The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge – Grey

Stibnite Cyrstals

Stibnite Cyrstals

Grey stibnite crystals with white dolomite.

2.7 cm x 1.5 cm x 1.2 cm

From the McLaughlin Mine, Napa County, California

Stibnite is an ore of antimony. Historically it has been used in cosmetics, as eyeliner(kohl) and as a type lead in typesetting. Today antimony is used as an alloying material with lead and tin and is used in acid batteries. As an alloy, antimony improves the properties of solders, bullets and bearings. It is used as a component of fire retardnacts in commercial and domestic products. An emerging application is the use of in microelectronics.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , ,

15 replies

  1. STUNNING ! – lucky you, Maggie ! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Absolutely beautiful! This fits wonderfully. Appreciate the history also. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. hmmm – am I the only one who is concerned about the same ingredient used in eye cosmetics and fire retardents? or acid batteries? I may have to rethink this whole vanity thing….

    Like

  4. It looks fragile. Can you break it apart with your hands? I remember I held antimony samples, but don’t remember what they were like.

    The kohl thingy reminds me of something I thought was funny: I’ve never worn eyeliner because, frankly, I am too uncoordinated. i could never manage the fine brush or pencil line and wound up looking like a raccoon. Well, somehow, I wound up with a teensy-weensy pot of brown sludge that professed to be some kind of eyeliner, and it came with some kind of applicator, and there I was one day, ready to toss it in the trash, when: “Hmmm…didn’t those Egyptians just use a stick to put on their kohl?” I grabbed a toothpick from the kitchen, snipped off the pointy bit, and “Voila!” Perfect raccoon-free application, every time, no muss, no fuss. And wood has those natural anti-bacterial properties, too. Guess those ancients knew what they were doing.

    Now the question is, how many years of up-close vision are left before Racoon-Ville returns–or I poke out the eyesight that remains?

    Like

    • It is vulnerable to breaking if the ends of the stibnite crystals get bonked, but overall, the dolomite crystals have cemented the specimen together quite sturdily.

      You are too funny. I can just picture you and the toothpick. I gave up trying the liquid liner for much the same reason. Any more, I have given up on makeup altogether but every once and a while, I’ll get dolled up.

      Like

  5. Um…do YOU know what that last bit went giant and bold? I sure don’t. Sorry about that.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Grey | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. One Word Photo Challenge: Glow-in-the-Dark | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

