The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge – Orange

Knock knock

Who’s there?

Banana

Banana who?

Banana-nana-nana, nana-nana-nana, nana, nana, na-na-naaaaaaaaa!

Knock knock

Who’s there?

Banana

Banana who?

Banana-nana-nana, nana-nana-nana, nana, nana, na-na-naaaaaaaaa!

Knock knock

Who’s there?

Orange.

Orange who?

Oranage you glad I didn’t say

Banana-nana-nana, nana-nana-nana, nana, nana, na-na-naaaaaaaaa!

***

So much for “one word.”

Now that we’ve got that little bit of silliness out of the way, let me show you a rock.

2.7 cm x 2 cm x 1 cm

from theΒ El’brusskiy Arsenic mine Northern Caucasus Region, Russia

Orpiment

Orpiment 774_003

Orpiment – side view

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole WellsΒ One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , ,

30 replies

  1. Funny and beautiful in equal measure. XXX πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. then my work here is done! Thanks, Fran! πŸ˜‰ xo

    Like

  3. An unusual and fascinating rock.

    Like

  4. At quick glance, it almost looks like a plant … until you said it was a rock. Or maybe I need my eyes checked again soon ….
    Orange is one of those colours that I appreciate more and more as I get older. It’s a very lovely specimen of orange indeed!!

    Like

  5. Haha. The rock reminds me of coral fungus :mrgreen:

    Like

  6. Hi Andrew! Thanks for reading and commenting. I expect that there are some similarities on a molecular level between the two. Just don’t ask me what they are! o_O

    Like

  7. After having banana forced into my head by the opening ditty, that first quick look I thought of mandarin pieces arranged on a squashed banana! But no, a fascinating rock. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. And cauliflower reminds you of? Do dentists put this in their office aquariums to calm you down prior to the drill? I swear I’ve seen it right before I’ve had to “open wide.”

    Like

    • Cauliflower reminds me of my great Aunt’s smelly old kitchen, that’s what. πŸ˜‰
      Interesting dentist you’ve got there. Mine doesn’t have any aquariums. There are pictures of Dory and Nemo on the ceiling, but no aquariums.
      Great to hear from you, Steph. I hope things have tapered off stress wise. You’ve had a rather eventful year, thus far.
      ❀

      Like

  9. Beautiful piece – so vibrant!
    Funny, about the wee bit of silliness, I taught my lil’ guy that joke this afternoon and he has been repeating it to any willing (and sometimes unwilling!) participants!

    Like

  10. So that must be what arsenic comes from? Magical orange brilliance on the cream.

    Like

  11. I positively look forward to your minerals reveals, Maggie – they’re all GORGEOUS !

    Like

  12. Orange you happy with all these responses? πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. knock knock. who’s there? rock. rock who? you’re rocking me to sleep with your lousy knock knock jokes
    πŸ™‚

    Like

  14. Such an interesting rock. The orange is beautiful, but I can’t quite decide about the part it’s growing on. After reading Christine’s comment, I can definitely see a banana too. haha. And no apologies for the multi-words! You took one word and turned it into many πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  15. Please don’t eat the malachite!
    Man, I’d love to find a rock like that!

    Like

    • Ain’t it pretty? No worries about the malachite.This reminds me that there is a saying in the rockhound biz – “agate licker” – the practice of literally licking a rock is used to bring out the coloured bands in a cut piece of agate.

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Eggplant | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

