The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Hello. Remember me?

"Rock, Hard Place" Road Sign with dramatic clouds and sky.If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? Why? via Morton’s Fork.

Pft. This is easy. Not that I mean any disrespect to the author of today’s Daily Prompt. Rather, the answer is clear-cut. I’d read.

Because that’s what I’m doing these days. Reading. Lurking. And, [gulp] I must confess IGNORING the notices in my email feed.

Why?

I haven’t a clue.

There I was, minding my own business, writing, reading, commenting, engaging, blog-blog-blogging my little heart out and then: BOOMPH.

Dead stop.

Winter doldrums? I expect that’s part of it. I can’t claim that school work is the culprit any longer. I have three easy courses to finish this semester.

My volunteer work with the WI has picked up a notch, and I need to dedicate time to that. Which means I cannot afford the time nor the distraction of writing and commenting here.

But that is only half the story. Actually, it’s not the story at all. It’s an excuse. A year ago, when I started this masterpiece that you see before you, I had no trouble with blogging and minerals and school work.

It is not writer’s block. At least, I don’t think so. It’s more like a need to withdraw and recuperate. But I don’t want to be rude. So, this is me, forcing myself to rattle off a few words to say hello.

Hello. How’ve you been? Have you ever felt like this?

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

82 replies

  1. I have missed you, Maggie! No excuses needed. Just darn happy to hear you are well and lurking and reading. What more can one ask? I hope the doldrums/writer’s block leaves soon. I miss the rocks and the laughs. XO

    Like

  2. Hi Maggie, I’ve truly missed your mineral photos on Jenny’s OWFC lately…. or maybe you’ve posted and I’ve missed them 😉 We all go through spells depending on what else is going on. Hope you’re well and having a good new year thus far 😉 Best wishes, WG

    Like

  3. Everyone needs a blog break from time to time. There’s no shame in that. 🙂

    Like

  4. Pfft. Of course I have. As have many, I’m sure. I can’t tell you why you’re feeling the way you are. I know for me, it’s often that I’m bored and want to do something new. The old “okay, that was fun but what’s next?” syndrome I seem to suffer from and hence the JoAT legacy.
    Do what makes you happy, Maggie. Will always look forward to your posts even if the next one is a year from now. (Assuming I’m still here myself and not teaching basket weaving in Bhutan or something.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. you have been missed but we understand.

    Like

  6. Yup, do it all the time – rick-o-shay from one interest to another – it’s probably a bit more like careening in my case. I blame it on my curious (strange and interested) brain. My brain seems to be able to handle my scapegoating even when I can’t.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ditto what others said. As energizing and wonderful as our blogging community is, in some ways the writing is akin to performing or, at the very least, requires opening yourself. It just makes sense that there will be necessary breaks for rest and rejuvenation.

    Like

    • Very, very true! Something I hadn’t considered, but now that you mention it… I have grown tired of being “on”. I shall consider this an “intermission.” Thanks, Sammy dear.

      Like

      • Well, it just occurred to me through our offline conversations, but blogging is another form of ‘putting yourself out there.” This is a good reminder to ignore a lot of the ‘noise’ about all the social media platforms we ‘should’ be utilizing.

        Take care of you first, Maggie.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I was just thinking about you today! Glad you stopped in 🙂

    I get you on the winter doldrums. Between other things happening in general, I kind of said “eh” to the blog. Or at least worrying about it like I used to.

    ((hugs)) 🙂

    Like

  9. Hey Maggie – I’ve missed you and I’m sorry that your blogging mojo is stuck in neutral but I’m so glad to see you pop up today 🙂

    Like

  10. It’s OK to retreat and renew one’s energy stores and direction. My brother called it “caving” and it’s a perfectly respectable direction and often necessary.

    Like

  11. I, for one, have nothing but respect for bloggers who stop writing when they’ve pulled away and stopped reading. Whether it’s caused by a funk, too busy a schedule, or any other reason – I think it speaks to unselfishness. What gets stuck in my craw is when bloggers are too busy to read or engage on other blogs but somehow find the time to write posts (and expect others to read and engage there…)

    You take as long as you need to. After all, it’s not like any of us are getting paid for any of this. 🙂

    Like

  12. Once upon a time, the gods spoke, “Look, you measly writer, thou shalt write daily or thou shalt die.” My motto: a day without writing is still a day without writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Nice to see you again, Maggie. Yes, I’ve withdrawn many times, though not as much on the blog because I only post once a week, sometimes twice when I’m feeling extra buoyant. I completely withdrew from Twitter and Facebook because I was just feeling overwhelmed by all the “noise”. I love all the time I recovered as a result. Do what you must, Maggie. It was lovely to hear from you again.

    Like

  14. Yes Maggie, I think recuperation time is essential to happy blogging! I love your photo at the top.
    Always good to read your posts whenever time permits!!

    Like

  15. It’s good to take a break. This should not feel like work. Maybe one day some inspiration will strike and you’ll vere off in a completely different direction, who knows? If there’s no enthusiasm, what’s the point? I’ve missed you though. Don’t stay away too long. xx

    Like

  16. I’d write. LOL But sure, I’ve taken loooonnng breaks, when I’m just not feelin it. I hope this only applies to your writing and you’re fine otherwise. Winter doldrums can’t much be avoided 😦
    I do miss you round here!
    Wishing you well, Always 🙂

    Like

  17. You’re surely not alone; there has been a lot less activity here lately. Maybe the weather, the post-holiday syndrome, or maybe just a good time to pause and reflect. I wonder too about the balance between writing and reading/commenting on other posts. Is it possible to take on too many followers ? Hard to keep up sometimes. Take care, Maggie. ☺ Van

    Like

  18. No, I haven’t felt this yet, but I understand how you could be. I still have so many things I want to write about but my quandary is whether I want to do it here or not. My original idea of what my blog would be is completely different from how it has evolved. Strange, isn’t it? And I’ve missed you, Maggie, but understand the need to take a break from anything that begins to become a bit tedious.

    Like

    • Hi Barbara – it is strange to see how a creative outcome barely reflect the original idea. Strange in a mystifying yet wondrous way. You think you’ve got a handle on things, but sometimes, things have a handle on you!

      I’m glad you understand. Thanks for stopping by to say hello.

      Like

  19. I’m glad that you haven’t disappeared off the face of this earth! You make an interesting point about reading over writing, however.

    Like

  20. Ha ha ha!!! I AM evil!!! Tagging along behind, reading all of those warm messages of reassurance…

    My turn::

    “Maggie, you lazy bum! QUIT making excuses! Get back on that horse, start that tap-dancing high-wire head-of-a-pin balancing act you do and get busy widdit!”

    Puh-leeze. JUST said to someone the other day, basically, that this much togetherness is wonderful but too much for me–I must pull back soon to regroup–a common Aspie pattern. I need this even after a long phone conversation. You have mentioned you’ve suspected you may be high-spectrum. Blog comment interaction is marvelous: Warm, witty, close, supportive, and…

    Not alone time. Everyone needs that, and anyone anywhere on the spectrum needs it more. I sure do, or my brain explodes.

    Whether Aspie or not, go cocoon, and do your Maggie time for as long as you need to. Lurk away. (while we miss you).

    –Confirmed Reddit ex-lurker here (talk about time-sucking vortices)

    Like

  21. It does get hard Maggie and you always have such a lot to offer. Take it easy on yourself!

    Like

  22. I’m with the rest of them Maggie. I’ve missed you but I understand. Reading, writing and other activity comes in waves and winter influences those patterns more than other seasons (at least for me ). I’ve got 49 emails, a pile of snow to clear and my day job. I’m leaving most of the emails until the other stuff is done but I needed to check this one. Welcome back if only for a few words here and there.

    Like

  23. Hey Maggie!!!

    If it wasn’t okay to go off and sulk by yourself, God never would have invented basements. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I did wonder where you’d been. Sometimes the writing flows and sometimes it doesn’t. The question is whether to fight it or go with it, and I’ve tried both and never answered the question to my satisfaction.

    Like

  25. Hey Maggie, welcome back! We all remember you, no need to force any hello words 😀 I’ve felt like this too, that made me stop and then start all over again.

    Like

  26. I’d also probably pick reading – because I could always comment and get my “fix” of writing that way. Sometimes maintaining a blog seems forced to me – the first year I got all freaked out if I didn’t write posts at least twice a week. Now sometimes weeks will go by before I can find the time and energy to write. My stats have plummeted, but I try not to be concerned about that.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Yes, I have felt like this. But I miss you.

    Like

  28. I’d write. Because if no one chose to write, there’d be nothing left to read. 😉

    Like

  29. I’ve been feeling the same you so perfectly describe. I had to stop notifications twice in the last few months because of travel and such, and even after getting back to a semi-regular routine I haven’t really recaptured the blogging enthusiasm I had.

    Winter-doldrums blah? Maybe. But I think that time away to recuperate, as you wrote, is really a good thing. No, it’s not rude! (At least, that’s my opinion!) 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Cindi – wonderful to hear from you. I appreciate the “maybe” qualifier for the winter blah. Sure, sure, who isn’t dragged down by cold and snow and dreary weather. But it feels more than that, doesn’t it? Thanks for stopping by to say hello! 🙂

      Like

  30. Oh absolutely. I feel like this at least 20 times per year, and you know what I do? I go MIA. I generally don’t tell anyone beforehand either. My closest friends have come to know this about me over the years- on the internet AND off. They know that I’m prone to fall off of the earth and be dead silent for months. But when it all comes down to it- we have to look after ourselves, don’t we?

    Sometimes, I withdraw from the entire world, and I won’t blog, email, call, write, text- nada. I go out in nature, or sometimes- just in my bedroom- and I sit there- as still as a stone, until I can hear God. After I’ve had my “soul rest”, I come back. I’m always better for it, so you do what you have to do, Maggie.

    Ultimately, we all reserve the right to live our lives in whichever ways that suit us best. And we don’t owe anybody an explanation. At all. Keep that in mind. ;0)

    By the way, if I were given the choice between only reading blogs or writing one- I’d definitely have to go with writing one. It’s my journal/diary/LIFE. I was doing it before there was ever 1 follower or reader. It’s my “fingerprint” that I’m leaving behind for my kids too. So they can have a “piece of Mom” that’s a whole lot more inclusive than just a pic. They can get to know me as a PERSON- and 10 or 20 years down the road, when they too are 30, or 40.

    So Mag, take the time you need! I hope you continue doing well in school. That’s totally rad that you’re continuing to plow away at it. ;0) Take care. x

    Like

  31. Good to have you back Maggie. I felt like that recently and instead of doing the sensible thing and stopping the blog until I recovered I took it out on my long suffering partner and kept on blogging. Next time I will wait, recover and then go back to blogging!

    Like

  32. Hello, Maggie! I have not been blogging often -I really do enjoy it, and I love to read other people’s blogs. . . But I just can’t figure out how to do it and still do other things I like and -alas-NEED to do! But maybe it is also partly a winter thing? I feel like I slow down and maybe that is okay. Or not! 😉 Anyway, it is good to hear from you, as always. And I think the blogging has to remain fun, or it loses something. . . 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Dixie – exactly that – it has to be fun. I know for others it is a way to market their writing and I expect that those folks program the blogging as they would any other work-related task.

      Blogging, for me, has taken on a social gathering quality and to just suddenly up and disappear feels inappropriate. But when I re-read that sentence, I cringe at the self-centeredness of it!

      Crazy, eh?

      Like

  33. Hi Maggie, blogging should be fun for you, or what is the point. I’m no good at this marketing business either, and I can’t see it changing when I actually do have something to flog! I try to catch up on a few blogs on most days, so I think if I had to choose one or the other I’d choose reading other blogs because there is so much about the world to learn.

    Lurk away to your heart’s content, dear Maggie. ❤

    Like

  34. Reading is a lot of fun, just don’t deprive us from being able to read your stories. They are worth reading.
    Keep on blogging in a free world.
    – The False Prophet

    Like

Your thoughts?

