The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Chocolate Beet Cupcakes

What do you do with one lonely and leftover cooked beet? Here’s what!

The Federation of Women's Institutes of Canada

My hubby bought one of those large sacks of beets from the grocers a couple of weeks back.  He boils up a huge dutch oven-full and then slices and fries up one or two for breakfast every morning  until they’re used up.

One lonely beet remained in the fridge for a couple of days.

I like beets well enough, but … well, there’s a but. I don’t know why, but beets don’t hit my radar when it comes to meal planning. Today,  I decided to change things up. Today, I made chocolate beet cupcakes. Dessert is part of the meal, right?

Silly, of course it is!

I modified this vegan recipe to use what I had in the cupboard. It took only 45 minutes to prepare and bake. Of course, if you don’t have a beet-eating hubby, you’ll have to factor in the additional time to cook the beets. Can’t wait for hubby to boil up another…

View original post 362 more words

Categories: Uncategorized

17 replies

  1. Yum!!

    I have a version of a chocolate beet cake that has become my new to-go favourite. It’s rich, dense, and totally decadent. Then of course I like to add cream cheese icing … just because everything is better with cream cheese icing 😉

    Gives me a reason to make beets … 🙂

    Like

  2. ooh, [drool] cream cheese… imagine me staring at you like Theo does… 😉

    Like

  3. I like the … the … innovativenes ! [grin]

    Like

  4. This sounds pretty yummy to me!

    Like

  5. This is the second recipe for chocolate beet something I’ve seen recently. I sent this to my wife.

    Like

  6. I used beetroot in a chocolate cake and told the children after they’d eaten it! It was delicious!! If I’d told them in the beginning they wouldn’t have eaten it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I did try one beetroot chocolate recipe, but it used raw grated beets, which stayed crunchy. I don’t recommend it. Your recipe looks like a major improvement.

    I love beets, but after I cook them the kitchen looks like I just slaughtered a pig, so they’re not on the list of things I cook often.

    Like

  8. I can’t say that that sounds good. Creative though.

    Like

Your thoughts?

