The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World – 2014 Week 35

Have your blogging goals changed?

In a word, yes. Back to school, you know. Regretfully, I must severely limit my reading, my writing, and my engagement with you. Already the anxiety level has crept up a notch or two as I begin my school work and all of the admin work required. Lots of self talk and deep breathing for me until I regain the student’s daily rhythm. As it turns out, September is one of our busier months for mineral shows, too, so I’ll be exercising my time management skills.

Trapeze artists in circus, lithograph by Calvert Litho. Co., 1890.

Trapeze artists in circus, lithograph by Calvert Litho. Co., 1890.

If you were to perform in the circus, what would you do?

Since I’m not an athlete, horseback acrobatics are out. As is the flying trapeze. Animal acts aren’t something I’m comfortable supporting. Clowns are fun, but… really, I want the ringleader’s job.

If you could go back and talk to yourself at age 18 what advice would you give yourself?  Or if you are younger than 25 what words of wisdom would you like to tell yourself at age 45?

Oh, I know, all the steps I made led to where I am today, and I’m happy, so what’s to change? That’s usually what I say to questions like this. But today, I’ll take a different tack and tell my 18 year-old self to stay in school. Find a way to overcome the resistance to attend university. Teach. Like you wanted to since you were in grade school. Sure, by the time you retired, you are burnt out and dismayed with education policies. But you followed through on your desire.

What is your favorite comfort snack food?

PCCappuccinoFrozenYogurtENIce cream. Frozen yogurt, to be exact.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

We had a great weekend up north, collecting minerals at Silver Centre – a ghost town now, but in the early 1900’s it was a booming mine town. Reiner would like to move to the area. Initially I resisted the idea, but now, after a 9-hour drive home, hitting the main highways at rush hour in a rainstorm… yeah, living nearby has its appeal. But I don’t know if I have another move in me. That said, I saw a couple of very attractive waterfront homes for sale…

Edgewater Motel

Sunrise at the Edgewater Motel, Haileybury, Ontario

This week, I’ll be happy if I manage to remain composed about the course-work hiccups I know I will encounter. Already have found a few. One step forward, two back kind of deal. Fingers crossed.

***   ***   ***

 Inspired by Cee’s Share Your World

 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: ,

43 replies

  1. All the best with school! I’ll miss the posts, but keep up when you can!

    Like

  2. My little one went out in the world today, starting school for the first time sniffle and like him, I hope your year is full of wonder. And growth. Bests for a great start.

    Like

    • Ah, this is a very special day for you! Such a mixed bag of feelings, yes? Thanks for the well wishes. This is the last year of a three year program. (Well, two years – I chose to go part time). I’m so looking forward to the end!

      Like

  3. Thanks so much for participating. I’m thrilled you took the time to participate.

    Like

  4. Ahhh, now I see why I haven’t seen you! Was just about to shoot you an “are you ok” email.

    Hang in there – you are right about September, but you will regain your equilibrium.

    Texas trip went well. Thanks, as always, for your support. You know where to find me if you need to borrow my “panic” button 🙂

    Like

  5. I left school early and then went back when I was already almost old… a tough decision, but I’ve never regretted it. I now make a full-time living by writing, which I never thought possible, and which wasn’t even the objective when I re-entered full-time education. Not that I believe in fate, but…!

    Go for it!

    Like

  6. Of course you want to be a ringleader! Was there any doubt? 😉
    … and I’ll some some frozen yogurt too. Black Cherry – preferably with chocolate chunks in it, please.

    Good luck making the leap back to school. If you need a distraction, you know how to find me 😉

    Like

  7. All the best with school, Maggie. We will wait for whatever posts you can manage; it’s about quality, not quantity anyway. Good luck!

    Like

  8. Well heck. I just found you and am bummed that you won’t be posting as much. I really enjoyed them.

    Like

  9. Hope things go swimmingly for you! Every time I think about going back to school I lie down till it goes away.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Your first paragraph does make it sound like you ARE a bit of a ringleader!

    Like

  11. So glad to hear you are OK, Maggie. I missed you! More power to you with school. I should have stayed in when I was younger, I guess, but me and it just did not get along. As ringleader, please be sure to keep the teacher in her place. I could so see you doing that! 🙂

    Like

  12. Good luck (not that you really need it), and I’ll miss you.

    Like

  13. I went back when I was 51. Everyone else was 21-22. It was lonely. And hard. But oh! Did it change my life! Go for it, and don’t look back! 🙂

    Like

  14. My goal: I blog to keep the pod people away. Nanu nanu.
    Perform in a circus: do I have to tell you? You ought to know which one I am.
    18 huh: Always wear a condom.
    My younger than 25 to my older than 45: Always wear condom.
    My favorite snack food: Ice cream,of course. Only maple fudge beats ice cream.
    What am I grateful for? That you allow me to comment such idiocy on your post.

    Like

  15. I miss you already! Good luck, Maggie Mae, but you shan’t need it. So let me get one thing straight – – you pick a comfort food, it can be anything you want, right? Calories/fat are unimportant in this prioritizing. And you pick frozen yogurt over ice-cream??

    Like

  16. You are a busy woman! Life is good that way, though, isn’t it.

    Like

  17. Am catching up on your posts backward, and THIS is you posting LESS? Hahahahaha!!!
    Guess that means school has been going well–not that I doubted it would 🙂

    Like

  18. Extra fingers crossed on your behalf. 🙂

    Like

Your thoughts?

