The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Carmine

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A crystal fragment of Villiaumite from Koashva Mt, Russia
1.8 x 1.7 x 0.7 cm

Chemical make-up: NaF – or sodium fluoride. Sound familiar?

CrestFluoride

Not to be confused with this Carmine

Not to be confused with this Carmine

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells’ One Word Photo Challenge

A warning to minerals collectors from the Villiaumite page on Mindat:

Poisonous! Fluoride ion in water-soluble form is what makes this mineral highly toxic. Its availability in macrospecimens, and the attractive colour, might lure small children into tasting it. May be fatal if swallowed or inhaled. Affects respiratory system, heart, skeleton, circulatory system, central nervous system and kidneys. Causes irritation to skin, eyes and respiratory tract. Irritation effects may be delayed.
Wash hands after handling; do not generate dust by grinding or sawing; and keep out of reach of small children.
Oral ld50 close to 50mg/kg (52 in rat, 57 in mouse).

Categories: Mineral Collecting

Tags: , , , ,

38 replies

  1. Pretty!

    So, I got addicted to Pinterest recently (long story, but I held out forever) and last night put a chart of the chemical compositions for birthstones on my board…thing. 🙂

    In other words, I love these segments 🙂

    Like

  2. Is it just me, or does that stone look like a chunk of jello?
    I know you said it was toxic and everything, but I just want to eat that 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Jello, or maybe more like that cranberry roll everybody serves at Thanksgiving in the US.

    Pretty color and I’ve always thought “Carmine” an exotic name.

    Are you saying toothpaste in massive doses would be poisonous??

    Like

  4. So that’s what we rub on our teeth huh? It sure is pretty, and I definitely see the jello chunk that Joanne mentions. Pertinent warning then I suppose 🙂 In any case, lovely post as always and thank you for sharing!

    Like

  5. I always love your rocks and minerals.

    Like

  6. Reminds me of the spaceship that came and tried to abduct me in 1984. The aliens told me that Ronald Reagan was going to be re-elected and that I should get over it. Then they ejected me from their space craft because I was not worthy to be used for their experiment. Seems that I come from a long line of serfs. They only wanted the reincarnates who were Cleopatra, Julius Caesar, Nero, Alexandra, Moses, Nefertiti, Joan of Arc. You know those kind of people. So if you come from serfs or are still a serf or surfer, you have nothing to worry from alien abduction. So, dude, go forth and let your dudeness prosper. And always remember, The Dude abideth.

    Like

  7. Let me urge you to join WordPress’s campaign for internet neutrality. Thanks.
    http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2014/09/09/fight-for-net-neutrality/

    Liked by 1 person

  8. That is one gorgeous (though apparently deadly) rock!

    Like

  9. So translucent and beautiful Maggie!

    Like

  10. I do so love your minerals collection, Maggie. As you know. 🙂 But this beauty might be one of the most striking … not sure. Basically, they’re ALL gorgeous.

    Like

  11. This is why I like you so much, Maggie, one post containing a gorgeous hunk of mineral, toothpaste, and Carmine Ragusa. So awesome.

    Like

  12. It does look like jello. Am I hungry? I might be hungry.

    Like

  13. Thanks for posting the warning on this beautiful crystal. Think maybe I’ll go back to brushing my teeth with baking soda.

    Like

  14. So, you’re saying that even though it’s really purty and full of good old fluoride, I shouldn’t have been brushing my teeth with it all these years??? 😉

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Carmine | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. One Word Photo Challenge: Cerulean | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

