The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

I’ll Have What She’s Having

An Ad for Monsoon Tea from the Daily Mail and Empire   May 31, 1895

An Ad for Monsoon Tea from the Daily Mail and Empire
May 31, 1895

“That husband of mine says that a cup of real Monsoon Tea refreshes him more than a glass of the best wine. It has a flavour and a pungency that after a day’s worry and thinking braces him up and makes a fresh man of him.
“I find that is has the same effect on me.”
 

Huh. I think I’ll have what she’s having.

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: ,

16 replies

  1. Fairy nuff, but you will admit that advertising from that period was at least innocent, Maggie. And there has to be a reason for our continuing to be fascinated by it, doncha reckon ? 😀

    Like

  2. Unplanned poet-tea: You could not get me to drink that tea. “…it has the SAME EFFECT on me.”?

    I really don’t think I’d like to be remade as a fresh man. I prefer remaining a woman–even an unfresh one. Further, since trying online dating sites, I have found that there are already more than enough fresh men. We need not add more.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I enjoy the freshness of this ad, even if it is 120 years old. 🙂

    Like

Your thoughts?

