The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Turquoise

Amazonite-RMM139236-06 Amazonite-RMM139236-02

amazonite

Amazonite Crystals (a variety of microcline or feldspar) from Teller County, Colorado, USA

A pretty trio of lustrous and sharp microcline crystals

measuring 3.0 x 3.0 x 2.3 cm

 in the trademark robin’s egg blue.

Trust me to submit a turquoise specimen for the colour blue

and a blue specimen for turquoise. 

Whaddya gonna do?

Inspired by Jennifer Nichole Wells One Word Photo Challenge

 

Categories: It's a Hobby, Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , , , , ,

20 replies

  1. Regardless of the colour – they look turquoise to me – they are gorgeous!

    Like

  2. AND another fine photo ! Do you have all of these linked by a menu item of some kind …? Point it out to me, do, Maggie ! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m constantly amazed that you have a stone for every color! Thank you for continuing to share. These are beautiful and I just love the shape.

    Like

    • 🙂 I love it, too! You know what? When I first saw your weekly challenge, I thought,”OOH, pretty, shiny… can’t wait for smooth, or glitter or silvery to go up.” And when it did last week, I could find nothing in my bag o’ tricks that fit the bill! We’ve got metallic specimens by the dozens! Nothing passed muster, for me. So, I was really glad when you posted turquoise yesterday because I love this little amazonite job.

      Like

  4. What an intriguing micro sculpture. Beautiful.

    Like

  5. How brilliant is that? Fantastic, now I can see why you get so involved with these ‘rocks’.

    Like

  6. That is one of the most vibrant pieces of amazonite I have seen.

    Like

    • Hey! Glad you like it. We collect all sorts of minerals as long as they can fit in a 1 1/4″ cube display box. In most cases, no problem. But to acquire a small decent amazonite specimen is special. These are usually on the market in very large sizes, with smokey quartz and they sell for a bazillion dollars. No one cares for the smaller ones, so they usually are not available.

      Like

  7. OK this one is a chair from the Flintstones – you’re rocks/mineral photo’s mess with my head. I’m sure they’re some sort of nature based Rorschach test.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Turquoise | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. One Word Photo Challenge: Periwinkle | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

