The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Lavender

[To herself] Lavender, eh? Lavender… hmm, I’ve done purple, I’ve shown them eggplant, and I already flooded the blogosphere with pictures of amethyst. What do I have left to show them that fits this variation of purple? OK, nothing to do but search through the photo files. This time, though, I’m sorting the list from Z to A. That way I’ll avoid aforementioned quartz variety.

BINGO! This is PERFECT!

Ladies and Gentlemen. It ain’t pretty but it’s purple. May I present, the one, the only…

WILSONITE!

Wilsonite

Wilsonite is a variety of Mica

2.7 x 2.5 x 1.5 cm

Reiner collected this sample when he worked in Matachewan. It comes from an occurrence near Rémigny, Quebec.

Dr. James Wilson 1821-1869

Dr. James Wilson 1821-1869

The mineral is named after Dr. James Wilson, who discovered similar material near Perth Ontario. I like to imagine that Dr. Wilson might be related. My dad came from the area.

***    ***   ***   ***   ***

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells’ One Word Photo Challenge

 

Categories: It's a Hobby, Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

36 replies

  1. Wilsonite, eh? You keep this up and I may find myself interested in minerals yet!

    Like

  2. Love the texture on this one- and it really is a lavender shade 🙂 Thanks for sharing (sorry for all the purple challenges :P)

    Like

  3. Wilsonite? Wilsonite from Maggie ….. Wilson??

    I want to see the Samsonite !

    Like

  4. It is absolutely lovely! Such a variety of shades of purple here.

    Like

  5. Dr. Wilson appears to be a stern fellow.

    Like

  6. It must be in the genes! I’m sure you’re related! 🙂

    Like

  7. Would you send me that one, please, Maggie ? – better put a bit of popping plastic around it, eh ?
    [grin]

    Like

  8. It’s so fun to learn all these things we wouldn’t find out any other way, and so pretty besides. 🙂

    Like

  9. I find lavender so soooothing. Thanks for flooding the blogsphere, Maggie! xx 🙂

    Like

  10. I have to disagree … I think your Wilsonite is very pretty 🙂
    … and to me I will always associate Wilson with Mr Wilson from Dennis The Menace 🙂

    Like

  11. Aw, cool! I wish I had something named after me… I did buy a star for a girl-friend once…

    Like

  12. It sure is pretty…lavender. I now await the periwinkle…..

    Like

  13. Cool! Any kind of mica is pretty in my book, and I’m a sucker for purples, so this is a dandy combination of the two aspects. Perhaps O. F. [Old Fart] Wilson is cranky because a small boulder of his namesake fell on his head recently. It happens. Always wear your helmet, my dear. 😉

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Cream | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

