The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

On Oprah’s Tea and Other Flood-Worthy Inanities

Please pay this blogger a visit. He speaks of despairing at the state of humankind, not unlike Noah’s God. This despair is something I feel regularly. I wish I had an answer so that it might not be so regular.

Rumblings

I was sitting in a local Starbucks this afternoon when I saw the most absurd thing in the history of humankind: a big glossy advertisement for a product called an “Oprah Chai Tea Latte.” Alongside pictures of what I can only imagine must be very tasty delights indeed (iced or hot) was a (larger) picture of a beaming Oprah Winfrey, lending her teeth, her hair, her celebrity to this product. What does Oprah have to do with chai tea lattes, you might wonder? I certainly did. Did Oprah Winfrey make this chai tea? Did she create the recipe? Did she enjoy drinking this tea in some kind of a unique way? Does she own the tea? Did she import it for our benefit? The advertisement didn’t tell us. It simply presented a picture of Oprah, a picture of tasty beverages and assumed that we would make (invent?) the connection.

View original post 724 more words

Categories: In Other News

6 replies

  1. How weird is that! I would have thought she was wealthy enough?

    Like

  2. Thanks for the recommendation to read Ryan Dueck article.
    These are strange times we live in. Honestly, I have a hard enough time wrapping my head around “Starbucks” even before adding Oprah’s logo-head to the menu.

    Like

  3. As far as I know Chai originates in India. Perhaps she is part Indian.

    Like

Your thoughts?

