The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Mint

Annabergite_003

Annabergite_006

Look! Out in the yard!

It’s a bird!

It’s a blob!

It’s… it’s… what the heck is it?

It’s a 20.5 x 13 x 13 cm plasticine-like mass of annabergite – the weathering product of nickeline and rammelsbergite found at the Bellellen Mine, Cobalt-Gowganda region,Ontario, Canada. The mine stopped production in 1917. This hunk was found buried in the dumps October 2010.

***

Me: Honey? Remember that great honkin’ mass of annabergite clay we had? What did you do with it?

He: I gave half to Tim and the other half to Chris.

Me: Let me guess. Tim wanted it because it’s big and weird, and Chris was going to use it for pigment, right?

He: …and because it was big and weird.

***

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells’ One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: It's a Hobby, Mineral Collecting

Tags: , , , , ,

53 replies

  1. I knew–I mean I just KNEW that last picture was pie!! I sure hope big and weird Chris didn’t think the same….

    Like

  2. Ha ha ha ha Yeah, i wondered what the heck that was! Thought maybe foam insulation was leaking out of your house OR you were shooting over the counter down into the gallon container of mint cranberry bubblegum ice cream at the ice cream shop 🙂

    Like

  3. I thought some kind of huge vat of icing, but on the other hand knew it must be something mineral-ish. Big and weird is cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like a glob of plaster.

    Like

  5. Now this is strange looking. I would have taken a chunk just because it’s big and weird too. Does definitely look edible and minty, you sure it’s not? 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I was going to guess cheese.

    Like

  7. I’m all disappointed because I thought it looked like chocolate mint ice cream with chunks of cherry.

    Now I really want some.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Now that is some kind of pie. I was just thinking I would be on the backporch with a piece of that pie and a mint julep and looking over at the magnolias, y’all. Thinking ain’t life good.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Chocolate chip mint ice cream. Yummy.

    Like

  10. ha – very fun – and nice for the color mint! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Sure! If you want it to be pie, it’s pie!

        Like

        • well I have been using some clay lately for skin and for inner cleansing – and the finn thing is I have not seen any mount green. I have french green – which is dark! I also have french red – and then found an assortment of benotonites – but creamy or white – and so I am even more curious about this minty green mineral rich mass of mineral rich clay – bet it is loaded with cool stuff – maybe impurities too – because I know that for clay to be consumed internally it has to be cleaned – and sonne’s removes the mica and not sure what “redmond” clay does but it is also safe.

          anyhow, the bottom photo really does like mint chocolate chip ice cream pie!

          Like

          • You are most correct – it is full of plenty of goodies. Annabergite is the weathering product of nickel arsenides, and the pink is erythrite, the weathering product of cobalt arsenisdes. Pretty, yes, but maybe not the best candidate for skin application.

            Like

  11. Yep, another vote for icecream here.

    Like

  12. I was going to say, it looks like a bunch of fondant icing, but I knew better. I love the color and texture!

    Like

  13. Beautiful color and texture! I thought it was a new form of blue cheese!

    Sherry

    Like

  14. It looks like Mint ice cream cake. Why do your posts always make me think of food?! xx

    Like

  15. Sure does remind me of a mint milkshake !!! – and that’s an amazingly long time ago. 🙂

    Like

  16. Such interesting stuff. I’d really like to touch it. What does it feel like outside and inside? Laugh aloud last line as well.

    Like

  17. I can’t believe you sliced that rock with a knife.

    Like

  18. Good grief, I’m glad we don’t all live next door to each other, since it seems you have instigated a universal run on mint-chip ice cream!!! [Heads for door, shouting over shoulder…] What cool clay, though, too! Wonder if it could be sculpted and fired in a kiln. Mmmmmmm….

    Like

    • I don’t know about the sculpting part, but Chris, one of the guys mentioned in the post is an iconographer. He paints religious artifacts using only the materials that would have been on hand centuries ago, including rocks and minerals like this annabergite. Here’s a link to a work of his called St Barbara of Cobalt. (St Barbara is the patron saint of miners.) Chris used exactly this material to manufacture the pigment.

      Like

      • Thank you for the link! Really fascinating work he’s doing. I can see that I’m going to learn a lot from his blog, too. 🙂

        Whether your annabergite clay would be sculpt-able or not, it’s much more exotic, and therefore appealing, to me than the local north Texas red clay. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  19. I thought it was a slime mold. But I’m from Oregon where slime molds grow big enough to take down an apartment complex or run for governor.

    Great post!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge – Mint | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. One Word Photo Challenge: Chocolate | Jennifer Nichole Wells
  3. One Liner Wednesday October 22, 2014 | The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

