The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Liebster Lite

liebsteraward liteTHANK you, Tamara Zito of Tamzen Temple for the Liebster Award!

I truly appreciate the sentiment behind the assorted awards here on WordPress. As a relative newcomer (since January 2014) I’m still on the lookout for reading recommendations – word of mouth is my kind of advertising.

I also appreciate the TON of work required to adequately attend to the acceptance of said honor, so when nominated, I usually smile, nod politely, and then point, click, surf away. In other words, “Thanks, but no thanks.”

But something about Tamara’s brand has tickled my fancy. As I read her All About Me page, her story reminded me of Buster Keaton’s start in show business. Y’all know how I feel about Buster! If you haven’t met this firecracker, you might enjoy her blog.

In the meantime, I shall answer her questions by way of fulfilling part of my obligation. Leibster Lite, if you will.

  • What color socks are you wearing? Black. I have a drawer full of black socks.
  • What have you bought recently that you regret? Brown socks. Now I have to pay attention when I do the laundry.
  • If you had three wishes, what would they be? Urgh. Part of me wants to cop-out by saying “World Peace” or “I’ve got all I need, thanks. Here, you take ’em.”

Let’s see.

I wish that my stepson has a successful second year at college and that he finally gets a job. He deserves some good stuff. Ditto my niece and nephew who are also in the last year of their studies.

I wish that people will get off their butts and vote in the next elections. By vote, I mean that they vote the way I want them to vote. That is, open your eyes! Snap out of it!

Finally, here’s the second stanza of the Metta Meditation:

May you be safe
May you be happy
May you be healthy
May you be content
May you love yourself completely
And with great kindness
Just as you are now
No matter what happens

  • What person would you love to meet and why?

I cannot think of anyone. Mostly because I tend to get starstruck, and make a complete ass of myself. Seriously. When I lived in London, Ontario, there was this news reporter whom I admired.  He was smart, socially minded, articulate.  I happened to meet him in the grocery store and when I walked up to express my appreciation, I immediately lost it. I started to blubber. Not my finest moment. If it were not for the fact that my partner was able to speak for me, TV guy would have summoned the cops. I swear!

  • If you could have your life over what would you do differently?

Buy black socks ONLY.*

  • Do you prefer summer or winter? I’d like to go with door number three, Tamara – autumn. But if you insist: summer.

What is 27890 divided by 9.5

There’s MATH???

What age do you hope to live to? 95. I like that number. Plus it gives me

tamara math 2

… more math! Let’s see 95 – 58 =

37 more years to get it right.

  • What is that on the roof above your head. Shingles. Why?
  • Why did you look up?  Or did you really look up? (be honest) Trust me: shingles.
  • What is the daggiest thing about you? Now that I looked up: socks in sandals.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***

*Just as I was about to hit “Publish” I decided to Google the newscaster, the fellow I met in the grocery store, to see what he was up to these days. Here’s what I learned:

Daily also admits his outward confidence was a mask.

“I’m deeply insecure and deeply private,” he says, adding he always expected to be revealed as an imposter.

“I don’t like dealing with people, so I chose a career where my face is on a screen but I don’t have to talk to you.”

Oh God. Yeah, do-over, please. Let me NOT be at the grocery store that time. How mortifying for Mr. Daily!

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , ,

17 replies

  1. Brilliant, Maggie: funny, lively and utterly different from the usual ones! Congratulations – on the award and the speech!!! xxx

    Like

  2. E’en though I have v. strong feelings about awards … I can understand people wanting to give you one.

    Like

  3. Absolutely hysterical!! I loved every sentence and every illustration. I am speechless over your speech. Congratulations! Oh and by the way – – since you seem to have a sock thing going on, you may want to check out Donna’s posting . . . http://donnaweidner.com/2013/01/16/where-the-lost-socks-are/

    Like

  4. I just LOVE this Maggie! Congrats on your award. Definitely deserved. I look forward to many more entertaining blogs.

    Like

  5. One of the best acceptance posts I’ve seen!! Funny, very, very funny!

    Like

  6. [insert smiley of little girl spinning around and around in glee] Thank you so much, Joanne! 😀

    Like

  7. Congrats, and you certainly made good use of the prompts! You are forever lodged in my mind as a woman in sandals, wearing one black sock and one brown!

    Like

  8. You handled that award nomination so well. I need to go back and re-handle mine. I felt overwhelmed with the burden, since it requires discovering and nominating “n” other blogs-not-yet-discovered–an impossibility for me. But you were gracious, interesting, funny.

    I was “forced” to approach an Star Trek actor once when my then 1st-grade eldest son desperately wanted his autograph–we shopped at the same children’s shoe store. How terribly embarrassing–but what we won’t do for our children. All went smoothly enough–he was so pleased that I was able to tell him honestly his program was the first commercial television I had allowed the children to view because it had such wholesome values–until we left the store and I realized I’d entirely ignored the man’s wife sitting right next to him. How awful of me! Never mind that she was probably used to that rude treatment. Wish I could get an apology to her, even all these years later.

    The autograph went on the only paper handy: A school exercise book : )

    Like

  9. Thanks, OB. When I received my first Liebster, I was over the moon. It came exactly at the moment when I was despairing (i.e. pouting) that I’d never be recognized. Good old ego. It took me the better part of two days to assemble the required names and questions and answers. A ton of work. Frankly, it was more of a hardship than a boon toward the end of the exercise. So, I decided to handle the awards things on my own terms. Instead, if I find a blog I like on a day-to-day basis, I promote it in my writing.

    GREAT story about Mrs. Star Trek. I appreciate your acknowledgement of her presence, even if it was in hindsight.

    Like

  10. I’ve just been deleting mail from my computer and realised I hadn’t read this. You are such an adorable character, I just had to write something! Congratulations on your Liebster award, you well deserve it!
    I’ve just learnt to do this: ❤ for you!

    Like

Your thoughts?

