The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World – 2014 Week 36

Do you prefer reading coffee table books (picture), biographies, fiction, non-fiction, educational?

I’ve bought my fair share of coffee table books – natural subjects like horses or wildlife paintings by Robert Bateman, for example. These have long ago been donated to second-hand shops. Ditto the entire suite of Calvin and Hobbes collections. That I regret, sort of. It was during a period of purging, lightening the load. I kept a promise that if I moved a cardboard box from one household to another more than three times without unpacking the carton, it meant that I didn’t need the contents. In the grand scheme of things, all true. But still…

What I mainly read these days is whatever grabs my fancy on the “New Arrivals” shelf at the library. Mostly fiction, mostly written by Canadian women. If I find an author I like, I will read their entire body of work, usually in chronological order. Last summer I read everything the library had available by Mary Roach. The year before, Lynn Coady was the go-to author. This year, I haven’t read nearly as much, since I’ve been occupied with the blogs. Currently I’m halfway through All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews.

What is your biggest fear or phobia? (no photos please)

Losing my independence and ending up in an old folks home.

What is your favorite cheese?

When I’m asked to select the cheese for my veggie sub, I order Swiss. But my all-time favourite cheese is Wensleydale. I’ve never tried it, and will likely never have the chance. I first learned of the variety of English cheese from Nick Park’s A Grand Day Out, a wonderfully sweet and funny Claymation. Wallace and Gromit are out of cheese so they build a rocket to take them to the moon, because everyone knows the moon is THE vacation destination for cheese lovers!

 

Wensleydale?

Wensleydale?

What is your favorite month of the year?

I’m going to copy Jeannette.  Her favourite is Octovember. Mine is Septober. Right now is pretty darn nice, actually. I love the transition between seasons. From summer to fall is best, though winter into spring is mighty fine, too. Especially if the winter is challenging like last year’s.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

School got off to a slow start. I had only one assignment to complete and one online lecture to attend. The assignment was an invitation to “tell us a bit about yourself.” OK, but you’ll have to twist my arm.

This Friday is girls’ night out. Looking forward to seeing my friend Karen and the other gals.

Inspired by Cee’s Share Your World

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

46 replies

  1. Junetember for me :-).

    I kept a few coffee table books and have a ledge by my front door. I rotate them, keeping one there for a few weeks and turning a page or two to pretty pictures each morning when I open door to hang our flag.

    My nephew was a HUGE Calvin fan 🙂

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing. Love our Septober 🙂

    Like

  3. Thanks for the shoutout! I would have said Septober, except it still can be pretty humid for the next few weeks here. Better safe than sorry!

    I so love Nick Park animations 🙂

    Like

  4. All books depending on time and place but usually fiction; I’d be happy with a good piece of Wensleydale and April (if no one else wants it) will suit me very nicely.

    Like

  5. “Calvin and Hobbes” books would be hard for me to part with. It was my Dad’s favorite and mine. Wallace and Gromit is another favorite. I have several of their movies. Not sure if I’d love a chunk of Wensleydale cheese, but I do enjoy their antics. 😉

    Like

  6. When Wallace and Gromit were really big, you could collect the figurines in a particular brand of cereal. So have have Wallace, Gromit, Shaun and Wendolene sitting on my kitchen shelf. Love Calvin and Hobbs. My son has a t-shirt with Gandalf and Frodo done in Calvin and Hobbes style. One day i will steal it.

    Like

  7. Any month or day that’s warm and not windy is my month. Sure am glad you weren’t inundated with school work and could still post. ♥

    Like

  8. Hi Maggie, I had a beaut time catching up on your blog. Can’t get over that 3 metre square patch of flowering stuff appearing – that’s huge! Loved the minerals, of course. And the memories you provoked talking of the bookmobile. My childhood writing effort was about a grass-seed! Happy schooling! 😀

    Like

  9. well I know what you mean by purging books and then later missing some – same here.
    and have a fun girl’s night out – 🙂

    Like

    • Hello YP – thanks for stopping by to read and comment!

      I did the purge thing with books once before, and I still am puzzled as to why. I got rid of all of my highschool yearbooks. I burned them in a bon fire. I think it may have been an act of defiance or “shedding of my youthful ways” ritual. I regret that move. It was immature and impulsive.

      Like

  10. These “Share Your World” posts are excellent. What a fun way to get to know you a bit, Maggie. I am in a reading rut at the moment, and it’s bothering me. Two half-finished books residing on the Kindle and one looking up at me in a scolding manner from the coffee table. Perhaps if I stopped logging into WordPress??

    Like

  11. What will you do or where will you go on Girl’s Night Out? Hmm? And I like the month combos – – quite a bit like my 3 in 1 Holiday combo idea, eh? So now the veggie sub….what kinda bread??

    Like

  12. Love Mary Roach! She is a crack-up! Had forgotten about her…Thanks for reminding me 🙂

    Your greatest fear makes sense for anyone, but even more so for brilliant, multi-tasking, strong-minded (circus ring-leader) independent Maggie.

    I say, be ready to move to Assisted Dying states or nations. With the increasing lack of respect for the aged, and reduced funds available for any but the robber barons, it’s a sure bet that a reason of “I’m old” will soon be considered adequate cause to take your own life.

    should do some “cherry-pickings” posts based on her books.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Typing one-fingered on my me-phone–hit enter prematurely there before editing that…whoops. Sorry. Pretty grim–hadn’t decided if was gonna send, and clearly didn’t intend the floating lines at the end :0

    Like

  14. I love that you love a cheese you’ve never tried and a month that doesn’t exist! hahaha

    Like

  15. Wensleydale, lol! As far as cheese goes, it’s a bit bland, but the texture is pleasantly crumbly. Combines well with something sweet, like cranberry or quince jelly. I’m forever smuggling cheese into the US on my visits… my friends have acquired tastes… have never been caught… yet 😉

    Like

  16. No, no, no, no. It has to be Caerphilly cheese. There is nothing to rival it (because I was born there). I have a Wallace and Gromit T-shirt. Brilliant.

    Like

    • I recognize the name Caerphilly only because the Wikipedia entry for Wensleydale suggests the taste is similar. That’s another to add to my list of cheeses I have yet to taste.

      I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard as I did watching A Grand Day Out. Thanks for stopping by Andrew!

      Like

  17. Of all the things I have ever purged, donated or garage saled books have been the hardest for me to let go of. When university was finished I kept the handful of books that I found interesting or could put to use later, then sold the rest back to the book store in a small effort to reclaim some finances. All of that said, I will read just about anything. And I remember the popularity of Calvin and Hobbes!
    Wallace and Gromit are wonderful and sweet, like you said. I wonder what cheese was being served on last night’s super harvest moon…

    Like

    • I am more cautious about letting books go these days. I do re-read stories, so that’s part of it. But I’ve learned from the mistake I made with Calvin and Hobbes.

      I completely lost track of the full moon this month. That explains the insomnia!

      Like

      • Oh no – it was lovely, but as with most super, harvest or super harvest moons you get the best view at the beginning of the rise so we only managed a wee glimpse.
        I wish it explained my insomia! LOL.

        Like

  18. I own only one coffee table book, “One Hundred Years of American Painting” and it doesn’t even live on the coffee table — Am I okay?

    Like

Your thoughts?

