The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

“Preventing” Poverty NOT a Valid Goal.

So says our federal government to OXFAM.

They quibble.

You can only limit poverty, you can’t prevent it.

Charitable status denied.

Next!

[Well, charitable status threatened. I wrote “denied” for effect]

52 groups currently undergoing audits

The contretemps is yet more evidence of frosty relations between the Harper government and some charities, several dozen of which have been targeted since 2012 for audits of their “political activities.
 
The Canada Revenue Agency, armed with $13 million in special funding, is currently auditing some 52 groups, many of whom have criticized the Harper government’s programs and policies, especially on the environment.

Anger by Stacy Parker

Categories: In Other News

Tags:

36 replies

  1. Wow. The ONLY reason I ever worked was for the prevention of poverty. Some people cannot work toward that end through no fault of their own. Strangely enough, I have always been perfectly willing to pay taxes, donate money and goods and various other things to PREVENT the impoverishment of my neighbors. Someone tell me how it happens that a family (or country or person) can be only “moderately” impoverished or “insufficiently” impoverished or living in “limited” poverty (that’s me, I think)? Poverty is like pregnancy; you are or you are not.

    Like

    • The US government has 17 definitions of poverty. Like most social indicators, everyone has their own idea. It is certainly the case that what passes for poverty in the US an Canada, would make you rich anywhere else.

      Also I agree, most of us can help ourselves.

      Like

    • I don’t mind paying taxes either. I know that public health care and education require funds. What I do mind is money being spent on bail outs and war and propaganda and BS strategies like this one with OXFAM.

      Liked by 1 person

      • At least your taxes go for public health care. I think my taxes might go for roads and some public welfare programs, but mostly I think they go into the gaping maw of the war machine. 😦 I don’t even mind bail outs (to a limited extent) because sometimes they serve to keep people employed, but I do resent being “furloughed” to save the state money during an economic crisis, paying union dues of $249/month and then, when I needed the union, they were no help to me at all even though I had a justifiable grievance and was in a situation that other teachers could be in later on down the road — but it’s all about money and the money they get from people like me is NOTHING compared to the money the union gets from various other “bargaining” units in the university system. I’m sick of paying my money to support greed.

        Like

        • Yes, we Canadians are in a moderately better situation health-care wise. I am worried though, since our man in charge is as far right as they come and a hardcore ideologue. As for our war machine up here? It’s pretty much non-existent.

          I sympathize with you on lack of support regarding the union issue. $249 a month is an enormous premium, isn’t it? It seems to to me, anyway.

          I know exactly what you mean about being sick about “supporting greed”. I cannot get a mortgage without having house insurance. I cannot drive a car (legally) without car insurance. When it comes time to make a claim, I have to fight for the insurance money and you can be sure that the premium will be increased if the policy is not cancelled all together.

          Like

  2. Gee, sounds like Ted Cruz. And Mitt “borrow college money from your parents” Romney.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hey, I have an idea. Let the members of the Canadian and U.S. legislatures live off minimum wage for the number of hours they work for a couple of months and see how fast things changed. Since US Senators and members of the House don’t work forty hours a week, they would only get paid for the number of hours they showed up. It’s about twenty in a normal week. But some weeks they don’t work at all. They complain about President Obama’s vacation. You should see how much vacation they get.

      Like

  3. Jeez. Thought you guys up there had your act together more than we down here. This is fairly staggering.

    Perfect accompanying illustration, Maggie, as ever.

    Like

    • Thanks, OB. The photo is my go-to image for rage.

      I remember when I was high-school – in the early 70’s, when the rite of passage for late teens and early 20’s was to tour Europe. We were advised that if we were going to travel abroad, we should make sure that the Canadian Flag was plainly visible – on a knapsack, or a pin or scarf. Because, apparently, in those days, our country was loved and admired.

      No longer. I think all of the “Western World” leaders are taking lessons from one another. It disgusts me and saddens me.

      Like

  4. They all make me sick. They sit up there among their millions dispensing crumbs from a great height, totally ignorant, their arses too well-padded to feel the nip if poverty jumped up and bit them.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. This is so typical of our current regime. They have an agenda, and woe betide any who stand up to them.

    Like

  6. How similarly our Governments think ! Ours is currently reissuing contracts with NGOs that ensure they cannot get stuck into government on any topic at all. Otherwise they get no funding.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m sorry – OXFAM is having its charitable status questioned?? Are you serious?? What is wrong with these people???

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The only word I want to share space with poverty is eradicate.

    Like

  9. It’s a surreal and very obvious attempt to limit political debate, and all that will happen is that it will go underground, off grid. It won’t stop people criticising, and it won’t stop debate. 🙂

    Like

    • I am glad to hear that you think that, Fran, because it gives me some comfort. What I worry about though, is the contingent of people out there that do not vote in the first place, or if they do vote, they continue to vote for policy-makers like the ones trying to muzzle OXFAM.

      Like

  10. Political affiliations aside — I think Harper is a modern-day Hitler.

    no more to say.

    Like

  11. The most alarming thing in here is the statement “… many of whom have criticized the Harper government’s programs and policies, especially on the environment”. That is what’s truly scary in this story. Criticize the government and they will manufacture a reason to shut you down – permanently.

    Like

    • Absolutely right, Joanne. His actions are plain and simple abuse of power. He is a bully and, unless people get off their chairs and vote, an unstoppable one.

      You might find Sussex Drive: A Novel by Linda Svendsen interesting. It is an enjoyable read, but it paints a chilling picture of the man at the top, told in the POV of the “first lady”.

      Like

      • I already have tendencies to the paranoia … reading about my suspicions that we are being ‘led’ by a meglomanic would not help me sleep at night.

        You are right, he is a very abusive bully and I am in fear of him winning another election. I’m afraid he has already taken so much action to make him difficult to topple. People are deaf, dumb and blind.

        Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. Give a Man a Fish | The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

