The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

A Froggy Day

The weather forecast for today was dire. Extremely dense fog with zero visibility. We had plans to take in Frogs: A Chorus of Colours at the Royal Botanical Gardens, some distance from home.

I was conflicted. Do I keep the news to myself and hope for the best? Or do I tell Reiner about the weather warnings and brace myself for the argument about driving in the fog? I opted to keep my mouth shut.

As it turned out, the weather wasn’t as pea-soupy as forecast. So a win for me. And for Reiner too, because he would have been right when he would have said, “What are you worried about? It will be fine.” I hate when he’s right about something that I am anxious about.

A win for you too, reader dears, because I can share some phroggy photos with you. I did not bother to record the species of the wee beasties, though I see that some of them are on the RBG webpage if you would like to know. Generally, they are from South America or Africa.

 

 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

63 replies

  1. I’m confused – the weather forcast “Extremely dense frog with zero visibility” Those froggies don’t seem dense and appear to be quite smart with clear vision.

    Great photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad you like the images! I give 95% credit to the camera and the models. I’ll take credit for photo editing. I wasn’t wearing reading glasses and had to take photos quickly so as to not hog the frog facetime. Cameras these days are incredible.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These little guys are cuter than I thought they would be. Thanks for sharing them.

    Like

  3. Oh, wow! Beautiful creatures and lucky you! That one looks like he/she is almost transparent. Were the froggy sounds they made wonderful too?

    Like

  4. A froggy tale on a foggy day 😉
    Glad to hear that the conditions weren’t so bad. You’re little froggy models are quite cute 🙂

    Like

  5. Ribitting?! Oh, I love that. Who knew there were so many different frog types? The Chinese frog is so pretty, as is the one stepping on his buddies head (the slideshow on the RBG website is wonderful)! Great photos, Maggie. Also happy you did not have to let Reiner know he was right. Whew! Close call.

    Like

  6. G’day Maggie,
    Sometimes a wifes gotta do what a wifes gotta do, glad it worked out for you, beautiful shots of those little fellows 🙂

    Like

  7. I love it. That big guy at the end has personality.

    Like

  8. I love the first guy…he’s totally frhogging the camera.

    Like

  9. Hope you gave each frog a kiss. Did you find a prince in the bunch?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. You do go on some interesting excursions and I enjoy coming along seeing where you take me! I do love frogs and some gorgeous little critters here! Thanks Maggie. ❤

    Like

  11. It’s lovely to hear from you, Maggie! These froggies are so charming. Thanks for sharing.

    BTW -why would you feel annoyed when Reiner is right about something you are anxious about? I would just take the best from it, and feel reassured! Then everyone wins whatever happens, and he feels better for reassuring you, no?

    Bless you, and thanks again. XXXX 😀 ♥

    Like

  12. Great photos! These frogs look really cool 🙂

    Like

  13. The trip sounds like lots of fun, but I’m not real fond of frogs… You got some great shots in and they are interesting creatures to look at. Behind glass. Way far away! 😀

    Like

  14. I love frogs. I know they were fine with the fog. Glad you didn’t disappoint them!

    Like

  15. Oh, I hope this comes to Richmond someday! My daughter loves frogs – always has – and has quite the collection. She even has an itty-bitty frog tattoo….

    Like

  16. Oh, neat! I love the ribbits 😀 Glad the weather held up for y’all too!

    Like

  17. Love frogs..kissed a few when I was young until my prince came along 🙂

    Like

  18. I loved it to ribbits! Thanks for the frogumentary my dear Maggie. A leap of faith for fair weather resulted in a fine play of croakette. How amfibbious! (Sorry, still sleep deprived, getting my mords wixed).

    Like

  19. I am fibbin’ if I say I didn’t enjoy this.
    😉

    Like

  20. They’re cute! In an adorably slimy way, but still, cute!

    Like

  21. Awww… I miss hearing their chorus after a good rain. Haven’t heard ribbits since leaving our hometown. Probably 15 years or more! 😦 Love your post, Maggie!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Maggie – I totally ‘get’ that whole thing about the fog, your anxiety and Reiner’s lack of anxiety. Totally.

    Such a colorful variety of frog/toads. They are grotesquely ugly at the same time that I marvel that they are such beautiful, fascinating creatures (who don’t give a frog’s croak whether they look good or not ‘cuz they’re all about catching bugs). Ribbit, ribbit

    Like

  23. Glad you were able to make a go of it…we will be there later in the week, March Break maddness and all!! 🙂

    Like

Your thoughts?

