The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Antique Antics: How Ironic

Cute Dimples!

Cute Dimples!

I am a rock, I am an I-I-Island…

And a heavy one, too. Mostly iron. All 914 grams packed into a 9 x 6 x 5 cm volume.

Hey! Who are you calling dense?

Show some respect for your elders. I am 4.5 billion year old. You heard me. BILLION!

Sorry for that little outburst. I blow up from time to time. Well, once, actually. Seems just like yesterday. Had a nasty bump with the atmosphere. Kinda fell apart somewhere over Argentina, oh, about 4000 years ago, give or take a millennium. The natives gave me a swank name. Campo del Cielo.

Why thanks, I appreciate the compliment! Did you know? These cute dimples, as you so sweetly notice, help you tell a meteorite from plain old slag.

Or a meteor-wrong.

Get it? Meteor-right/meteor-wrong?

HAHAHAHAHA I crack me up.

Wait. I’m already cracked!

Get it?

Oh, boy, I’ve got a million of ‘em.

WAIT! A BILLION!

What? Show’s over? Dang.

OK, before I go, make sure you check out how to identify a meteorite.

Or, here’s a handy reference chart to make the job really easy.

Ironic, no?

Ironic, no?

 

Inspired by the Daily Post Antique Antics Check out what other’s have to say!

 

 

Categories: Mineral Collecting

Tags: , , , ,

35 replies

  1. Love it, Maggie: very funny and clever. xxx

    Like

  2. Simple chart. Really clarifies the issue.

    Kind of like birding. Question: “Have I just seen a rare bird?”

    The answer 99.99% of the time: “No.”

    Like

    • Yeah, it does the job. The owner of the mineral site that I visit presented it as a semi-serious guide.

      People are quite excited about the “meteorite” that they found… or the warbler they just heard. I hate to be the one to burst the bubble, but…

      Like

  3. I don’t know how you do it, Maggie. I have given up on talking to rocks, especially the ferrites. They are too hard-headed.

    I prefer moss. Never met a moss I didn’t like.

    Like

    • I may follow your lead and confer with the mosses instead of rocks. That wee interview with Senor del Campo this morning has taught me a thing or two about cornball humour. I think it’s best we leave that to the pros.

      Like

  4. Gee we use to go meteorite hunting when I was a kid in Oklahoma and Kansas. I think I have a few around from my moms house. I don’t usually push my blog off on strangers but you might any rock hound seems like family to me you’ll see.
    Oh and I think it’s meet-e-o-right!
    http://piecesofstarlight.wordpress.com/2014/06/11/i-wonder-whats-the-oldest-thing-you-own/

    Like

  5. This made me laugh, what with the song reference, the bad pun that I would be likely to make too, and the scientists laughing.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Maggie Wilson at her best ! 😀

    Like

  7. I don’t know how you think of this stuff, Maggie. Last thing I read before heading off to bed. Walking and laughing; shaking my head…..this was so funny.. Henny Youngman just died laughing . Oh, wait, he’s dead already. You’re a riot.

    Like

  8. “Ironic”… Too much. Think I’ll tuck into my Bennet Cerf book before bedtime : )

    Like

  9. You can always surprise me with you charming posts!

    Like

  10. Very clever!! I really enjoyed this! 😃

    Like

  11. Oh Maggie – hilarious as always!!! Only you could make rocks funny. Loved this 😀

    Like

  12. Clever and funny. Love the nod to Simon & Garfunkel, too.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. The battle for Sleepyhead | TyroCharm
  2. Our Old House aka Money Pit | Prairie Views
  3. Virtual Blog Tour | My Life Lived Full
  4. Share Your World – July 3, 2017 – The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

