find where they were growing and if too small, come back everyday until they were big enough to harvest. Depending on the temperature and humidity they could literally puff up overnight hence be “magic”. My hubby is of Mennonite descent and we prepared them like french toast the way you describe. Wire worms were always a nuisance but we used to joke to think of them as extra protein. I’m not a mushroom eater, so this was largely for his benefit and the fun of mushroom hunting. I hope my kids will remember those magic mushroom days. We haven’t gone for many years. The place where we were getting them locally has been developed and not sure if there is any natural wooded area remaining. We will have to find another spot if we care to go hunting again. However it is morells that he is truly obsessed about and we have never found a spot for those and must rely on others good will when they find them in the spring. The pair of puff balls you show are about a smallish medium size, nice for eating, we certainly harvested much larger. Problem is eating one of those up fast enough as they are so huge. I haven’t heard of them as preserves so I assume they don’t work well for drying or canning. Enjoy them while they are in season!

    Like

    • Heh heh heh, “thanks for the memories.” A Facebook friend offered a very similar story about collecting puffballs with her dad. She quipped, “Thanks for the mammaries.” Reiner knows a couple of spots around Doon that are still undeveloped – for shaggy manes as well as puffballs. It’s hit or miss whether they sprout from year to year.

      Like

  16. I got a good giggle at your breast cancer awareness shot 😀

    I’ve never been a real mushroom person – I can’t get over the texture. But I do love the flavor they impart on dishes, so cream of mushroom soup is always in the pantry.

    Like

  17. Oh man… I only know the little ones! Those giant ones don’t exist where I come from, or I’d have seen them. Am from a family of mushroom hunters 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Holy Giant Mushrooms, Maggie!!! 😀

    Like

  19. What a fun post – and wormy fungus? Who knew? But it makes sense. I only get my mushrooms from the store, and they’re pretty well cleaned by then. 🙂

    Like

  20. Looks yummy. Im afraid to try picking my own.. You must be pros as you lived to tell the tale.

    Like

  21. Sorry but those look nothing like any breasts I have ever known! Still, a great post!

    Like

  22. If we lived forever, we would always be learning new things. Slicing giant balloon mushrooms, working out worms, frying them in butter, and serving them like french toast. Maple syrup mushrooms. Who knew?

    SUCH an interesting post. Thanks, Maggie!

    Like

Your thoughts?

