The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Livid

plumbogummite 2582_001 plumbogummite 2582_002

Plumbogummite from Yangshuo Mine, China

3.0 x 2.7 x 1.0 cm

The mineral is named from the Latin “plumbum” for lead, and “gummi” for gum, in allusion to its lead content and appearance at times as drops or coatings of gum.

What I learned today? That livid means

The things I learn on social media.

The things I learn on social media.

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wellsโ€™ One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: It's a Hobby, Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , , ,

39 replies

  1. This is so beautiful! I just love the colors and the shine. I could stare at that first picture forever.

    Like

  2. Old blind guy here. At first glance, I thought the first one was a watercolor gorilla.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That’s a surprisingly pleasing view of the word ‘livid’ – nicely done.

    Like

  4. I love that colour of blue! Beautiful.
    … and I can think of some creative ways to use the word ‘plumbum’ … especially knowing its association to the word ‘lead’ ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. Yes, I’ve read of “livid” as in a bruise. This livid hunk of mineral is just beyond beautiful!! You are introducing me to a whole new world of beauty.

    Like

  6. I plumb thought you made up that word, so I googled it. It’s in the dictionary, but their picture isn’t as pretty as yours.

    Like

  7. Wow, due to my complexion, these definitions mean that I am almost always livid in one way or another. Never you mind the temper, lol!

    Like

  8. This mineral is just beautiful. But who knew ‘livid’ encompassed so many colors?! I thought it just meant your were totally ticked off! Learn something new every day.

    Like

  9. I thought it was a blurry gorilla, too, and made a note to get my eyes checked ๐Ÿ™‚

    Nah; just messin’ with ya.

    But plumbogummite DOes sound like a Dr. Seuss character.

    And I’m just LIVID that I don’t have enough creativity to pen a Seuss-ian ditty. And also realized (duh) that all those crime shows I watch that talk about “lividity” are talking about the LIVID BLUE COLOR!!!

    (Can you tell it’s gin & tonic night? Did I just say that out loud??)

    Like

  10. Perfect ! – and as mesmerising as ever, Maggie …

    Rather strange …

    Like

  11. I look forward to anything you post, this one is great – not only for the word bit but what a gorgeous specimen that mineral is! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • Thank you kindly for saying so!
      Hey, how was the first day of school?

      Like

      • He had a grand time (and we the parents also faired okay!). Thanks for asking – they are doing an easy transition for the wee ones, now that kindergarten is the entire day. We did a one hour meet and greet on Tuesday, he attended for the full day yesterday with half of the class, home today, then back tomorrow for the official first day (with the whole class). Phew. โ˜บ

        Liked by 1 person

  12. I was quite surprised at the definition, so I poked for just a moment. The word comes from the Latin for black-and-blue, or bruised, and originally meant grayish in color. So without researching it in an O.E.D., my guess is that all the rest has likely come from folks misinterpreting its meaning from context, when writers or speakers described someone when furious–i.e. they assumed it meant pale, pink, red, furious, etc. Over time, these “bleeds” become alternate meanings for words.

    The gum even threw me for just a sec until I realized it was plant sap!

    Thanks for making me think, Maggie. And an interesting ROCK (heh, heh), with a great name. Betcha can’t say it ten times fast.

    Like

  13. Another ingenious interpretation and explication of a word through mineral language!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Carmine | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

