The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Share Your World – 2014 Week 31

What can you always be found with?

Lip balm. In every pocket of every shirt, coat, or pair of jeans. A drawer in every room has a lip balm.

Huh. A fond memory just popped up. My first date with The One was spent hiking the trails at Rondeau Provincial Park. What should have/would have taken a reasonable courting couple three or four months, we managed in three or four hours that afternoon. Before we left the park, we stopped for refreshments, which meant it was time to replenish my lips, too. I rummaged in my purse for a lip balm. After I applied a generous coating, I offered the tube to my new sweetheart.

“Lip balm?” I said.

“Sure!” he replied and leaned in for a kiss and got his lips balmed the “fresh” way.

It was a running gag between us. So much so that the chaplain who performed the marriage surprised us with a case of ChapStick on our wedding day, five months later.

The motto for Mazda was also a running gag: zoom-zoom. No flies on us.

What is the most fun thing you did in school?

I was assigned a number of responsibilities at grade school: crossing guard, bell-ringer, teacher’s helper in kindergarten class.The most fun part was having the liberty to leave the classroom early in order to fulfill my duties.

What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

I think I more or less carry out daily tasks more or less the same as most people. But there is one thing that I think I do differently, though I haven’t tested my theory. When I visualize a calendar, the year broken down into months page by page, they run from right to left. Which is odd, I think, since we in the western world read left to right.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful to spend time with Reiner’s son and his girlfriend this weekend. They came down for an overnight Sunday so we could head out bright and early Monday morning to collect fossils at Hungry Hollow, near Arkona. This is a world-class fossil site and collectors will find something, guaranteed. Reiner found the plate of fossilized snails feeding on crinoid bits. There are also, according to Reiner bits of trilobites scattered about the piece. What’s cool about the snails is that the shell is being replace with pyrite.

This week?This week is wide open. Not much on the old “to do” list besides the usual weekly household chores.  And that’s just fine.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***

In Response to Cee’s Share Your World Click to see what other’s have to share, too.

Categories: Blog Blog Blog, Photography

Tags: , , ,

29 replies

  1. LIP BALM! I always have some lip stuff. Usually, as we call it, “yip goss.” 😛
    That is weird about the calendar…you’re unique!

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed reading your post.

    Like

  3. Lip balm?? First thing I thought of was the movie “The Three Amigos.” Chevy Chase, Steve Martin and Martin Short are in the burning hot desert. Chevy Chase swigs his water, glosses his lips and holds it out to Steve and Martin and asks, “Lip balm?” Cracks me up just thinking about it.

    Like

  4. Hope your weekend went well, Maggie Mae. And remember Susie Chapstick??

    Like

  5. Enjoyed your post Maggie, with those precious memories!

    Like

  6. Lip glue- that’s what my little granddaughter used to call it. If only there were such a thing!
    That fossil dig sounds like a blast.

    Like

    • Lip glue! As in to silence the chatter?

      The fossil dig was a lot of fun. It’s good to get out and hunt for rocks and minerals, but it can be discouraging if you aren’t successful. At this spot there is no shortage of specimens.

      Like

  7. Ditto for me – except I’m not limited to lip balm. Lipstick, lip gloss, lip pencils, chubbies, … I have them everywhere. My friends have made fun of me when they discover I carry some kind of lip-something when I hike, run or cycle too. I . NEVER . LEAVE . HOME . WITHOUT . ONE … or more.

    Like

  8. I haven’t read your early posts, but one or two indicated The One was not the ideal companion. Nonetheless, he woulda had me just at this. (Dang, I’m easy.)

    Like

  9. Shoot! Meant to add: Fantastic snail fossil! WOW! What a find! Congratulations to Reiner.

    Like

  10. My husband would love to have one of those fossils. They are awesome finds.

    Like

Your thoughts?

