The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Vegetables A to Z

All of this talk of vegetable gardens in general and zucchini in particular have put in mind of my high school theater days. The first role awarded to me was Amish Woman number, oh, pick a number: five? seventeen? in the off-off-off Broadway musical Plain and Fancy.

A sophisticated New York couple travel to Pennsylvania. Dan has inherited a farm in the wee Amish town of Bird-in-Hand. He and his girlfriend Ruth take a drive to see it before he puts it on the market. When they arrive, all manner of comedy arises, songs are sung, barns are raised, and there is a wedding.

The second tune, Plenty of Pennsylvania is an ensemble piece that requires all of the Amish characters. (That’s my cue!)

The two female leads sing the praises of Pennsylvania through the seasons, but declare the best time is the fall harvest.

The bridge (is that the correct musical term?) is sung by The Miller Girl.

She steps up on the crate stage left (your right, her left) (or is it the other way around?)

Never mind.

She sings, with confidence:

 

“Asparagus, broccoli, cauliflower, dandelion greens, and escarole,

“Fennel, and grapes, and honeydew melon, and iceberg lettuce for the salad bowl, 

(A little more cautious, as she takes poetic licence) “Juniper, kale, lovely lentils, mushrooms, nutmeg, okra, peas,

“Quinces, rutabaga, squash, tomatoes, [u]nions sweet like strawberries, (That gets a groan and a few “tut-tuts” from the chorus)

“Vinegar, also watermelon, x-plant planted all in rows, (OK, we’ve just about had enough of your shenanigans, young Miss Miller!)

(Big!) “Yaaaaams

“And… zpinach? (Gently, but firmly, “No…”)

“…Zaurkraut? (“NO!!”)

“Zucchini! (Halleluiah! And much huzzah-ing and high fives and fist bumps. No, wait. Amish don’t fist bump.)

All: “In Pennsylvania anything grows!”

I loved that tune. The lyrics of that alphabetized veggie inventory will go with me to my grave. Always meant to embroidery the list on a tea towel, but my eyesight isn’t good enough. Instead, I assembled photos on a Pinterest board. Click and enjoy!

My Pinterest Vegetable ABC's Board

My Pinterest Vegetable ABC’s Board

 

 

 

 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , ,

31 replies

  1. My first role in high school theater (and only) was Lady in Waiting Number 3 in The Lark. The only list song I remember learning in school was “Fifty, Nifty United States from 13 Original Colonies” …

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You are a hoot, Maggie. This was too much fun! Oh, and I did get out in my yard yesterday. Shamed into it by a certain blogger…. 🙂

    Like

  3. Alphabetics often take liberties, especially with the letter X. It seems similar to what I do sometimes in my journal, and even on my blog…

    Like

  4. Well that is just perfect for next year’s A to Z Challenge:-). Just saying – we need more fist-bumping Amish bloggers 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. HA! 😀
    It crossed my mind to use this for this year’s challenge, but I got all hung up on copyright and all that jazz… But when the daily post asked for something based on a list? Voilà!

    Like

  6. Most enjoyable going down your memory lane! I do admire the way you can get the photos in focus and perfectly placed…. bravo!

    Like

  7. I went to check it out, and was immediately shown a VISION that was someone’s idea of what to do with a honeydew melon … [gasp !]
    I wasted AGES trying to work out how long it would take me to do that, and what the poor bloody thing would actually look like when I laid down my … ahh … scalpel. [grin]

    Like

  8. You’re wearin’ me out, girl! Jeez!
    Oh, and thanks for the link over to Martha’s–what a great post over there : )

    Like

  9. I once made a fruit and vegetable alphabet quilt….I had to cheat a little and go for a Chinese watermelon for “X” 🙂

    Like

  10. Lovely Pinterest board. The lyrics have so much heart and gusto! I have to say I think I would like this show.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Weekly Writing Challenge: List Lesson | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  2. What makes you happy? | chey being
  3. “I Believe” – The 24th of March 1984 – Shermer, Illinois | Forgotten Correspondence
  4. A Hope from our Long Lost Distant Relations | Wired With Words
  5. River Garden | litadoolan

Your thoughts?

