The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Cee’s Share Your World Week 19

Do you prefer shopping or going to a park?

A park, please. Especially if it’s one that’s got lots of natural stuff, trails and long distances between people and noise. Like Algonquin Park. Or the Royal Botanical Gardens.

What is the highest score you’ve ever made in bowling? Actual or virtually played.

I know a lot of trivia, but my highest bowling score? Nope, can’t say that I recall. Unremarkable, for certain. I used to watch Strikes, Spares, and Misses on a TV channel from Erie, PA. I think it was from Erie? Wait! I remember now that prizes were from Tonawanda merchants, so from New York. (Thanks, Google, saved my butt again!)

Name the foreign countries you’ve been to.

United States, Canary Islands, United Kingdom. That’s it, and most likely, that’s all.

Describe your own outlook on life in seven words or less.

Let’s play nice: we are all connected.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

mmmm tiramisu

mmmm tiramisu

Last Thursday, my friend Karen picked me up on her way through town. She was here to purchase art and crafts for her store in Dwight. Lots to be grateful for here: friendship, great food, spectacular scenery, and a chance to help her get set up for the Victoria Day weekend opening. My assignment: clean up the perennial flower beds. Mission accomplished.

Next week? I need to lose the two or three pounds that I managed to bring home with me. That should be doable now that gardening season is in full swing in these parts. That and the fact that we do NOT have an Italian restaurant in town.

***

Speaking of shopping: I bought this milk jug from Karen. It was a toss-up between a cat or a coneflower. Reiner thought I made the right choice, too.

Milk Jug

Click on through for the artist’s website: Victoria Syzonenko-Kovaleva

 

  ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

In response to Cee’s Share Your World

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , ,

16 replies

  1. I like your “outlook” answer. Very true 🙂

    Like

  2. Two of your questions I answered easily: favorite park: any of several on the west coast where I can wander through miles of towering redwoods; highest bowling score: 130 and cause for wild celebration. The others I need to think about. I’ll let you know if inspiration hits.

    Like

  3. Hello Aunt B! I’d like to get back to the west coast – I have been to Cathedral Grove on Vancouver Island, but I was more interested in the other seventeen-year-old guys that were part of our tour group than the ancient redwoods. Glad you stopped by to say “howdy!”

    Like

  4. Let’s play nice: we are all connected. Great words to live by!

    Like

  5. I like your seven words.. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  6. I enjoy reading your ‘stuff’ so much – there is no place on this planet like Algonquin Park…and I have a deep, deep love for the RBG. Hope you enjoyed your wee break 🙂

    Like

  7. 😀 What a lovely thing to say, RR! Thank you! I did enjoy the break, but it’s good to be back home.

    Like

  8. I’m embarrassed to say I’ve never been to Algonquin Park. I’ve passed by a million and one times on my travels back and forth to Cochrane, but never make a trip there. I must correct this omission one day!

    I too love your outlook on life! 🙂

    Like

  9. As you well know, Joanne, we have ample hiking spots much closer to home.To be honest, I guess I mentioned Algonquin since I was so close to it this past weekend. I’ve been only once for an official visit/hike, and through it a couple of times.

    Algonquin is one of those stops that does need to be programmed. If you are like me, by the time you get as far as the park from your Southern Ontario starting point, and your destination is still hours and hours away, a proper visit is something you cannot afford time-wise.

    Happy trails!

    Like

  10. I was driving along today and wondering about you. Glad you are back posting again Maggie.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Share Your World – 2014 Week 19 | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Your thoughts?

