The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Cee’s Share Your World: Week 21

If you could make a 15 second speech to the entire world, what would you say?

My speech: The second stanza of the Metta Meditation.

Meditation is all about repeating. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again.

May you be safe
May you be happy
May you be healthy
May you be content
May you love yourself completely
And with great kindness
Just as you are now
No matter what happens

If you could take a photograph, paint a picture or write a story of any place in the world, what and where would it be?

In 1989 I traveled to England with a couple. We toured the southern reaches of the country and stayed in B&B’s along the way. I’ve got photos in an album and someday I will scan them and share them here. But what I want to write about is the incredible emotional impact I felt upon encountering historic sites. I was by turns overwhelmed with grief or rage or awe. It confused me then and puzzles me still.

If you had to spend one weekend alone in a single store but could remove nothing, which store would you pick?

When I lived with The Performer, one of our favourite pastimes was solving cryptic and crossword puzzles. We subscribed to Games Magazine which, at the time, was available in hard-copy only. Besides the word puzzles, the publication included “find the hidden objects” games.

One particular series of the hidden objects variety featured the artwork of Joan Steiner. Her pieces completely captivated me. Steiner’s work includes a series of Look Alike books, The More You Look, the More You See. She used everyday objects to compose a miniature scene or diorama.

This is a long-winded answer to the question, but if I had to spend one weekend alone in a single store but could remove nothing, I’d choose this store. Click on the photo for a larger image.

country store

I could be here all weekend easily! Can you find a razor, nail clippers, grenade, paper clip, yard stick, drain plug, pencil sharpener, tea strainer, pretzels, hair comb, nutcracker …

If you were given a boat or yacht today, what would you name it?  (You an always sell the yacht later)

“For Sale: The SS Sink or Swim” I never did learn how to swim.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week I had the chance to catch up with people who I haven’t seen in a while. I had dinner with a girlfriend and lunch with my brother and his family. Next week… things are pretty quiet on the home front which suits me fine. The garden is in and now begins the weeding and watering.

***   ***   ***

Inspired by Cee’s Share Your World 

Image Source

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , ,

15 replies

  1. Excellent speech. Amazing diorama. I love miniatures.

    Like

    • Thank you, Amanda. It took a while to find this woman’s work through Google. I knew nothing about her until I set out to write this post last night. I particularly like the creative use of bits and pieces that one might find in a junk drawer. Except for the grenade, of course! 😉

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing this week. I enjoyed reading your answers. 🙂

    Like

    • Hi Cee – I really enjoy this weekly challenge of yours, because I surprised myself. Twice since it was issued, I read the questions, and twice I decide, nope, I got nuthin’. Then suddenly, the wheels started to turn and before you know it… a post!

      Like

  3. In fifteen seconds, I might say, ‘Love can save the World. Let us love each other and grow in peace. There is no power greater in the Universe than Love.’ 😀

    Like

  4. I love your response to this challenge – you are so interesting!! LOVED the meditation – what a beautiful and thoughtful speech to send out into the world – and the diorama of the store was amazing! I peered at it for a long time and I’m sure there are tons of things I haven’t noticed yet 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Joanne, what a great thing to say! I’m glad that you enjoyed the general store. I’ve been drawn back to it over and over today!

      I had edited out a considerable chunk about the Metta meditation, regarding the intent one brings to the practice and a few guidelines about how to apply it. In a nutshell, novice practitioners are encouraged to meditate for themselves initially. The idea being, find acceptance in yourself first. Only then is it advisable to move your thoughts of lovingkindness outward to others, and then only to people for whom you carry no negative energy. Once you’ve got that mastered, then you are ready to channel the energy to everyone under the sun.

      In my practice (if and when I ever get around to it! 🙄 )I am at step one, that is meditating for myself. But I thought it would come across rather awkwardly in a speech to the world. So, yeah, I jumped the queue.

      Like

  5. Enjoyed reading your challenge. You always manage to find some interesting images! 🙂

    Like

  6. I’ll bite. “Be nice to each other, you jerks. Don’t drive drunk. Do wear a condom. Tell the ones you love that you love them. And send me money.”

    Like

  7. My reaction to England is equally strong.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Share Your World – 2014 Week 21 | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Your thoughts?

