The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Well, that was depressing

I had a conversation with my husband a few weeks ago discussing the future of education here in Canada – it was prompted when we saw a school building that was badly in need of repair. He shook his head and said that it should be fixed up. I said, “good luck finding the $$ in the education budget for that. They don’t even have money for textbooks.”

I went on to suggest that it is our right-wing government’s hidden (or perhaps not so hidden) agenda to allow the state of public education to deteriorate to the point that they can come along and pull funding completely. They’ll point to the poor quality education and compare to that of privately run schools and wipe their hands of the whole deal. They’ll say, look, let business run it. They can do much better than we can.

Hubby thought that my position was a tad overblown. “Nah, they’ll never get rid of public education!”

I hope that I am wrong. But based on what I read in this fellow’s blog… well, read for yourself.

Infinitefreetime.com

Just got back from an interview that, I think, went really well both for me and for the other folks– and which was, for once, a couple of people having a conversation across a table, which is how I think job interviews ought to go– and which ended by me basically having to admit that there was no chance in hell I was going to be able to work for them because of their legally-mandated-by-the-state-of-Indiana salary structure.  I have twelve years of experience and two Master’s degrees; no, I will not be teaching for you for $35,000.

It is literally illegal to pay me according to my experience and training.  I have another interview scheduled for this afternoon; I have already read through their master contract and it is going to go the same way.  I am sorely tempted to save myself the gas money and just cancel the interview…

View original post 36 more words

Categories: In Other News

19 replies

  1. Scary stuff. There’s an awful lot of politricks (thank you Peter Tosh) in our children’s education these days…
    With the wee one starting this September it scares me even more (they will be using Kindles and Kobos to teach reading we were informed) how much things have changed and continue to change. But not always for the better.
    I’ve been known to tell the hubby that if public education continues down this slippery slope I’ll pluck the little guy out and teach from home (he’s already reading and writing).

    Like

    • Politricks. Yes, an appropriate term.

      I suppose learning to read on a Kindle is neither a good nor bad “thing.” It’s the content that matters, yes? And the ability to nurture and encourage an appetite for learning? I ask these questions because I am far removed from the classroom and have no children of my own.

      Like

  2. Maggie … I am a teacher. You and I are on the same page. I do fear that too much money that should be going to public education is being siphoned off for private charter schools. Those schools, by the way, do not have to follow the same state (Florida) standards as public schools do. Years ago, they tricked the public into approving the lottery saying that money would go toward public education. In reality, it is not “extra” money added to the state education budget. Some of the original funding is pumped into the general fund.

    I hope that man in “infinitefreetime” finds a job he loves that pays well. After ten years of teaching, and having a Master’s Degree, I earn about $40,000 a year.The “steps” in pay were eliminated several years ago and our salaries were frozen for about five years. Not surprising, however, the state lawmakers NEVER had their pay frozen during that same time span.

    Thank you for the thoughtful commentary. 😉

    Like

  3. I had no idea it was getting this bad in the school system. I don’t think the situation with teacher compensation has deteriorated like it has in the US but evidence of decay is showing up in other areas – like the amount of personal funds a teacher uses to fund activities in the classroom.

    Like

    • My “theory” is based on my view here on the fringe and the stories I hear from people who are educators and students. Yes, from what I gather, our educators are compensated well, though they do pay for a lot of the educational material for their classes. I agree and I do think that the situation here in Canada is better than the US, but my sense is that it is in decline, just a few years behind, but on the same path.

      Like

  4. Ditto in Oz. Same right-wing ideologues running the country and abandoning any previous education promises. And they love the “but they do it in the USA” response to anything, ignoring the fact that that might actually be a bad thing. I’m living for the day their education policy uses the phrase “but they do it in Finland”.

    Like

    • I’m living for the day their education policy uses the phrase “but they do it in Finland”.

      So am I! As a matter of fact, my default response when I get good and peeved about social policy is this: I want to live in Norway!

      Like

  5. Apparently in Japan teachers are appreciated. Until we pay teachers their worth, education is going to be hampered. Our future looks bleak. It is the country’s future we’re playing with. Such short sightedness is to the country’s detriment, Canada and Australia! If only they could put Education as a first priority for a healthy future.

    Liked by 1 person

Your thoughts?

