The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Desktop Cleanup

Housekeeping time. You know  now it gets… dust bunnies and coffee stains start to pile up. So do the images on my computer monitor. Can’t ignore ’em any longer, so time to clean the desktop. Here are the images that I deleted today. They create a diary of sorts.

crosstitch

Spring cross-stitch pattern – click for source image.

This cross stitch pattern caught my attention on Facebook. I wanted to use it as content for the Women’s Institute site. The image here is rotated from the original orientation on the uploader’s blog.  For reasons beyond my understanding, when I load it to Facebook, it “undo-s” the rotation. So, screw it, I said. But before I delete it, I want to share it with you, because it’s spring-y and lovely and we still have a mountain of snow.

Gole North

It’s summer somewhere. Sometime.

Me. Outstanding in my field. From an expedition to Madawaska River area four summers ago. Notice, please: no snow.

Maggie Wilson

Eagle’s Nest Lookout, Bancroft

So, yeah. The college awarded me a bursary this semester and needed to supply a photo and authorization for use thereof. Well lookit that, no snow!

Oscar in cat tree

You know how cats climb everywhere you don’t want them to so you buy one of those fancy schmancy structures for them to play on and they run from it as if it’s the gateway to Hades? Well, you can imagine my surprise when I turned from my desk to find Oscar perched thus. Had to get photo evidence. He hasn’t been back since.

No snow here, either, but I wouldn’t be talking about the cat if I had snow in the livingroom, would I?

marilyn mielke

This little sweetie-pie is Reiner’s granddaughter. Hardly notice the snow at all, do you?

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

44 replies

  1. Sadly my cats never use a scratching post either…they prefer my wall paper, sofa, on occasion my leg…😉xx

    Like

  2. Wish I had a hat like that. Kids get all the cool stuff. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your selection of pictures and congrats on the bursary!
    Theo loves his scratching post and is at it several times a day 🙂

    Like

  4. Snakes love those cat climbing posts. I suggest a ball python.

    Like

  5. Little one had fun, sparkling eyes and rosy cheeks 🙂

    Like

  6. It’s always sad when you clean out the image files. I usually start with a determined gleam in my eyes, a firm grip on the mouse, and dive into the first folder…

    After a few quick delete selections…I start to get all misty-eyed and nostolgic – and before long, I’ve got ‘shop opened and am working on tweaking images.

    I’m a graphic file packrat 😦

    Like

  7. Not with those preciuous blue eyes – what snow?!? What a doll😆 you, too !!

    Like

  8. That baby is adorable. But…I did notice the snow. That’s quite a tunnel ! Van

    Like

  9. Our cats do use the scratching posts, but we had a dog that chases them up into them, so… What a cutie in the snow pile. The best way to make snow look good.

    Like

  10. I was thinking how much Reiner’s cute granddaughter would enjoy a big version of that cat toy. And how your kitty might then deign to venture onto it if jealousy played a role.

    Cats.

    Like

  11. Well, Oscar, I have a scratching post you won’t want to use, either. Please notice it, unscathed by feline claws. Right next to the easy chair that is totally shredded. What is with that? Nice picture of you, Maggie. What snow? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Oh my! I always feel like a voyeur when you share your desktop rubbishing sessions 😮 Must admit I gasped when I saw the photo of that little angel, thinking how could you? Until you splained yourself Lucy, glad it’s only a duplicate. Phew.
    Row, Row, Row your boat
    Gently down the stream
    Marilee, Marilee, Marilee, Marilee
    Life is but a Dream
    (name bechanged to protect the innocent).
    She is the dream of life. Precious and full of wonder. A gift smiling in the snow, a snow angel indeed.
    Thanks for supplying the inspirational zentitude for me today 🙂

    Like

  13. Congratulations getting a bursary Maggie, that’s fantastic! Loved all of your photos, especially your grand daughter, yes, she’s yours too!! I can see your cat doesn’t miss out either. Does she prefer your desk? 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you, Barbara! Yes, the grand daughter is mine, but not a direct line – guess I wanted to make that subtle distinction. Fortunately, Oscar does not prefer the desk. It’s loaded as it is. The neighbour’s cat, Keira, though, does enjoy a prowl over the keyboard and behind the monitor every now and again.

      Like

  14. A dear friend MADE a cat tree for Gibbs and Ziva. You may have seen my post about it. They both absolutely love it and it has become their favorite place to sleep. They also scratch on it, which is usually the one thing they don’t do with a tree or scratching post. As Joanne suggested, sprinkle catnip on your tree if you haven’t already done so. Works every time.

    Like

  15. Reiner’s granddaughter is a precious child. Good to remember how amazing all that snow is to a small child. Those cheeks, Maggie, remind me of my mother slathering ours with Vaseline when we out to play.

    Like

  16. Oh, thank goodness. I thought I was going to get through the whole post without one snow picture. Honestly, what’s the point of having Northern Hemisphere blogging friends if they don’t feed your snow deprivations?

    Like

  17. You mean you can actually delete image files? Apparently I have some form of OCD because that sounds like anathema to me. I even kept a lot of the stupid pictures I took of the houses I looked at that I didn’t buy…but of course, that might be laziness rather than a desperate need to hang on to all pictures. Never mind.

    Like

Your thoughts?

