The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Building Rome – Week 28

 

Henriette Browne, 'A Girl Writing' Henriette Browne (1829-1901) 'A Girl Writing' About 1860-1880 Oil on canvas Museum no. 1083-1886 Dixon Bequest

Henriette Browne, ‘A Girl Writing’
Henriette Browne (1829-1901)
‘A Girl Writing’
About 1860-1880
Oil on canvas
Museum no. 1083-1886
Dixon Bequest

Building Rome is a weekly mini-challenge hosted by  Bradley Corbett over at Green Embers. The goal is to come up with some small, achievable goals for the week and work toward them. I’d like to thank Sheena for the inspiration.

How to participate:
Make a post with your goals for the week and how well you did with the previous weeks goals!
Link back to the challenge page.
Visit other people who have linked or commented and cheer them on.
 
This Week’s Theme: Finding the good in life. If you don’t have any ideas for a goal for this week, make a goal with the weekly theme in mind.
 

Okie dokie. Tomorrow Reiner leaves for a couple of weeks up north at the mine site. This is OK. This, in some ways, is terrific. I like my quiet time. Just ask Karen  who, over the weekend, enjoyed 36+ hours of home alone. She loved it. She even turned down invitations so that she could savour the time.

I get it. I welcome the release that comes from letting go the need to consider another’s preferences, needs, choices. Love ‘em to pieces, but it’s freeing to open windows when I want to, to have full control over the thermostat, to have counter tops empty of tools and newspapers. Small potatoes. But my potatoes.

Speaking of spuds… the first thing that ran through my mind was, “Oh goodie, I can eat out, I can buy store bough pizza, I can eat what and when I like…”

Which flies directly in the face of my weight loss mission. You know what they say about “too much of a good thing.”

Another area in my life that could use some fine tuning is how I spend my time. I submitted the final project for AutoCAD on Friday. (Yay! I got an A+) Now my summer is wide open, and for me, that can be bad news. If I don’t have a “to do” list, I will allow the piddling little tasks to go unattended. Not a huge deal in terms of inconvenience. All of these chores or projects have flexible expiry dates. But if I don’t engage myself in an activity, I literally become sleepy and I end up napping.

OK, enough preamble

My list of goals for this week:

  1. Transplant the cactus babies.
  2. Walk every day.
  3. Organize/clean/vacuum/defuzz my office space.
  4. Eat home-made food. Eat out no more than twice.
  5. Wash the windows in the kitchen.
  6. Blog every day.
  7. Weed the border along the south side of the yard.
  8. Photograph mineral specimens.
  9. Take care of the tuition for college.
  10. Clean up the attic.

All perfectly manageable. Let’s see how this works!

 

 
Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , ,

40 replies

  1. Yay, I am glad you are joining in! I like your list, I need to work up to some of those things for sure 🙂

    Congratulations on the AutoCAD grade 🙂

    Like

  2. Welcome!

    I so know what you mean by too much of a good thing, lol. Love your goals! 🙂

    Like

  3. After just a few weeks into my retirement, I realize that I need daily & weekly (and probably monthly & yearly) goals too! I can lose hours on my computer as my projects sit undone and my butt threatens to expand. I will borrow a few of your goals and add some of my own. Now, if I could just get my husband to go somewhere for a few days… (I love him to pieces also, but crave my alone time).

    Like

    • I understand completely. Here’s some math: computer + free time = butt expansion. First law of retirement. I also completely understand the craving for alone time and the delight in welcoming hubby home after his tour of duty.

      Don’t know where I’d be without my lists. Not so much for the memory aid, and certainly that’s a big part of it, but for the accountability aspect.

      I expect part of the issue of retirement is the transition from not enough or just enough to way too much time on your hands?

      Like

  4. 200 is a number to celebrate for sure. I celebrated my 200th post by cleaning out the attic and doing a bit of weeding. What do you have in mind?

    Like

  5. Love the “building Rome” idea. I could use a little more organization and discipline. That will be more possible in a couple weeks when a cumbersome jaw therapy treatment ends – it has had me discombobulated for months because it’s such a constant intrusion and pressure. Amazing how such a little thing can wreak such havoc with my ability to cope with any semblance of a plan.

    Like

  6. You go girl. I like having a project. I organize my time better. Congratulations on the A+.

    Like

  7. Most of what you have in your list can wait a year or more for me.

    Like

  8. It’s a really great idea to use someone’s ‘challenge’ to help your self-organization in this way, Maggie ! – a chore shared is a chore got underway, and that’s the bottom line. Well done you so far: and rotsa ruck with the current list.

    Like

  9. So many goals I am tired just reading them. My goal for the week. Take a nap.

    Like

  10. Oh, I love the idea of small, achievable goals! I need to focus and write some goals for my week, too. Thanks for the link!

    Like

    • Small, achievable, and measurable – I’m all about baby steps, especially when it involves something that I’ve been avoiding. I have to sort of sneak up on it. Or make a game of it.

      It would be great if you joined in!

      Like

  11. I think I would add some reading goals (like: finish A Tale of Two Cities) as I know I am likely to do them anyway. And maybe some photographic goals. Don’t get me started!

    Like

    • “as I know I am likely to do them anyway.” – yeah, that’s my strategy, too, for some of the items. “Blog every day” is in that category. More or less. The last couple of weekends I’ve found it difficult to keep up with blogging. Summer time, you know.

      Enjoy the Dickens!

      Like

  12. Maggie, it sounds an intriguing way to make yourself accountable. Good luck. 😀

    Like

  13. Welcome to the fold (me too – this is my first week)!

    I’ve got one thing on my list. That is to walk 3kms every single day! You’ve got a fantastic list, that I am trying very hard not to compare to mine, which is minimalist in style.. lol

    Lovely to meet you, wishing you the best of luck and sending you loads of encouragement!

    Yes You CAN!

    Miss Lou
    xx

    Like

  14. Apparently, it’s a good week to join this group. Good luck with your goals. They look pretty manageable, well, except for the attic. But maybe it’s not as bad as I imagine. 😉

    Like

  15. I love lists. Any lists. My life is a list.
    Good luck in checking off each of those items … there is sooo much satisfaction in saying DONE!

    … and congrats on the A+. Did you have any doubts? 😉

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Cee’s Share Your World – 2014 Week 27 | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  2. BR 28 – Too Darn Hot! | Green Embers

Your thoughts?

