The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Today we celebrate Maple Syrup!

It’s Maple Syrup Day? I wonder if Brandy Snaps taste good with Maple Syrup?

Bite Size Canada

Did you know that December 17 is Maple Syrup Day? How well do you know of this golden liquid? Allow me to present you with a few tidbits of information.

Picture of a bottle of maple syrup from Quebec, Canada Bottle of maple syrup from Quebec, Canada.

  • Though it can vary depending on the weather, the sap is collected between February and April.
  • Quebec produces 91% of Canada’s pure maple syrup. With Ontario, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia, that makes up 71% of the world’s supply. New York and New England states also produce a large measure of maple syrup.
  • There are more than 8,600 maple syrup businesses in Canada. The Federation of Quebec Maple Syrup (FPAQ) ensures the economic, social and ethical interests for the more than 7,400 maple businesses in Quebec.
  • Collecting sap from maple trees is regulated, in part, by the International Maple Syrup Institute (to promote the use of pure maple syrup and…

View original post 343 more words

Categories: Canadiana

Tags: ,

23 replies

  1. As I told the author, I consider every day Maple Syrup Day. Is there a 12-step program or support group for maple addicts? Never mind, I wouldn’t want to be cured. Unless, like some specially good kinds of bacon, I could be cured in maple syrup. MMMMMaple.
    ❀
    Kathryn

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Everything tastes better with maple syrup! πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Wow – I didn’t know but I had pancakes for breakfast.

    Like

  4. Kathryn said it before me. I live with a French Canadian … I thought every day was maple syrup day πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Two words for this thread: Maple Whiskey πŸ™‚ That’ll kick up those pancakes, waffles & ice cream, brandy snaps or just indulge as is straight up. But don’t take my word for it, I wouldn’t want to encourage you to need a 12 step program or anything πŸ˜‰

    Like

  6. Maple syrup is one of life’s great pleasures! And a little bit drizzled over Brussels sprouts as they sautΓ© = heaven.

    Like

  7. I wondered whee Maple syrup came from.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I wondered where Maple syrup came from.

    Like

  9. Wow, I had no idea it came from the trees! Must try some.

    Like

Your thoughts?

