The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share-sies

My ego wanted to read some of my blog the other day. This line on my Applause, Applause  page got my attention:

I will continue my practice of referring to your work in my posts as they inspire me. You do inspire me, in more ways than I can possibly express.

I haven’t done that lately. Today, I will make amends.

There are two bloggers that you might enjoy if you do not already read their work.

One is Peg Stueber of The Tempest and the Teapot. Today she posted a piece on sleep deprivation, something I am all too familiar with lately, what with decrepit smoke detectors sounding off at the most inconvenient hour. Like two in the morning. Then again at three. So all night I am bracing for the next ear-splitting blare. Unfortunately, it is not a simple matter of changing batteries. These babies are hardwired. And I’m home. Alone. Reiner is up north at the mine-site. I tried to find the right breaker on the hydro panel so that I could snip the damn wires. But couldn’t. I got tired of trudging up the three flight of stairs after the seventh switch failed to disconnect the alarm. Don’t look at me. I didn’t mark the panel. Previous Owner is on the hook for that oversight. But enough of my wailing. What I really want you to know about is Peg’s term for ex-husband. Wuzband. Is that great, or is that great?

You might also find Van by the River someone you’d enjoy reading. I’ve enjoyed many of her posts and today’s was no exception. I feel, as I do with so many of you, a kindred spirit in Van. In her post, she lists the bullet points of a quiz that determines whether or not you are an old soul. I recognize myself in each of the points. Am I an “old soul”? Who knows, but the shoe fits.

There have been several moments in my life where I recall feeling like I was in the presence of something divine. You can read about one of those moments in my comments to Van.

I will leave you to check out these bloggers at your leisure.

lilac

Categories: In Other News

Tags:

32 replies

  1. Maggie, you are such a sweetheart; that is why I miss your posts. I know, I know…things to do, writer’s block… Come sit on the old soul’s bench and we’ll talk about it….Very nice post. XO

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maggie, wondered where you were. Missed your posts & Mr. Zombie. Writing is important though…Happy Writing. Christine

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, no…and my simplistic quip about changing out the batteries in your fire alarm…now I feel like a heel! I certainly hope you can get the darn thing silenced…FAST!

    If you get desperate…I’ll bring a hammer 😀

    Thanks for the share, Maggie – and it’s good to see you’re back blogging…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m honored, Maggie, thanks so much for the share, and your thoughtful comments. Van

    Liked by 1 person

  5. You are a generous soul as well as an old soul, Ms. Maggie. I’ll have a look at these two blogs forthwith.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can relate to the alarms going off in the middle of the night! For awhile, my husband and I slept with ear protectors (those big, industrial-sized ones) by our bed. We never did figure out what set them off – no fire (thank goodness) and they also are hard-wired. Perhaps a wayward ant.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Interesting to hear from someone who has had the same issue… and the problem just corrected itself?

      We have lots of guesses – dust, dryness, old age… I could close the bedroom door but then I’d have the other problem of cats hollering to get in. Oh well. I can nap during the day.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh man, those alarms can put me in a right SNIT – loud noises like that are pure torture!! And that low-battery chirp always happens when Hub’s gone or the middle if the night!!

    Great shout-outs to your blogging buddies. Wuzband is perfect 😋

    Sending you hugs 💖

    Like

  8. Thank you very much for sharing these interesting posts!

    Like

  9. It’s a hell of a note when the only way to stop the smoke detectors going off in the middle of the night is to tear down the house.

    Like

  10. Those alarms drive me nuts. You think I would be proactive and change the batteries before they run down? Not a chance. Here is what happened to me, see Chirp!

    Miss you, Maggie.

    Like

  11. So good to hear from you again. I’ve missed you. I love Vanbytheriver! Am always waiting for anything she writes! Will certainly check out Tempest!

    Like

  12. I’ll be sure to check out both. And I love “wuzband”- haha…(snickers). That’s great. :0) I have a few of those! And I know a thing or two about sleep deprivation also. I’ve actually been hospitalized (years ago) after having not been able to sleep for 6+ days. To say “I saw a few freaky things” is an understatement! Open, full-blown visual hallucinations. Anyway, that’s why Ambien is now my BFF. It continues to do the trick. One at bedtime and I’m off to la la land, sleeping like a baby. You may want to check that out. ;0)

    Like

    • God. 6+ days and I’d be homicidal. Seriously. I have a very short fuse to begin with. Deprive me of my sleep and watch out! I’ll look for Ambien or it’s Canadian equivalent. I’ve tried OTC sleep meds before and they didn’t help at all, so I am skeptical. For now though, the sleeplessness is directly attributed to the dang blang failing smoke detector.

      btw – I am on hubby #3 with two wuzbands of my own in the history books. We have that in common, too. 🙂

      Like

      • Well, just don’t divorce STILLISband (twice) and you won’t rack up as many divorces. ;0) I was a genius and married (and divorced) my children’s father twice, as if the first time around wasn’t enough. Nop. I had to go back for 2nds. (Pure idiot. <<<< Me.)

        Ambien is the only thing that’s ever effectively put me to sleep. Plus, there’s no pill hangover or groginess. Just a clean break feeling refreshed and recharged. DO check into that. Besides, we start naturally losing precious sleep as we age too (as you know). I hope you get that smoke detector fixed! I’d be breaking stuff!

        Like

  13. The term Wuzband is great. Love it. Thanks for the post. Fire alarms … can’t live with ’em, you could die without ’em. Keep on blogging in a free world and have a prophet-able day – The False Prophet

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. A New Use for Mineral Tack | The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

