The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: White

Image

Natrolite needles with analcime

Image

Natrolite from Wasson Bluff near Parrsboro, Nova Scotia, Canada

2.5 cm x 2.3 cm x 2.0 cm

We acquired this piece from fellow collector Doug Wilson who lives in Parrsboro.

White is one of the trickier “colours” to photograph. I use a black velvet cloth as a backdrop to enhance the contrast. Natrolite is one of the trickier minerals to collect, as Doug will attest. The delicate needles are fragile and sharp, and have a tendency to sink themselves into unprotected fingers.

 Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , , , , ,

29 replies

  1. This is very beautiful. Makes me think of snow flakes. Thank you for sharing! I hope you didn’t get cut up too badly when taking these photos.

    Like

    • Thanks, Jennifer. I held my breath the entire time. We store the specimens in acrylic display boxes. There are several tense moments opening the box, extracting the specimen, posing it, returning it to the box and closing the lid.

      The box is hinged with two little prongs on the front that snap together to “lock” it closed. If I don’t have the piece properly seated, I can bruise the crystals on the top or sides of the lid. It has even happened that the shock waves from closing the box caused a crystal to pop of the matrix. Not this time, thankfully!

      All very nerve-wracking!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful! I can see how it would be dangerous to pick up!

    Like

  3. I was surprised to read how fragile it is. At first glance, it seems almost feathery … until I noticed the spikes that look like tiny glass tubes.

    I was about to ask you a really stupid question until I noticed you had provided the dimensions. It’s REALLY SMALL!!! Now I’m in awe of your photo taking ability to get that stunning clarity!

    Like

  4. Maggie, you’ve outdone yourself with this one. What a spectacularly beautiful piece. Thank you for making the effort to photograph it for us, and so glad to know it made it through the process unscathed. Just gorgeous!

    Like

    • Thank you! What a wonderful comment! I appreciate that you took the time to read and remark! 🙂

      Like

      • Having made an attempt here and there to photograph crystals in our collection, I appreciate the skill it takes to do it well. Hard to believe something so delicate and full of light grew in the ground. Best wishes, Elizabeth

        Like

        • Then you DO know! If it weren’t for the super-macro setting on the camera, I’d be lost. I’ve seen some of the setups that the pros, especially from Europe use – all sorts of fittings and bellows and stuff. Incredibly expensive. But, the end product is beyond belief. Here is a suite of photos curated by one of the contributors to Mindat.org, a mineral database that I frequent.

          Like

          • Maggie, those are magnificent! Thank you for sharing the link, which I’ve bookmarked. It reminded me of a mineral loving friend who used to keep a microscope set up for viewing xls. What worlds one finds inside! You do a lovely job without all of the bells and whistles. It is all about the light, isn’t it? Thank you for those lovely images, Elizabeth

            Liked by 1 person

  5. Love it, thanks Maggie. I’ll probably do a flower. I didn’t do last weeks eggplant. 🙂

    Like

  6. simply exquisite! This one surely can’t be surpassed!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: White | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. One Word Photo Challenge: Gold | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

