The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

This and That and the Other Thing. Oh, and the Daily Prompt.

I’m…

Um…

Yeah, uh…

Ahem. I’m at a loss for words these days. All of a sudden, I got  nuthin’ honey. No complaints, no childhood reminiscing, Reiner is behaving himself, (hence the no complaints point above). All is good. But as you know, without conflict, without some juicy bit of gossip, story-telling falls flat.

Oregano Blossoms

Oregano Blossoms

For instance, the fact that oregano blossoms have a very gentle fragrance like lilac is mildly interesting but really, not fodder for a blog post. Ditto the fact that I spent an enjoyable half day processing thorianite crystals the old-fashioned way, by panning with water.

From my blog reading today, Sheena reminded me about the felt figures from Sunday School. The kind that are used to illustrate the Bible stories. A question: do they still use the felt figures?

Speaking of felt figures, if you have not by now found this blogger, Nicole Belanger Smeltzer, do pay her site a visit. Sweet and charming describes only a tenth of the impact.

HoneyOh, yes! As regards religion, kinda/sorta, something else I learned today over on Michelle from the Green Study’s new blog: Followers of a vegan diet are not entirely in agreement on whether eating honey is allowable.

I had no idea. I am a vegetarian, more or less. If nothing else is on the menu, I will eat meat. I suppose I fall into the “flexitarian” category. I like that. Flexibility, you know? But it also feels a bit like cheating. That’s where the religion reference comes in. The commandments of a vegan diet vs the lack of commandments for a flexitarian one.

Regardless of your views, drop on over to encourage Michelle as she makes the month of August a healthy and mindful one.

Today I received a nice surprise from Frankie of Trucker Turning Write. I do enjoy his writing and am delighted that he is back after a short stay away. Liz awarded him The Wonderful Team Member Readership Award. He in turn sent a shout out to fourteen folks that he felt worthy of the distinction. Including yours truly. I thank you kindly, dear sir.

Well, then, to today’s Daily Prompt. We are invited to write a post about any topic we want, in whatever form or genre, but make sure it features a slice of cake, a pair of flip-flops, and someone old and wise.

Uh-oh. I’ve got only 100 words left! Whattle I do?

Fake it, that’s what!

Good Ol' Sears Catalogue

Good Ol’ Sears Catalogue

Summer. Flip-flop weather. I like my new flip-flops. I wear them pretty much exclusively. Every time I do, I feel scandalous. Know why? When I was a girl, mom, who was of course someone considerably older and certainly wiser than I, refused to buy us flip-flops if they were of the thong variety. For her, they were salacious, dirty, and disgusting.

Either that, or the strap variety was cheaper.

There. That was easy. Piece of cake.

 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

38 replies

  1. Okay, I’m confused. My muse must be asleep. Bummer.

    Like

  2. ‘Clever girl,’ back atcha, Maggie. Good one. Oh–and about honey. When I was vegetarian before I went vegan–no honey. Yeah, not blog fodder…….

    Like

  3. So-o-o-o if you’re wearing your flip flops exclusively, and you feel scandalous when you wear them, are you feeling scandalous much of the time?

    Because the only flexitarian alternative is to go barefoot, and we all know how utterly salacious that behavior can be.

    Like

  4. Don’t you hate it when everything is going all right and there’s nothing good to blog about? Me too!

    Like

  5. G’day Maggie,
    For someone with nifin to say, you said it very well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Totally forgot about felt figures, the cloth kind that just kind of stick to the big cloth, right?

    I have never been able to find a good pair of sandals, so just plain flip-flops for me. Except I don’t have good ones anymore. I should get some, they are nice to put on if you need to go out and do something quick.

    Like

    • Yeah, you got it right about the felt figures. If I remember, we played with them at home, too. Do remember this variation of the toy? The pieces were cut out of rubbery plastic and they stuck to a flat glossy surface by static or whatever physical principal is involved. I can even now recall the smell of the plastic. Weird, eh?

      Regarding flip-flops: convenience, yes, that’s the appeal for me too. Keep them at the door, run out to the mailbox, or snip some parsley for lunch… a quick trip to the blue box that kind of thing. I wear them as house slippers, actually.

      Like

  7. Today’s blog is like a Seinfeld episode – a lot about nothing – and like a Seinfeld episode, entertaining 🙂

    … and I lived in flip-flops as a kid. Wish I still could. My feet are a lot pickier now.

    Like

  8. Confused until I read the daily prompt! Thanks for the way to Michelle’s blogs, Maggie. 🙂

    Like

  9. H’obiously ! [grin] Yer clever, alright, Maggie ! 🙂

    Like

  10. Thongs (we don’t call them flip flops in my part of the world) are worn EVERYWHERE here in summer. Havianas in particular are seen as acceptable footwear for just about any occasion (I wouldn’t be surprised if they’ve been worn to weddings).
    You had a lot of good things to say for someone who had nothing to write. That was a trick, right?

    Like

    • Actually, now that you mention it, we called them “thongs” too, when I was a girl.

      Oh, I imagine that one or two bridal parties have been so outfitted. Yup, just as I thought – “The Bride Wore Flip-Flops” has many hits on Google.

      Thanks for the sweet comment. 🙂

      Like

  11. You do make me smile Maggie! Your clever ending, just too good! I join you in being a vegetarian most of the time, so I shall call myself a flexitarian too! What a descriptive word. 🙂

    Like

  12. See, I knew you could write about anything. It wasn’t that hard. But when you have so many choices, it does put a damper on having to choose just one. No veganomics for me. I am a tried and true blue meatatarian. If I am going to eat a burger, it’s going to be a real burger made from a cow, not one of the soy kind. I can tell the difference in taste. It doesn’t bother me if a person, vegan, vegetarian or otherwise, wants to eat honey. Seems to me that all things in moderation is the route to go.

    Like

    • Thanks, Don!

      Yes, I can certainly tell the difference between soy and beef. Now that I’ve stopped eating meat, I find that I get a hankering for something good and charred. Especially when neighbour South fires up the BBQ. Must be a primal memory, or something.

      Like

  13. I think vegans should be deprived of honey. It is absolutely an animal product.
    I eat very little meat. Seafood sometimes counts and sometimes doesn’t. shrugs However, I just love the broths and gravies from meats. I like a nice ham sammich or a pulled pork bbq…ooh, or the cold turkey after Thanksgiving. But still I eat less meat than anyone I know. I cook it several evenings a week, but I rarely eat it.
    Eggs and dairy are my friend, which is why I can’t relate to veganism, although I support the lifestyles of others. I support people eating much more than rules about eating. Perhaps one should be required to feed the hungry every time one makes a rule about food…you know?

    Haven’t seen felt pieces in 15 years or so. As for the plastic — Colorforms. They’re called Colorforms, and I miss them 🙂

    Like

    • “I support people eating much more than rules about eating. Perhaps one should be required to feed the hungry every time one makes a rule about food…you know?”

      I do know, and I think you are on to something.

      Thanks for the lead on “Colorforms“.

      I’m off to Google now and will be back with a link. But by the time you read this, the link with be there and you would have been able to deduce that I went off to Google and came back with a link, so this entire paragraph is moot. Moot-moot! One doesn’t get to use the word moot often enough, does one?

      Long day. I’m tired. Does it show? 🙂

      Like

  14. Very nice. My vegan friend says “nothing with a face.” As honey is faceless it must be okay. We are avoiding red meat. Mostly fish and chicken these days, and oh, eggs. Thus we are mostly ovo-lacto vegetarians. I like the notion of “flexatarian.”

    Like

Your thoughts?

