The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World Week 34

What is your favorite smell? What memory does it remind you of?

Today’s freshly brewed coffee is my favourite smell. It reminds me of yesterday’s freshly brewed coffee.

Name a song or two which are included on the soundtrack to your life?

Mark Knopler’s Old Pigweed from his Ragpicker’s Dream albumI blasted that music when I drove anywhere after the breakup with The One. Another Knopfler favourite is the theme from Local Hero. I love the movie. If you haven’t seen it, do. Especially if you are Doctor Who fan. It features a very youthful Peter Capaldi.

Do you play video/computer game?  Which one(s) or most recent? 

Do I play computer games? Well, then, I suppose I best direct you to my About Me page. There you will learn all about why I started this blog.

Which of Snow White’s 7 dwarfs describes you best?  Plus what would the 8th dwarf’s name be? (Doc, Happy, Bashful, Sleepy, Sneezy, Grumpy, Dopey)

Grumpy until I get my freshly brewed coffee.  The 8th dwarf? Hm. Bernadette? Yes, Bernadette. Bernie for short. Because: hot flashes.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Along the trail to Sherman Falls

Along the trail to Sherman Falls – click for the full effect – this is a vertical panorama

This spring and summer, Reiner and I have fallen into the habit of driving to Dundas or Ancaster on Sunday to eat breakfast and then hike along one of the hundreds of trails in the region. We try to get out early before the crowds, while it is still cool. This past Sunday we were out early, but not before some other like-minded souls got in ahead of us.

Sherman Falls

Sherman Falls

Our first stop was Sherman Falls. As we hiked in, we bickered with one another about how to operate the new camera. That’s when I noticed a gentleman seated at the base of Sherman Falls. He was sketching the scene. Sorry, sir, didn’t mean to disturb your serenity.

After we left the falls, we drove to the Heritage Trail opposite the Old Mill in the historic centre of Ancaster. This trail led to Canterbury Falls. The woods were hushed and still. No breeze, no bugs, no birds. No bickering either, I am pleased to report. As we approached the falls, I could hear music, but couldn’t make out the instrument. A coronet? Violin? Yes, it was a violin!

There, on the bridge that spanned the cascade was a chap playing a haunting melody on his fiddle. It was rather enchanting. It was also a bit like stumbling upon a couple passionately engaged. We whispered to ourselves, “The falls are pretty. Let’s go.” After a few paces, Reiner said, “That was a privilege.”

I’m grateful we had the chance to redeem ourselves.

This weekend, the Labour Day long weekend here in Ontario, we are traveling to Cobalt to collect minerals. The last time I was in the area was May 2013 for field school. The roads to some of the mines in Silver Center were filled shut with snow. I was disappointed. I wanted to see the ghost town. Or at least, the remnants of what little remains of the once booming mining town.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Thanks to Cee for Share Your World

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , , , , , ,

40 replies

  1. I was just about to shut the laptop down and go and wash clothes or spray weeds or something equally tedious when your post popped up so I just had to read it. So funny, as always and I loved the violin story.

    Okay, and now I need coffee….

    Like

  2. I’m totally jealous that The Mister and I have never stumbled upon a violinist in the woods. And you’ve got me wanting coffee at nearly 9pm!

    Like

  3. Oh, the violinist on the bridge….how wonderful was that?! The panorama was beautiful.

    Like

  4. Hi!
    Favorite smell right now? Vanilla and Lavender – together, with real vanilla beans. Coffee smells pretty great, too though.
    Soundtrack of my life? American Pie is one. Don MacClean, I “think”. (thinking, stop making me do that!)
    Everybody Hurts – REM
    Anything on a fiddle, no not violin and anything by Steven Rhodes, “New World Music”.

    Seven Dwarfs – me? Dopey. Without a doubt.
    Eighth dwarf? In all fairness to political correctness, Minority dwarf or Gay Dwarf, take your pick.

    Bonus Question: No fair, there are too many that I’m grateful for! My memory, because I have a great one, to the embarrassment of my other half. (he doesn’t, drives him nuts)
    My crystals. I love them and in turn, they love me back.
    Life, each and every moment.
    New glasses, which I have yet to get used to. Only took almost a month for them to come in, but I GOT THEM. The ability to pay out-of-pocket and the appointment my other half will soon have, (out of pocket also, but he needs it).
    Websites to earn on, though I think I’m getting deleted from one, for a public tweet to the owner, because they still haven’t paid me, but I don’t like the site anyway – Hey Pam, your account is NOT deleted! HA!
    I am grateful for having too many things to list here. I’d add nature as always because it makes my heart smile – but I really shouldn’t, except I just did. Ooops.

    Liked by 1 person

    • First of all, Yay for the new spectacles!

      American Pie was the song that underscored my 18th year. I never grew tired of hearing that song.

      Thanks for writing, and glad to have you back in commission eye-sight wise.

      Like

    • I ditto Maggie on the spectacles. If you mean the Big B, I’m not surprised, and I really don’t care. I’m getting quite comfortable here.

      Maggie, these pictures are beautiful. We have an old silver town here in Arizona, named Jerome. When I was young we’d venture up the razorback dirt road, and venture through the town. Two people lived there. Other than that, most of the homes were falling down cliffs—many Victorian style. You would have loved it. Now, almost sadly, it’s largely a growing artist’s community.

      Like

  5. There was so much I loved about this post … the smell of fresh coffee (YES!), Sherman Falls (so that’s what it looks like in summer), Bernie (HAHAHAHA!!!) and Cobalt (that’s a town I don’t hear a lot about down here … Highway Book Store, Thornloe Cheese Factory …)
    Ahhh – thanks 🙂

    Like

    • Good morning, Joanne!

      I think Sherman falls (and all of the Hamilton region cascades) are flowing more fully this summer, because, as you know, we haven’t had much by way of warm weather, and there have been some significant downpours.

      Wasn’t that book store something else? Acres and acres it seemed. It’s closed now, am I correct?

      I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for the cheese factory. I’ve traveled along highway 11 north of Cobalt, but can’t say I recall seeing the store.

      [raising my coffee mug]Cheers!

      Like

      • Technically the cheese factory is in Thornloe which – if I remember correctly – is a bit north of Cobalt. It is right on Highway 11 on the east side. My siblings like to stop there and stock up on cheese, but personally I find it rather rubbery.
        I wasn’t aware the book store had closed. Back before you could buy anything you wanted on the internet, this was a very popular stop to get lots of books at a cheap price. Our only access to books in Cochrane when I was growing up was through the small library.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh wow, I have not seen Local Hero in ages! Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  7. Whoah……The smell question is huge for me! I love so many smells: my dog’s head; my babies breath; fresh bread; fresh coffee; garlic softening in olive oil; the ocean; lilacs in bloom……..The soundtrack of my life would include “Carry On” and “Helplessly Hoping”. I don’t play video games ( I am the WORST) but I am pretty sure that I would be “Dopey”.
    Interesting post!

    Like

    • I know what you mean about the sense of smell and the memories it evokes. I decided to dodge the question and answer flippantly because so many fragrances trigger powerful reactions for me. I would have been here all day!

      I see you’ve renovated your blog. Good choice! Though I haven’t been getting the notices, nor have you shown in my reader. I’ll have to re-tweak my settings.

      Enjoy your day!

      Like

  8. I knew I liked your for a reason. Sultans of swing, done with napoleon and before gas and TV by the one and only Mark Knopfler you can put on my soundtrack. That and It was a very good year by ol blue eyes.

    Like

  9. What is your favorite smell?

    Without a doubt, the scent of fresh cut hay in the fullness of summer/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Felt like I was following along on your walk. Thank you. Beautiful place.

    Like

  11. How absolutely odd but quite wonderful to find a violinist in the woods (all I ever find are empty Coke cans 😉 ) xx

    Like

  12. Maggie it is lovely to be able to visualise your walks and hear more about your way of life. Shall look out for Local Hero. We ‘ll think of you in the morning when we perk the coffee.

    Like

  13. I so enjoy posts like these. Cheers!

    Like

  14. Gorgeous post, Maggie. Love the image of a violinist in the forest. Magic moments happen when least expected, it seems.

    Like

  15. You have had a wonderful response to SYW. Great answers. 🙂

    Like

  16. How about Rudolph for the eighth dwarf? The others need his nose to guide them down the mines.

    Like

  17. Falls are always magical by themselves but with a violin you must have thought you were on a movie set. Loved the 8th dwarf. http://www.inspiringmax.com/

    Like

    • Great to have you here, thank you!

      Your reply is just the tiniest bit eerie, because! As we approached the falls, and before we were within earshot of the musician, I took in the scene as I imagined a movie location scout might have done. You know: yes, this path is wide enough to shoot two armoured knights riding abreast, or yes, there’s room for a shoot-out between the white hats and the black or the goblins and the elves…

      Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

