The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Maroon

Maroon is one of those colours.

You know the kind I mean.

The kind that is open to interpretation.

Source: Google Images. See? I'm not making it up!

Source: Google Images. See? I’m not making it up!

Which for me, being of perfectionist persuasion, meant I spent way more time pouring over my mineral photos than was wise.

Too red/brown/purple.

Not red/brown/purple enough.

Should be the same colour as claret or burgundy.

Well, then the challenge would be claret or burgundy, then, wouldn’t it!

[Much exasperated eye-rolling and self-chiding]

To do myself a favour and to remind myself:

THIS IS SUPPOSED TO BE FUN 

I am pleased to present:

Quartz

2.2 x 1.7 x 1.0 cm

from Morocco

Quartz coloured red by hematite inclusions

Quartz coloured red by hematite inclusions

Agate (which is a variety of quartz )

3.5 x 2.0 x 1.5 cm

from Germany

Agate - can you see the reflection of the camera name?

Agate – can you see the reflection of the camera name?

Hematite or Haematite

3.0 x 2.5 x 1.5 cm

from near Matachewan Ontario

I was along for the ride when we collected this piece.

When hematite is broken or crushed it is coloured red… OOPS! Excuse me: Maroon.

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells’ One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , ,

35 replies

  1. I read a book once about being marooned on a deserted island… but personally, I’d rather be marooned on a desserted island! (Pass the cake!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love rocks, but I would say the quartz is the color of puce. Where ever that word came from, I don’t know because it sounds awful, but it is a pretty color. 🙂

    Like

    • You know what? I know the term puce. But do you think I could summon up the colour chart in my noggin? Nope, nope, nope! So, of course, I looked it up. Now I’m sorry I did. Know why? Because you are right. It sounds icky.

      Puce is the French word for flea. The color is said to be the color of the bloodstains remaining on linen or bedsheets, even after being laundered, from a flea’s droppings or after a flea has been crushed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. absolutely Love the hematite. And I learned something new, again. 🙂

    Like

  4. The broken hematite looks like something from scifi for sure. Part of a spaceship perhaps? Love this contribution to the challenge! I’m glad you didn’t give up!!! It seems like almost all of these colors are up for interpretation.

    Like

  5. this entire post of maroon and no mention of aubergine?? That’s crazy….

    Like

  6. really great take on this rich color – 🙂

    Like

  7. I would have understood this a lot better if I hadn’t misread the title as macaroon!!!!

    Like

  8. Loved reading your comments. It reminded me of Chris teaching colour theory and his Mother attended a lecture. He got her to tell the students about some of her colours, eg. no colour green, lime green etc.
    She was quite a character and they all found her hilarious. Magnificent specimens of yours!

    Like

  9. Wonderful minerals, as always, Maggie. The agate is especially intriguing, with its little fringe of crystals along the bottom edge. Took several tries, but I found your “Cannon” reflection. Sorry, but the first shot of quartz reminds me of a crystalline tomato aspic… which is nearly as nasty as puce to my palate… Best wishes, WG

    Like

  10. Your post reads like a poem. I just love it.

    Like

  11. What about Gazpacho? Or bloodstones? Forensic blood stains? Quartz is such a wonderful rock. I like the rutilated quartz best! Enjoyed your very educational foray through reddish rocks

    Like

  12. Maroon and white were our high school colours. Sad that I still remember that after cough all these years since graduation 🙂
    … and you’re right about the shades. The colour of our school athletic uniforms were the colour of the sample in the middle.

    Of all the rocks, the one from Matachewan is my favourite.
    Now pass the macaroons, all this talk about food has made me hungry 🙂

    Like

  13. Joanne, do you remember when Tim Horton’s used to have macaroons – plain or chocolate coated? Oh my word were they delicious! They sell them now as a gluten free option – pre-packaged for an insane price. But I tried them. Just about wrenched a muscle trying to open the dang-blang package! Should have considered that an omen that I mustn’t indulge the habit.

    oohh, and hey, hope that cough gets better! 😉

    Like

  14. Never knew that about hematite, but it makes sense, all iron-y that it am. “Puce”, I grew up calling “ox blood”. Now I know it am fleas’ blood. Yucky color, either way.

    Like

    • I suppose that puke and puce are related etymologically?

      Nope, apparently not. In my world they would be.

      We brought home several buckets-full of hematite for am artist friend who makes his own pigment. I should write about that some day.

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Silver | Jennifer Nichole Wells
  2. Share Your World – 2014 Week 29 | The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

