The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Pink

Dark pink erythrite crystals among wire silver

Dark pink erythrite crystals among wire silver

Tiny needles of erythrite form little pink balls among the tangle of silver wires. Pink erythrite is the mineral that forms when cobalt ore weathers. This piece was found on the rock dumps of the Nipissing 404 Mine, in Cobalt, Ontario. I took the photo in sunlight, hence the strong, unpleasant shadows. The specimen is no longer in our collection, otherwise I’d redo the picture!

***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells’ One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: It's a Hobby, Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , , ,

27 replies

  1. It looks very cerebral. Perfect for a blog titled “The Zombies Ate My Brains”!

    Like

  2. At the risk of sounding really dumb, but …. silver comes out of the ground looking like that? I guess I really have no clue what silver mining looks like.

    Like

  3. Very ornate and interesting. Glad to have you back this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. When I first saw this, I thought of the contents of the stomach of my former Labrador retriever who ate a pink and orange dog bone and a brown dish towel. What an amazing thing this is! Wonderful!

    Like

    • LOL, that’s funny. Another blogger suggested I should start a Rorschach challenge by posting specimens and asking for people’s interpretation of the image.
      What is even more amazing about this piece is that it was completely encased in mud and clay. We knew it was silver because it registered on the metal detector, and it was hefty. But the final reveal was a great surprise!

      Like

  5. That could be zombie brains or an old dried shrub with berries. Never did I think a mineral !

    Like

  6. Where would you be with so many of these challenges without your wonderful collection, Maggie ? Bet you never knew it would stand you in such good stead. [grin]

    Like

  7. I love this, Maggie: great photo, wonderful piece – to me, it looks like a calcified heart! xxx

    Like

  8. Your hobby rocks! Literally. What a blast to be able to look at this and know what’s inside. Hats off.

    Like

  9. Amazing! Loved Martha Kennedy’s comment!

    Like

  10. Ew. Had I seen this on the ground, I would have never touched it. Had I been forced by circumstances to touch it, I would have disinfected my hand. Ew.

    But I suppose, when you touch it, the texture and heft give you a clue that it is metal, yes?

    Like

  11. Oh you silly! I guess this photo proves the saying, “beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” Actually, part of the cause for “ew” is due to my photo skills. Or the lack thereof. Not the best shot. It is really a very special piece.

    When it came out of the ground, it looked like a clod of dirt. The specimen was totally encased in clay. Back at home, Reiner used a special high pressure spot cleaning water gun that is used in dry cleaning.

    You are right, the heft and the fact that it triggered the metal detector told us it was worth hanging on to it. I’m not too crazy about metal detecting for minerals. There are by far more false hits than true. Lots of rusty metal on the dumps to compete with the silver bits.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Pink | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. One Word Photo Challenge: Grey | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

