The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Wildlife Wednesday August 2014 – Snap Crackle Pop

Thank you Tina for hosting Wildlife Wednesday where people are encouraged to share their wildlife experiences and photos the first Wednesday of each month.

Click on thru for the recipe - enter at your own risk. You've been warned.

Click on thru for the recipe – enter at your own risk. You’ve been warned.

Earlier this summer, I posted a recipe for chocolate peanut butter granola bars. I’ve made two batches so far and have shared the recipe with several people. What does this have to do with wildlife? Read on for the sad, sad, story.

The day I made the first batch, I asked Reiner for help storing the box of Rice Krispies on the shelf above the fridge. I’m tall, but he’s taller and can reach the cupboard without a step-stool.

“There’s already a box of rice cereal up here,” he said.

“Really? Good, I’m going to make a lot of these, so it’s no big deal. But wait. What’s the expiry date on the old stuff?”

“2010.”

“…oh.”

So, over the last several days, Reiner put the stale cereal out for the critters. The birds don’t seem to care for it, but the squirrels do. On Sunday, our son took a photo of this pretty girl, helping herself to breakfast. She had her eyes on us, but was comfortable enough to keep munching on the crisps. I remarked that she seemed underweight – you could see her ribs and hip bones. We watched for a while and then headed out for our fossil collecting adventures.

...ooooh, look, isn't she sweet?

…ooooh, look, isn’t she sweet?

When we returned, we found that she and/or her herd-mates had more than cereal for breakfast.

deer damage

Can you see the leaves on this squash? Or the Beans? No, neither can I. [grumble]

Categories: Blog Blog Blog, Gardening

Tags:

36 replies

  1. Still….she’s so beautiful!

    Like

    • She is… When I mowed the lawn last night, I saw that she and/or others had gnawed considerably on the violets, too. I couldn’t understand why she would be underweight. The herd must be larger than the surrounding woods can sustain.

      Like

  2. G’day,
    I have been sharing my garden with local wildlife for years now, if one can refer to rabbits as wild life, we have it all worked out, they get 20% and the birds get 60% and we get the rest. hahahaha … by the way I have made your … chocolate peanut butter granola bars … and every one loves them, thank you very much

    Like

    • Hey Muzzy – g’day! Yes, I’ve decided that I can share some of the beans. I was falling behind on harvest any way!

      I’m tickled that you enjoyed the recipe. I exchanged a 1/4 cup of chips for cranberries. That tastes good!

      Like

  3. She is pretty, but darn that deer! Or, I guess, those deer! Thanks for participating and your pantry sounds like mine–I always think, “Really? Has it been that long?” I hope your visiting deer find something else to eat besides your garden yummies. Happy WWD!

    Like

    • Yeah, and when you think that the cereal was probably purchased in 2009… well, I’m going to blame it on the high cupboard – out of sight, out of mind.

      I enjoy this challenge. When she came into the yard on Sunday I was all “Ooh, ooh! Eric, take a picture! Remember to send it to me. I need it for WWD!”

      Like

  4. You are so lucky to be able to have a garden that backs onto trees. . I look out onto several other bungalows, though I do have a fox that sits on the roof of my shed sunning itself occasionally. My neighbour put her favourite red leather shoes outside the back door because they were muddy after a walk. A fox picked it up and sat on their lawn chewing one of them. I love nature.

    Like

  5. We need one of those. Our lawn is like a jungle. I’d be happy to throw some rice crispies or sugar puffs in if it closes the deal. Failing that I shall just eat chocolate cereal bars and watch the grass grow taller.

    Like

    • As I was mowing the lawn last night after delaying it for a couple of weeks just to see if I could stand the shagginess, I thought, once again. “This mowing is ridiculous!” But the work and expense to turn the expanse of lawn into low or no maintenance is not in the budget – time, money, or energy wise.

      It sounds like you’ve got a very good Plan B in place. I think I’ll have one of those bars right now, as a matter of fact! Cheers!

      Like

  6. Deer bugs are the worst, aren’t they?! We have roaming herds of white-tail freelance landscapers that browse everything out front. The adults at least seem to know just when to stop before their chomping will kill a plant outright. You are good to share! (and I’m looking up that recipe right now!).

    Like

    • I’m happy to see the deer, but this one tells me that maybe we will be seeing more of them, and more of their calling cards, as it were. I had to dodge around a pile of poop last night as I mowed the front lawn.

      Their immediate habitat behind our house is being developed. The herd is being fed by neighbours. Add that up and you’ve got salad-bar city, right here, right now.

      I hope you enjoy the bars, and thanks for stopping by to comment here!

      Like

  7. See what happens when you open a wildlife restaurant? Before you know it, they are ordering off the menu.

    Like

  8. Never mess with Mother Nature 🙂

    Someone in our prior urban neighborhood kept feeding the squirrels and they got bolder and bolder. Cheeky little things used to chatter nastily at me sitting in my yard because that was “their highway”. Eventually one got in neighbor’s house through roof opening, and chewed through electrical wires, dry wall, ruined a lot of rooms. Same thing happened to my sister.

    In all cases we had to eventually hire trappers and take the squirrels ” to a place far far away”.

    Deer are pretty but can -as you’ve seen – overrun “your restaurant”.

    Like

    • Yes, the squirrels are a consideration as well. But since there are 8 cats and two dogs between the three households, they keep their distance from the houses, thank goodness.

      Your post reminds me of an editorial cartoon I read in the London (Ontario) news paper some years ago. Victoria Park, downtown, has squirrels that are very tame and used to the lunch hour hand outs. The cartoon shows a squirrel in a “have a heart” trap, that has a sign on it like you’d see on a downtown bus “Express to Victoria Park”. The trap is in motion as it is being lifted by an unseen person. Running up is another squirrel yelling, “Wait for me!” The squirrel on the “bus” shouts back “Don’t worry, there’ll be another soon!”

      Like

  9. Oh she is lovely. I admit to some envy. =)

    Like

    • I’ve lived here now for almost 8 years and I still get a little kick of delight when the deer venture into the yard. It feels different sharing the space with a creature as large as a whitetail deer. I hope I never become habituated to their presence.

      Like

  10. Oh Deer. LOL
    Take the good with the bad, I guess.
    I thought the featured picture was a mineral, so I was eager to read about what looks like a choco-snack!

    Like

  11. Seems like there’s always the bitter with the better, eh, Maggie ? But if you find a better place to put stuff, it can still be a win|win, no …?

    Like

  12. “bitter with the better” – I like that, and I agree. As for better spots, I’ve been giving that some thought, too. We’ll see how it pans out, next year.

    Like

  13. Oh, Maggie! I didn’t see the story ending this way. 😦 On another note, though, your yard is beautiful. Mine is very, uh, jungle-like. Weather is too hot and I am too tired to get out and do much. But yours is inspiration….

    Like

    • Hey Lois – cameras are miraculous things. Ours is a jungle, too. Behind the deer I have left the lawn revert to meadow. What you see is golden rod. The patio is bordered by perennial beds that take care of themselves. The lawn I mow once every 10 days or so and that’s the sum total of my garden life.

      Otherwise, I’m just like you. It’s too hot or I am too tired. Or both.

      Like

  14. Like others, much sympathy (and delight at your wonderful surroundings).

    While our children grew, we kept outdoor bunnies as their pets, roaming freely. Goodbye, narcissi. Goodbye, agapanthi. Goodbye, goodbye. But my spouse was a veggie gardener, so, just as our neighbors in L.A. deer country must do, we had to fence off the veggie plot–and block their tunneling efforts with a buried brick barrier.

    Like

    • Hey OB – you know, then, the challenges. Fortunately, we don’t have rabbits in our yard – the cats make sure they remain elsewhere.

      The fact that we have deer damage is due to laziness on my part. That and plain old optimism. The deer fence around the bean patch was barely high enough to keep me, 5’10” from stepping over it. A deer can jump something like 6′ from a standstill? So yeah, what was I thinking?

      I planted the squash in a bald spot amongst the golden rod. I figured they’d have all the elbow room they’d require out in the rear lot. Plus last year, they survived without incidence. Since Sunday, nothing further has been gnawed upon. Squash plants have a very prickly habit and I don’t imagine that THAT went down very well. Literally.

      Like

  15. You live in a truly beautiful place. Bummer about the garden.

    Like

  16. A doe’s gotta do what a doe’s gotta do. Great photo, Maggie. Sorry about the veggies. I wouldn’t even attempt that here. The big birds and squirrels would treat a veggie patch like their personal buffet. 😉

    Like

Your thoughts?

