The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Cee’s Share Your World – 2014 Week 18

What object do you always have with you when traveling and why?

I don’t “travel” travel, like by plane or far, far away. For the longest time I didn’t even travel the 400 series of highways here in Ontario. (I assume these are equivalent to the “M” series in Great Britain or the interstate highways in the US. That is: multi-lane, high-speed, what I used to call DEATH TRAPS.) I acquired the anxiety from Dad, who would take any route but the expressway. I didn’t get my licence until I was in my mid-20’s, I was that fearful.

The legacy of avoiding dangerous modes of transportation continued well into the 1990’s when it was further reinforced. A young London woman was brutally murdered on the 401. The killer tampered with her car while she paid for gasoline at a roadside station. When the car broke down further along the highway, he stopped to offer help…

Eventually I became comfortable both as a passenger and driver on the major highways. It was necessary when I moved to the country, otherwise my daily commute was two or more hours, round-trip.

These days, I think it’s safe to say that I am over it. Once I met Reiner, I’ve logged thousands of kilometers on our mineral collecting trips. Still, there are times when I think the Mr. of our duo needs a little talk about highway safety.

So! To answer the first question, there are a few things that I always make sure to bring along, no matter how far the journey.  Lip balm, water, a spare pair of socks if it’s a collecting trip. The single most important item is a book or my tablet. I’ve learned that I tire a lot sooner than my husband.  To pass the time, I read or, you know [whisper] play computer games.

What subject would you like to study in depth, if given the time to do so?

I don’t know if it’s because I’m two-thirds through my current program of school work and am just plain tired of the prospect of “study” or if it’s a lack of imagination, but for now, I’m going to have to pass on this question.

Which would you prefer: a wild, turbulent life filled with joy, sorrow, passion, and adventure–intoxicating successes and stunning setbacks; or a contented bordering on happy, secure, predictable life surrounded by friends and family without such wide swings of fortune and mood?

This is easy: Plan A? Been there, done that. I’ll go with Plan B! Begone drama!

What are your favorite spices?

Good thing oregano is on the list of my favourites. I spent some time yesterday transplanting oregano volunteers. Just outside the back door is a section of lawn that is very narrow, steep, and difficult to mow. The plan is to turn it into one huge oregano bed.  I like thyme, too, and cilantro and parsley. They are easy to grow and often sow themselves. I enjoy some of the hotter spices and the curry blends. My cupboards contain cumin, coriander seed, and cayenne.

An Oregano volunteer - these babies are EVERYwhere.

An Oregano volunteer between the paving bricks – these babies are EVERYwhere.

Please excuse the dirt… I’m freshly transplanted and can’t do a thing with my hairs.

oregano_002

The mother ship. The gift that keeps on giving.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last week I started my AutoCAD course and am grateful for the professional format of the program. This coming week I head north with a friend who moved to Dwight. She is the new owner of the Oxtongue Craft Cabin & Gallery. I may not be as active here because I’m going to help get things organized for the opening on the Victoria Day weekend.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Inspired by Cee’s Share Your World 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: ,

12 replies

  1. Lip balm is on my don’t-leave-home-without-it list too! Spare socks and a tablet are great ideas too. I love the title of your blog!

    Like

  2. LOL @ whispers play computer games & I’m freshly transplanted and can’t do a thing with my hairs! Great post — good to learn more about you!

    Like

  3. I love computer games too, hush! your herbs will make such a lovely bed and useful as well as decorative. Have fun setting up the Oxtail at Dweight. Maybe we will see some photos on your return?
    Have a good break.

    Like

    • 🙂 I think the herb bed will be great, too. The oregano has very pretty flowers, and attracts all sorts of insects and butterflies. And it is robust and prefers harsh growing conditions.
      Photos on the flip side!

      Like

  4. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  5. Yup – lip balm and water are definitely on my must-have list too, but I also always have my credit card. It’s my security blanket 🙂

    But more importantly – how do you actually have stuff growing already?! I see no signs of life from my oregano. I wonder if it’s something I did – I have a remarkable talent for killing green things.

    Like

    • One patch of our oregano looks like it was hit hard by winter-kill. It was exposed on the sunny side of the house and probably got seared but good in the harsh minus 20 temps we had ALL WINTER LONG! (grumble) I lost a few other well-established perennials the same way.
      But, if yours went to seed, wait a bit – there’s more on the way!

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. Share Your World – 2014 Week 18 | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. I Almost forgot Zucchini! | The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

