The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Sunday Morning Breakfast

blueberry pancakeTwo weeks earlier: 

“I’m going to make blueberry pancakes,”he said.  “There’s a recipe in the Star. Calls for buttermilk. And this time, I’m going to follow the recipe to. the. letter!”

A few days later:

“Did you buy buttermilk?” he said.

“Yup, in the fridge.”

Last night:

“Oh, I forgot to get the blueberries out of the freezer.” he said.

“I think you’ll find that frozen will work better for you.” I suggested.

“Nah, I have a plan.”

“OK…”

This morning: PRE-coffee, this morning

“Who is Lynn Crawford? Google her… Kosher salt? Why KOSHER salt?  The recipe calls for Kosher salt, but doesn’t say how much [it does]Forget it. I’m not using salt anyway.

A moment or two later

“The buttermilk has expired! Two days ago!

A beat

“This buttermilk has salt in it! Now I can`t drink it!”

[CRASH!!]

“Do you need my help out there?”

“I’m fine!”

[Sounds of broken crockery being swept up]

A few moments more

“$#&^*!!”

“What’s wrong?”

“Frozen berries don’t work!”

“Ah.”

About fifteen minutes later

“OK, Maggie, your pancake is ready. I made blueberry sauce instead.”

About fifteen seconds later

“Honey, those were AWESOME! [They are amazing pancakes, truly]. You should make them again!”

“Nah. Too much work.”

Recipe: Lynn Crawford’s blueberry buttermilk pancakes | Toronto Star.

Lynn Crawford’s Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

 2 cups (500 mL) all-purpose flour

1/4 cup (60 mL) granulated sugar

4 tsp (20 mL) baking powder

1 tsp (5 mL) each: baking soda, kosher salt

2 cups (500 mL) buttermilk

4 tbsp (60 mL) unsalted butter, melted, cooled

2 tsp (10 mL) pure vanilla extract

2 large eggs, lightly beaten, at room temperature

Fresh or frozen blueberries to taste

Warm maple syrup for serving

In large mixing bowl, stir together flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In second bowl, combined buttermilk, melted butter, vanilla and eggs. Using hand blender, mix until blended. Pour into flour mixture. Mix with blender until well combined.

Heat large, non-stick skillet over medium. Working in batches, ladle about 1/2 cup (125 mL) batter per pancake and cook until bubbles start to form on top and bottom is set. Sprinkle pancakes with blueberries to taste. Flip cook until other side is golden. Serve hot with syrup.

Makes about 10.

 

***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Pancake Photo   CC-BY-2.0 TheCulinaryGeek from Chicago, USA

Categories: Blog Blog Blog, Food, Husband

Tags: ,

40 replies

  1. Hilarious!

    Like

  2. This one made me laugh. My husband is a great cook, getting better all the time, and I’ve gotta say that conversation sounded very familiar…let’s see, when was it…last night!! I’m not sure cooking without expletives is any fun for them.

    Like

  3. Those pancakes look fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love it; love it; love it. What time is breakfast next Sunday (would like to arrive early enough to catch the prep conversation)?

    Like

  5. I think there be a mocking tone about his pancake wizardry…
    Oh…by the way
    .I am reading your posts but I can’t prove it.
    I have deleted my cookies as instructed, let’s hope it works.
    I am fighting with my WordPress thingee because none of my likes are going thru on anything!
    I get the little pop-up box but no content or acknowledgement of success.
    I am in Michigan now, just north of Detroit.
    I have a lot of free time today and will spend it visiting most everyone’s blogs.
    I am in farm country, BFE, and there are lots of geese and some turkeys too.
    I hope this comment goes thru….

    Like

  6. Pancakes yummmmm 🙂 had to see the positive through it all.

    Like

  7. Now I’m sitting here thinking that a plate of pancakes would be AMAZING. Not sure whether I should thank you for planting the idea …. 🙂

    Like

  8. Wot ? – no photo of the blueberry sauce ? I am deeply disappointed. Poor Reiner: d’you think maybe he is not a natural cook ?

    Like

  9. Have you ever run a marathon? I’ve run quite a few of them and without fail, always, we would discuss pancakes during the course of the run. Where is the closest IHOP? Am I gonna use the blueberry sauce or the praline sauce? How many am I gonna eat?

    Then after the balloons – we found the closest breakfast place and powered down the pancakes. Nothing better! Those sound good!

    Like

    • Have I ever run a marathon… oh good golly no. But I do appreciate the great comment! Pralines? That’s a new one for me.
      I’ve had my share of pancakes over the years and these are about the best I’ve tasted, even better than Golden “Girdle”

      Like

  10. Try adding (cooked) oatmeal to your pancakes. It’s a secret ingredient that I’ve using for years.

    Like

  11. Sounds like a fun and tasty morning 🙂

    Like

  12. No matter how ugly the process is, with however many swear words that appear, the final product is often quite satisfying. Even if they look ugly, in the case of food!

    Like

  13. That was hilarious. My husband loves to cook but the end result is…not going there in case he reads this.

    Like

  14. Reiner is quite the man.to tolerate all of us laughing at him. Loved this. (Still haven’t tried making celiac-friendly buckwheat pancakes, but this post had me slavering, so will tackle my first batch Saturday morning : )

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Maggie–this post was a riot but the comments……even more fun!! 🙂

    Like

  16. I’d call this a success – you got pancakes at the end of it!

    Like

Your thoughts?

