The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Cee’s Odd Ball Challenge: Week 41

If you live in our neck of the woods, that is, in the northern hemisphere, you may have seen this meme in your social media feed.

I may not get the cultural reference, but I can tell you: it's apt.

I may not get the cultural reference, but I can tell you: it’s apt.

So far this autumn, it’s been a roller coast ride, weather-wise. Rudolph-with-your-nose-so-bright kind of foggy/soggy one day, a good dump of snow the next, and clear and frigid on the day after that. This weekend, the weather was of the reindeer variety. Reiner and I took advantage of the thaw to hike through the woods behind the house.

I kept my eyes on my feet because much of the trail was slick with mud. That’s why I spotted the unusual pattern on a piece of bark that lay on the path.

According to the resident bug-geek, Reiner tells me that tiny beetles chewed the grooves in the layer just below the surface of the tree. You can see the pin-holes where they gnawed their way in and out of the bark.

IMG_3174 IMG_3180 IMG_3171 IMG_3177

Inspired by Cee’s Odd Ball Challenge:  Week 41

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: ,

58 replies

  1. It’s a warm squishy day in Minnesota too, an almost unheard of 50F in December. I keep my eye on the ground too because I’ve yet to train Scooter to do his business in the same spot.

    Like

  2. these look like jigsaw puzzle pieces–love ’em!

    Like

  3. I love the texture of the underside … all those ridges!

    Like

  4. Dandy dendrites, I’m lichen it 😉 Even those beetle burrows look dendritic. Hmmm….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beetle-eautiful 😊. Or beetle-iscious 😍. I love thes – can’t resist collecting the odd piece of bark myself (after lookin closely for creepy critters).

    Like

    • ❤ (afraid I don't have access to fancier emoji)

      When I was taking the photos all these little "crumbs" kept falling off the bark. Plugs of botanical stuff? Bug poops? Bugs? I didn't think about it too much. But yeah. Better watch out, as the seasonal saying goes.

      Like

      • i have no idea why my computer lets me ’emoje’ one day and not the next. Or with a smiley but not a heart!

        Speaking of those ‘crumbs’ – we laugh about my niece, back when she was 3, discovering deer ‘beans’ on the forest trail. “But Mom, how do they make them so round?”

        Hope you are doing well, Maggie. I’m sending warm Christmas hugs!

        Like

  6. Loving the underside shots – so much texture – so much pattern.

    Impressive how nature makes such beauty without the hand of man.

    Wisconsin, too, is having its fair share of yo-yo weather. We’ve had a few snow accumulations, really cold days, and now – middle of December – we’re supposed to be in the 50’s tomorrow.

    Like

  7. The bottom one looks like the front half of a Komodo Dragon. I wonder his rear end went.

    Like

  8. Brief post but very interesting to me. Back in college one of the subjects I took was crop protection, which was divided in three parts. My fave was entomology 🙂 Oh, and I like the quality of your photos 🙂

    Like

  9. I like the inside better too – bit like mushroom gills. British weather is just generally depressing at this time of year, not cold enough to be dramatic and the sky mostly looks like sodden cotton wool.

    Like

  10. When I saw the teaser photo from the Reader, I thought it was some sort of chocolate. Not quite :p

    Like

  11. I love this, Maggie. I have a pecan tree, an unproductive one I might add, that is beautifully ringed with sapsucker holes. Really, it is so beautiful, just like your bark. You might be interested to know that I have bits of bark, moss, and lichen here and there all over my house much to the chagrin of certain more “decorous” friends. I think of these items as nature’s gifts of sculpture.

    Like

  12. It has been awhile. I adore what you came up with for odd balls. Wonderful entry!

    Like

  13. I really like your oddballs.

    janet

    Like

  14. Great pics, Maggie. I especially like the wood. I’m really popping in for a brief moment to congratulate you (again) on finishing up your fall semester. 🙂 I just finished up myself a few days ago and let me tell you- I’ve never been happier! Are you planning on returning in the spring? If so, good luck! I’m down for a good two years. (We old farts have to take it easy…heheh…) x

    Like

    • Hey there, thanks! Yes, I’m in “getter done” mode. I’ve stretched a two-year course into three and I am ready for it to be over and done with. But will I put my diploma to use afterward? At the moment, I’m doubtful. So my motivation has diminished.

      Your excitement and enthusiasm just jumps off the page, I must tell you. This must be a good choice for you to feel so happy. Best wishes, and please, do stay in touch. One old fart to another! 😉

      Like

  15. Fabulous shots of a beautiful find! 😀

    Like

  16. Looks like the mesquites we have out here. Love the idea of pressing it on paper.

    Like

  17. Congratulations! I have chosen this post to be featured on Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge.
    http://ceenphotography.com/2014/12/21/cees-odd-ball-photo-challenge-week-42/
    I hope you have great week!

    Like

  18. Congrats, Maggie!! No need to tell Reiner that HE won.. 🙂

    Like

  19. Great shots

    Like

  20. Only you, Maggie. I think I have to make every post a big production, whereas you take a bit of muck that stuck to your boot on a bleary day, snap a couple of (excellent) pics, write a few (always well-written) paragraphs, and Jane’s-your-aunt!: Another terrific Maggie post!

    Bark. For heaven’s sakes. You drive me crazy. 😉

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge: Week 42 | Cee's Photography
  2. Cee’s Weekly Wrap Up – December 27, 2014 and New Photos | Cee's Photography

Your thoughts?

