The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Mustard

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

OK – I’m taking huge liberties with this blog challenge. My take on “mustard” is this honey-mustard or Grey Poupon mustard-coloured calcite specimen. It is an example of a speleothem – or cave calcite. The layered portions are similar to onyx and the bubbly, blobby bits are popcorn calcite. We found this in a tufa outcrop along a river near our home. The spring runoff of 2008 eroded away a great mass of the tufa. Exposed were several cavities at the interface of a calcite-cemented conglomerate unit and the tufa unit. The pieces we found were broken off and lying in the rubble at the base of the damaged tufa outcrop.

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells’ One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: Blog Blog Blog, Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , , ,

49 replies

  1. Neat! When I saw the pictures in the Reader, the first thing that came to me was apple pie.

    Like

  2. I thought, toffee covered walnuts…

    Like

  3. Yeah – looks like something I would buy in a bakery when I needed a treat! Great shots Maggie.

    Like

  4. What?!? The first thing I thought was “Brains!” Very cool, by the way.

    Like

  5. I think this is cool! It also reminds me of caramel popcorn. 🙂

    Like

  6. Rice Crispie Squares or Cinder Toffee….your posts always make me hungry!! xx

    Like

  7. Looks like the iceberg the Titanic hit. Since I was there, I ought to know.

    Like

  8. I love the pictures you find for these prompts. This is beautiful.

    Like

  9. It is very interesting looking. Really looks like some sort of caramel or toffee from the top. Amazing what’s out there 🙂

    Like

  10. I’d thought it was a walnut. But I prefer walnuts to mustard and rocks, so it was just wishful thinking. scuttles to the kitchen

    Like

  11. … and I thought I was unique in thinking it looked like pastry. sigh I’m not so unique at all … but now I want some apple pie, or sponge toffee 😉

    Like

  12. I too thought food – vanilla fudge or sponge toffee gone terribly wrong. Then I read the description and thought perhaps there had been an interplanetary invasion by the new and very avant garde Tufa Conglomerate whose weapon of choice was caramelized brains. Did I tell you I’m withdrawing from caffeine?

    Like

    • OK. Honey. I’m so sorry to hear your news! Caffeine withdrawal is nothing to be sneezed at! I admire you stepping up and cutting out caffeine. It’s been on my list of things to do for several years. I hope the transition is speedy and as pain-free as possible!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. That’s another rock we’d love to have in our collection. When I think of mustard, I think of avocado, the 50s and colors that I never want to see in a house again.

    Like

  14. I thought it was slow-roasted peanut butter 🙂

    Sorry you hurt your back 😦

    Like

  15. I thought peanut brittle! So, you are taking huge liberties–what a surprise! 🙂 So good to see you in the middle of the week. School’s going well?

    Like

  16. Whatever. It still looks like caramel fudge. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Fascinating, and wonderful detailed photography!

    “… bubbly, blobby bits are popcorn calcite” is such a perfect description.

    And combining several comments above, I think it looks like caramel fudge-covered-popcorn-and-peanuts: an exotic version of Cracker Jack!

    Like

    • Thank you Cindi! I am particularly taken by the layers. When this stuff occurs in larger quantities, it is quarried and cut for flooring or counter tops. It’s cool to see it in the “raw”, so to speak.

      (I need to talk all scientific and such because if I paid close attention to your comments I’d start to drool all over the keyboard. 😉 )

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Why do I always see things when looking at your pics – reminds me of a melting violet crumble that someone has licked the chocolate off. 😀

    Like

  19. My Iphone won’t let me see the slideshow–am STILL real computerless (!)–just wanted to say what I can see looks rather beautiful, to me, and wanted to add in response to Don’s Titanic remark:

    Hahahaha!!

    Like

  20. Well, sorry to add, I thought of caramelised walnuts! Food is definitely to the fore. Such amazing finds!
    You must have them stored in a very orderly way so that you can put your hands on the relevant coloured specimen.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Fuchsia | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

